- Option 4 – Contact the court before the day and time the summons requires you to appear to determine if you qualify for a trial by affidavit. If so, the trial will be based upon sworn, written statements. Future court appearances may not be necessary. If you do not qualify or the court does not offer this option, you must comply with one of the other options listed above.
FAILURE TO APPEAR
If you fail to appear or fail to follow the instructions found on the back of the summons, the court may issue a warrant for your arrest and/or may suspend your license if you fail to appear on a citation for a traffic offense.
The record of conviction will be sent to the licensing authority of the state where you are licensed to drive to decide if a license suspension is appropriate.
If you do not pay the full presumptive fine amount in advance and do not appear, the court may enter a conviction and a judgment against you for more than the presumptive fine and up to the maximum penalty allowed by law for the charged offense(s) including the maximum fines, restitution, and other costs.
All trials are being scheduled during day court. When you appear at the courthouse for your trial, you will need to be prepared to present your case at the time listed on your trial notice.
- Shirts and shoes are required
- Caps and hats must be removed upon entering the courtroom
- Food and drinks are not allowed in the courtroom
- Weapons are not allowed in any area of the courthouse
- Pagers, cell phones and all other electronic devices which may disrupt the proceeding must be turned off
- Audio and tape recording is not permitted without prior approval of the court
MAILING OF NOTICES
The court will send you a notice if you have entered a plea of not guilty and submitted a written request for a trial. If you appear in person, enter a plea of not guilty and request a trial, you will be provided with your notice for trial at the time you appear.
DO YOU HAVE AN ATTORNEY?
For violations, you must notify the court before you are required to appear in court if you are going to have an attorney represent you.
If you receive a letter from DMV notifying you that your license is going to be suspended, you will need to contact DMV for details regarding the suspension or restrictions.
EXTENSIONS FOR THE APPEARANCE DATE
The Clackamas Circuit Court does not allow an extension for the appearance date. You must appear on or before the appearance date listed on the summons.
TRAFFIC JUDGMENT APPEALS
An appeal from a judgment of this court must be filed with the Oregon Court of Appeals in Salem. An appeal must be filed within 30 days of the date the judgment was entered into the trial court record (OJIN).
Appellate Court Records Section
Office of the State Court Administrator
1163 State Street
Salem, Oregon 97310
To download forms go to the Court of Appeals website.
CITIZEN COMPLAINT - Initiation of violation proceeding by private party
A person, other than an enforcement officer, may commence a violation proceeding by filing a complaint with a court that has jurisdiction over the alleged violation. The filing of the complaint is subject to ORS 153.048.
PAYING THE FINANCIAL OBLIGATIONS IMPOSED BY THE COURT
All monies imposed in traffic judgments are due at the time of sentencing unless deferred payment arrangements are made with the Court. A fee will be imposed whenever a judgment is unpaid in any part beyond 30 days from the date the judgment is entered in the case register, or at such earlier time as the court establishes a payment schedule that runs beyond that 30-day period, whichever is earlier (not less than $50.00 and not more than $200.00).