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 Clatsop County Circuit Court Supplemental Local Rules 
 

Chapter 1 - General Provisions 
 

1.151 HOURS OF OPERATION 

 

(1)  Unless otherwise ordered due to emergency conditions, information regarding business 

hours for the Eighteenth Judicial District can be found at:  

http://courts.oregon.gov/clatsop. 

 

(2)  In the event all customer service windows are closed on a day that the court is open for 

business, a drop box will be available until 5:00 p.m. for filings and payments.  The drop 

box is located on the main floor of the courthouse, 749 Commercial Street, Astoria, 

Oregon. 

 

1.171 WEBSITE ADDRESS  

 

The Clatsop County Circuit Court website address is: http://courts.oregon.gov/clatsop.  

   

1.173 PHYSICAL/MAILING ADDRESSES   

 

The street address of Clatsop County Circuit Court is 749 Commercial Street, Astoria, Oregon 

97103.  All physical appearances required by these rules shall occur at that location unless 

otherwise specified by the Court. The mailing address is P. O. Box 835, Astoria, OR 97103.   

  

Chapter 3 - Decorum in Proceedings 

 

3.181 PUBLIC ACCESS COVERAGE  

 

Public access coverage is allowed in the lobby areas of the basement, first floor and second floor 

of the courthouse unless the Court designates another area.  Public access coverage shall not 

disrupt court proceedings or interfere with normal court activities. Access to other areas of the 

courthouse or courtrooms must be approved in advance by either a judge or the Trial Court 

Administrator.  

 

3.182 ELECTRONIC DEVICES  

 

Unless otherwise allowed by a judge presiding over the proceeding, cell phones, pagers, and 

PDAs taken into a courtroom by any person shall be turned off upon entering the courtroom and 

shall remain off until after the person has departed the courtroom.  Attorneys may use laptop 

computers in courtrooms unless a judge determines that the computer noise is disruptive to the 

proceedings. 

  

http://courts.oregon.gov/clatsop
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Chapter 4 - Proceedings in Criminal Cases 
 

4.005 MOTIONS TO DISMISS  

 

Motions to dismiss a criminal action made by the prosecutor shall be in writing, signed by the 

attorney, and include facts supporting the motion. 

 

4.015 TIME FOR FILING PRETRIAL MOTIONS 

 

Pretrial motions, including discovery motions and motions filed pursuant to ORS 135.037, shall 

be filed no more than 30 days after the early resolution conference if the defendant is out of 

custody and no more than 48 hours after the early resolution conference if the defendant is in 

custody.  In any case, pretrial motions shall be filed no later than the time allowed in UTCR 

4.010. 

 

4.081 APPEARANCE AT CRIMINAL PROCEEDINGS BY SIMULTANEOUS 

ELECTRONIC TRANSMISSION 

 

(1)  Unless otherwise ordered by the Court, in-custody arraignments shall be by simultaneous 

electronic transmission as defined in UTCR 4.080. 

 

(2)  With approval of the Court, in-custody defendants may appear by simultaneous electronic 

transmission as defined in UTCR 4.080 for plea and sentencing hearings, probation 

violation hearings and other criminal proceedings. 

 

(3)  Probation officers may appear by simultaneous electronic transmission for probation 

violation hearings. 

 

(4) Defendants and all other witnesses in a criminal proceeding, other than those specified in 

subsections (1), (2) and (3) above, shall be allowed to testify by simultaneous electronic 

transmission provided that it is with the parties’ consent and the approval of the Court; 

however, the parties’ written consent and Court approval is required for such testimony in 

criminal jury trials. 

 

(5) Whenever testimony by simultaneous transmission is allowed under this rule, it shall be 

the responsibility of the party calling said witness to coordinate with the opposing party, 

the Court and the witness the manner and time of simultaneous electronic transmission 

sufficiently in advance of the criminal proceeding so as not to cause undue disruption or 

delay.   

 

(6) “Criminal proceeding” and “simultaneous electronic transmission” shall have the same 

meaning as those terms are defined in ORS 131.045. 
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Chapter 5 - Proceedings in Civil Cases 
 

5.061 EX-PARTE AND STIPULATED ORDERS  

 

Ex-parte and stipulated orders shall be presented to the court clerk to be forwarded to the judge 

with the applicable court file.  Ex-parte matters requiring a hearing shall be scheduled by 

docketing staff. 

  

Chapter 6 - Trials 
 

6.005 GENERAL TRIAL SCHEDULING  

 

(1) Jury trials generally will be scheduled at 9:00 a.m. Tuesday and Wednesday.  

 

(2)  Court trials generally will be scheduled Monday through Friday as time allows. 

 

6.011 PRETRIAL CONFERENCES IN CIVIL CASES 

 

(1)   The Court may set a pretrial conference in any civil case pursuant to UTCR 6.010.  If the 

Court does not schedule a pretrial conference, a party may request a setting. 

 

(2)   The trial attorney or an attorney familiar with all aspects of the case shall appear at the 

pretrial conference, and self-represented litigants shall appear at the pretrial conference 

unless the Court allows participation by telecommunication.  

 

(3)   At the pretrial conference, the Court may set deadlines and/or enter orders regarding: 

 

(a) amendments to the pleadings 

 

(b) motions 

 

(c) discovery 

 

(d) trial memoranda 

 

(e) exhibits 

 

(f)  jury instructions 

 

(g) a neutral summary of the pleadings 

 

(h) any other matter that may aid in the disposition of the action. 
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6.012 SETTLEMENT CONFERENCES  

 

A settlement conference may be set in a civil case at the request of the Court or a party.  Parties 

and others with settlement authority, including insurance claims representatives, must appear in 

person unless personal appearance is waived in advance by the settlement judge, in which case 

they must be available by telephone. The Court will consider imposition of sanctions set forth in 

UTCR 1.090(2) for failure to comply with this section.  

 

6.031 SCHEDULING CONFLICTS  

 

Except as provided in SLR 7.021, requests to reschedule a court proceeding, including trials and 

hearings, must be in writing and received by the Court not later than ten (10) days after the 

proceeding is set.  The written request shall be provided to attorneys of record and unrepresented 

parties and shall include a list of dates on which the parties and counsel are available to try the 

matter.  After ten days, continuances shall not be allowed except for substantial cause.  Requests 

to reschedule a case that is older than nine (9) months must be made by motion which complies 

with UTCR 6.030 (1); UTCR 6.030 (2)(a),(b) and (e); UTCR 6.030(3)(a-e) and UTCR 6.030(4).  

This rule does not apply to civil cases at issue or deemed at issue.  Such civil cases will be set in 

accordance with SLR 7.021.     

 

6.051 DELIVERY OF TRIAL MEMORANDA AND OTHER DOCUMENTS   

 

In civil cases, trial memoranda, requested jury instructions, witness lists, motions in limine, a 

proposed neutral statement of the case and exhibit lists shall be received by the Court and 

opposing counsel at least one day prior to the commencement of the trial. 

 

6.061 ELECTRONIC COPY OF REQUESTED JURY INSTRUCTIONS 

 

(1)  In addition to the requirements of UTCR 6.060 an attorney or party requesting 

instructions described in subsection (2) below shall provide the trial court an electronic 

copy of all proposed or requested jury instructions.  The electronic copy may be provided 

on a computer disk or may be e-mailed as an attachment to the Court.  The e-mail address 

for submission of jury instructions can be found on the Court’s website.    

 

(2)  The following documents shall be included on the electronic copy: (a) any uniform 

instruction that has been modified; (b) any uniform instruction submitted if the 

instruction fills in the blanks or includes alternative choices; (c) any proposed special 

instruction; and, (d) any proposed special verdict form.  

 

(3)  Uniform jury instructions requested by number only which do not require information to 

be filled in do not need to be supplied on an electronic copy.  
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6.081 EXHIBITS  

 

(1)  All trial exhibits will be assigned a value of zero unless the submitting party supplies the 

court clerk with a written opinion as to value. 

 

(2)  The proponent of any audio or video exhibit shall be responsible for arranging any 

playback equipment, with footage counter when required, for use during a trial or other 

proceeding.  

  

6.082 TRIAL FEES PAYABLE BEFORE TRIAL  

 

No court or jury trial will proceed until the fees under this rule are paid to the Trial Court 

Administrator. The receipt given for payment of said fees shall be shown to the courtroom clerk 

at the time of trial before said trial will proceed.  

 

Chapter 7 - Case Management and Calendaring 
 

7.005 ARRAIGNMENTS 

 

(1)  Generally, in-custody arraignments will be heard at 1:15 p.m. each judicial day.   

 

(2)  Out-of-custody arraignments will be heard between 8:30 a.m. and 9:30 a.m. each judicial 

day.   

 

(3)  The Court will accept not guilty pleas at arraignment pursuant to UTCR 7.010 and may 

accept guilty pleas at arraignment as allowed by law.   

 

(4)  After arraignment, most criminal cases will be set for early resolution conference. 

 

7.007 EARLY RESOLUTION CONFERENCE 

 

(1)  In criminal cases, an early resolution conference will be set at arraignment, not less than 

21 days out for in-custody defendants and not less than 35 days out for out-of-custody 

defendants.  At the early resolution conference, attorneys and unrepresented parties shall 

meet with the judge and report on the progress of negotiations, discovery, and pretrial 

motions, attempt to resolve the case, and advise whether a trial is needed.  Unless a final 

resolution conference is set, the early resolution conference is the deadline for negotiated 

pleas unless good cause is shown for a later date.    

  

(2)  The Court may hold a final resolution conference if the defendant is out of custody and 

the case does not settle at the early resolution conference.  The final resolution 

conference is the deadline for negotiated pleas unless a party can show good cause for a 

later date. 
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(3)  Defendants in criminal cases must attend all resolution conferences unless the Court 

authorizes a waiver of appearance in advance.  

 

7.011 SETTING TRIALS IN CRIMINAL CASES 

  

 (1)  Absent good cause, all criminal cases in which the victim is under 18 years of age at the 

time the charging instrument is filed shall be tried within 90 days of arraignment. 

  

(2)  Counsel may jointly request a date-certain trial at a conference with the judge in cases 

with special witness problems, speedy trial requests, or other considerations.  A date-

certain trial shall receive priority over other cases scheduled to be tried the same day.  

Motions to continue date-certain trials shall be denied absent extraordinary 

circumstances. 

  

7.021  SETTING TRIALS IN CIVIL CASES   

 

To facilitate agreement on trial dates pursuant to UTCR 7.020(6), the Court will send “at issue” 

notices to parties when a civil case is at issue.  Parties should respond with available trial dates 

within the period designated by the notice.  If a party fails to respond as provided in the notice, 

the Court shall set the case for trial on a date convenient to the Court.   

 

7.023 SCHEDULING OF SHOW CAUSE PROCEEDINGS 

  

(1)  Show cause matters may be set at any time the court schedule permits. 

  

(2)  Except as provided in ORS 107.135(13), ORS 107.138, or SLR 8.045, an applicant for an 

order to show cause shall obtain a time and date for a first appearance hearing from the 

docket clerk and insert that date in the Order to Show Cause prior to delivering the order 

to the clerk for judge's signature. Service of the order upon the adverse party shall 

constitute notice to such party of the time and place of the hearing.  

 

7.031 DOCKET CALL 

  

(1)  Criminal docket call shall be held at 11:00 a.m. on the Thursday before the scheduled 

trial. Dependency case docket call will be held at 11:15 a.m. 

  

(a)  Attorneys of record and unrepresented parties shall appear in person for docket 

call.  Attorneys may appear by telephone or in writing if arrangements are made 

with the docket clerk prior to docket call.    

 

(b)  Defendants shall appear in person at docket call unless the Court authorizes a 

waiver of appearance in advance.  In misdemeanor cases, the defendant waives 

appearance if the defendant has been in personal contact with the attorney within 

ten days prior to docket call. 
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(c)  If the Court finds good cause to allow a negotiated plea after the last resolution 

conference, docket call is the final deadline for negotiated pleas.  Parties shall 

appear in court during or immediately after docket call for change of plea. 

  

(2)  Civil docket call is in writing.  Parties shall complete the form marked Appendix I of the 

Supplemental Local Rules and submit it to the Court and all attorneys of record and 

unrepresented parties prior to 10:00 a.m. on the Thursday before the scheduled trial date.  

Failure to file a written report may result in sanctions pursuant to UTCR 1.090.  

  

(3)  Diversion agreements, civil compromise documents, and jury waivers shall be filed by 

docket call. 

 

Chapter 8 - Domestic Relations Proceedings 
  

8.015 PARENTING TIME RULES   

 

In any domestic relations proceeding, dissolution of marriage, annulment, separation or custody 

case, paternity, filiation or similar proceeding, a non-custodial parent shall have the right to 

parenting time with the minor children of the parties according to the schedule in Appendix II to 

these rules, unless otherwise ordered by the Court or the parties agree to a customized parenting 

plan (such as Appendix III to these rules) which is approved by the Court. 

 

8.045 PRE-JUDGMENT RELIEF 

  

(1)  All applications for pre-judgment relief in domestic relations cases must be made by 

motion for a show cause order and include a supporting affidavit(s). The motion and 

show cause order must state separately each item of relief requested.  Such motions and 

orders may not state the requested relief by reference to a supporting affidavit. 

  

(2)  All show cause orders for pre-judgment relief shall specify a response time not less than 

14 days from the date of service upon the opposing party.  When the show cause order is 

served outside the state of Oregon or by publication, the order shall require the opposing 

party to file an answer in writing not less than 20 days from the date of service.  Such 

orders shall require the opposing party to respond by filing an answer in writing, together 

with opposing affidavits and cross motions, if any, and serving a copy of the answer and 

affidavits on the moving party within the response time.  The motion, order and 

supporting affidavits must be served upon the opposing party.  The order must include a 

notice as set forth in Appendix IV to these rules if the opposing party is unrepresented. 

  

(3)  If the opposing party fails to respond to the show cause order within the time set forth in 

the order, the moving party may present an order granting the relief sought, provided that 

proof of service has been filed. 

 

(4) If the opposing party responds to the show cause order, the moving party shall have five 

days from the date of service to file a reply affidavit.  No further pleadings will be 
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considered.  Either party may notify the Court in writing when the matter is ready for 

determination, and the Court shall decide the matter and promptly notify the parties of 

any decision.   

  

(5)  Additional applications or new issues requested by the opposing party must be made by 

motion for a show cause order and supporting affidavit(s) in accordance with the 

procedure outlined in paragraphs 1- 4 of this rule.   

  

(6)  For good cause shown or upon its own motion, the Court may set show cause 

proceedings for hearing. 

  

(7)  Motions for pre-judgment relief or responses to motions for pre-judgment relief shall be 

considered by the Court to be general appearances pursuant to ORS 107.055, thereby 

placing the case at issue and ready for referral to mediation and/or a trial setting.  

 

  8.046  PARENT EDUCATION PROGRAM 

  

(1) A parent education program as authorized by ORS 3.425 is established.  The program 

shall provide information on the impact of family restructuring on children and skills for 

successful co-parenting after separation for parties in the following types of proceedings, 

when such proceedings involve minor children: 

 

(a) Annulment or dissolution of marriage; 

(b) Legal separation; 

(c) Petition to establish custody or parenting time; and 

(d) Post-judgment litigation involving custody or parenting time. 

(2) Each person named as a party in proceedings of the type described above shall complete 

the program unless the Court approves a waiver.  A party residing outside Clatsop 

County may attend a comparable class in another location. The party shall receive 

approval from the Family Court Specialist or Domestic Relations Clerk to substitute a 

class.  

 

(3)  The Court shall provide petitioner with notice and instructions regarding parent education 

when the petition is filed.  Petitioner shall serve respondent with a copy of the notice 

pursuant to ORCP 7 and file proof of service with the Court. 

  

(4)  Each party shall pay a fee determined by the program provider to cover program costs.  

The fee may be waived or reduced by the program provider, subject to court review. 

  

(5)  The program provider shall issue a certificate of completion when the participant has 

completed the program.  The participant must file the certificate of completion with the 
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Court.  A certificate of completion is valid for two (2) years; if custody, parenting time or 

visitation proceedings are initiated after a certificate has expired, the participant must 

retake the class. 

 

(6) Court action in these cases shall not be delayed by a party’s refusal, failure or delay in 

registering for or completing this program or the failure to comply with the requirements 

of this rule, unless the non-complying party is the moving party.  If a party fails to 

complete the education program successfully or fails to comply with the requirements of 

this rule, the Court may take appropriate action against that party.    

 

8.047 CUSTODY EVALUATION PANEL 

 

(1)  The Court has established a panel of trained custody evaluators.  To qualify as a panelist, 

a person must complete court-approved training, file an application with the Court, and 

be approved by the Court and Local Family Law Advisory Committee. 

 

(2)  Unless otherwise ordered by the Court, evaluators shall meet with the mediator, parties 

and attorneys to discuss the recommendations at the conclusion of the evaluation. 

 

(3)  Motions for custody evaluations shall include a representation that the custody evaluator 

can complete the evaluation at least two weeks prior to the scheduled trial date and the 

parties can comply with 8.047(2) prior to trial.  

  

(4)  The Court may appoint an evaluator from the court panel or another qualified evaluator 

for investigations pursuant to ORS 107.425 unless otherwise agreed by the parties. 

 

Chapter 9 - Probate, Guardianships, Conservatorships, and Adoption Proceedings 
  

9.035 DELINQUENT FILINGS  

 

In the event of a delinquency in filing any document required by statute, rule or court order, the 

fiduciary and attorney of record shall be notified.   The personal representative, guardian or 

conservator shall promptly cure the delinquency.   If the delinquency is not cured within 30 days 

after mailing of the notice or other time limitation set by the Court, an Order to Show Cause may 

be issued which requires the personal representative, conservator or guardian and attorney of 

record to appear before the Court.  

  

9.045   GUARDIANSHIPS AND CONSERVATORSHIPS 

  

(1)  When a petition seeks appointment of a guardian for an adult respondent or requests 

appointment of a visitor, a copy of the petition marked "visitor's copy," shall be delivered 

to the probate clerk and the visitor’s fee shall be tendered to the Court.  Upon receipt of 

the visitor’s copy, supporting documentation and visitor’s fee, the probate clerk shall 

prepare an order appointing visitor. 
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(2)  The visitor shall be compensated as provided in ORS 125.170 and the Court’s order.  The 

visitor is not required to begin an investigation until the fee has been paid or waived by 

the Court.  

  

(3)  Within 30 days after each anniversary of appointment of all guardians, including those 

for minors, the guardian or the guardian’s attorney of record shall file a guardian’s report 

in substantially the same form as provided in ORS 125.325. 

 

9.081   PLACE FOR OBJECTIONS  

 

Pursuant to ORS 125.075(2), the Court designates the court’s public civil counter as the place 

where oral objections shall be made.  The telephone number is 503-325-8555 ext. 0.  Written 

objections shall be mailed or delivered to Clatsop County Circuit Court, 749 Commercial Street, 

P. O. Box 835, Astoria, OR 97103. See Appendix V. 

  

9.082 PROTECTIVE PROCEEDINGS - NOTICE OF SERVICES  

 

In a proceeding for the appointment of a guardian for an adult respondent, the notice required 

under ORS 125.060 shall include the following language or its equivalent: 

  

Free legal services for people at least 60 years of age who are subject to guardianship 

proceedings may be obtained by calling Oregon Law Center’s Senior Law Program at 1-877-

296-4076.  Free or low cost services for people at least 60 years of age may be obtained by 

calling Senior and Disability Services at 503-325-4543, including help to maintain maximum 

independence, remain at home as long as possible, select an appropriate foster or nursing home, 

obtain necessary personal and/or medical care, and prevent or stop physical or financial abuse. 

Help finding a lawyer and a low-cost one-time legal consultation may be obtained by calling the 

Lawyer Referral Service of the Oregon State Bar at 1-800-452-7636. 

 

9.161 FORM OF ACCOUNTINGS  

 

Accountings in estate and conservatorship cases shall be submitted in the format specified in 

UTCR 9.160. 

     

9.185 VOUCHERS AND DEPOSITORY STATEMENTS 

  

(1)  In lieu of vouchers, a list of expenditures as reflected by the vouchers shall accompany all 

accountings. 

 

(2)  All accountings shall include the opening and closing depository statements for each 

account for the accounting period.  
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Chapter 11 - Juvenile Court Proceedings 
  

11.015  PRETRIAL MOTIONS   

 

The schedule for filing pretrial motions provided in UTCR 4.010 shall govern the filing of 

pretrial motions in delinquency cases. 

  

11.045 JUVENILE HEARINGS  

 

Requests for juvenile hearings shall be in writing, set forth the reason for the request, state an 

estimate of the time required for argument, and be served on all parties. 

 

11.057 MANDATORY SETTLEMENT CONFERENCES 

 

Unless waived by a judge and with the exception of violations, all contested delinquency and 

dependency cases shall be set for settlement conference. 

 

(1)  In dependency cases, the settlement conference shall be 30 to 45 days after the petition is 

filed. 

 

(2)  In delinquency cases, the settlement conference shall be 21 to 42 days after the first 

appearance.  Youths shall appear in person at settlement conferences unless otherwise 

authorized by the judge before whom the settlement conference is set.  

 

11.087  APPEARANCE IN DEPENDENCY CASES   

 

Parents served with summons in a child dependency case, including permanent guardianship and 

termination of parental rights cases, shall appear personally in court at the time and place 

specified in the summons. 

 

CHAPTER 12 - Mediation in Domestic Relations, Civil, Juvenile Dependency, and Small 

Claims cases 
  

12.001 DOMESTIC RELATIONS MEDIATION 

  

(1)  Mediation is mandatory in all proceedings in which child custody, parenting time or 

visitation is contested except: 

 

(a)  Pre-judgment custody and parenting time proceedings pursuant to ORS 107.095. 

 

(b)  Family Abuse Prevention Act proceedings pursuant to ORS 107.700 to 107.732. 

 

(c)  Elderly Persons and Persons with Disability Abuse Prevention Act proceedings 

pursuant to ORS 124.005 et seq. 
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(d)  Expedited parenting time enforcement proceedings pursuant to ORS 107.434. 

 

(e)  Juvenile dependency and delinquency proceedings. 

 

(f)  Proceedings in which the Court has found good cause to waive mediation. 

   

(2)   Other Matters: A mediator qualified to mediate financial issues may consider issues of 

property division or spousal or child support in connection with the mediation of a 

dispute concerning child custody, parenting time or visitation with the consent of both 

parties. 

  

12.002 DOMESTIC RELATIONS MEDIATION:  COURT CONTROL   

 

Cases remain subject to the control of the Court during mediation.  Mediators shall report to the 

Court and counsel the outcome of mediation. Mediation agreements shall be presented to the 

Court, and the Court shall retain final authority to accept, modify or reject agreements. 

   

12.003 COMMENCEMENT OF DOMESTIC RELATIONS MEDIATION  

  

(1) Commencement of Mediation: Mediation will be commenced by stipulation of the 

parties, request of a party or court referral. 

 

(2)  The Court may remove a case from mediation at any time. 

 

12.004 DOMESTIC RELATIONS MEDIATION:  LAWYERS AND MEDIATORS 

  

(1)  Unless otherwise agreed in writing by the parties, the parties’ legal counsel shall not be 

present at mediation sessions. 

  

(2)  A mediator shall encourage disputing parties to obtain independent legal advice and 

review of any mediated agreement before signing any agreement. 

  

(3)  A mediator shall not act as a lawyer for either party. 

 

12.005 DOMESTIC RELATIONS MEDIATION 

  

(1)  Standard mediation shall consist of an orientation session and up to eight hours of 

mediation per referral.  Additional mediation, up to an additional two (2) hours per case, 

may be scheduled by the mediator with prior approval of the Court.  

 

(2)  The Court may exempt a party from orientation for good cause. 

 

(3)  Mediation orientation shall be done by video which is available on the Clatsop County 

website at: http://courts.oregon.gov/clatsop.  Mediation orientation shall be completed 

http://courts.oregon.gov/clatsop
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within 30 days of filing a petition or 30 days of filing responding documents. Failure to 

complete mediation orientation may result in the sanctions set out in UTCR 1.090. 

 

12.006 ASSIGNMENT TO DOMESTIC RELATIONS MEDIATORS 

  

(1)  The parties may select a mediator of their own choosing, but if the mediator is not on the 

list of mediators approved by the Court, the expense of the mediator shall be the 

responsibility of the parties. 

  

(2)  The parties shall choose a mediator upon completion of orientation and promptly notify 

the Court.  If the parties do not notify the Court of their selection of mediator when they 

declare completion of mediation, the mediation clerk will select a mediator from the 

court's list of mediators. 

  

12.007  SCHEDULING OF DOMESTIC RELATIONS MEDIATION SESSIONS   

 

Upon receipt of a mediation assignment, a mediator shall immediately notify the parties of a date 

and time for the initial mediation session.  The initial mediation session shall occur within 

fourteen (14) days of notice of the assignment to the mediator. 

  

12.008  DOMESTIC RELATIONS MEDIATION COMPLETION 

 

(1)  Mediation shall be completed promptly without causing unnecessary delay of court 

proceedings and in no event later than any deadline set by the judge. 

  

(2)  The mediator shall notify the Court immediately when mediation is concluded.   

 

12.101 MEDIATION PROCEDURE IN CIVIL ACTIONS  

 

On the parties' written stipulation filed with the Court at any time prior to the commencement of 

an arbitration hearing, the parties may elect to mediate (pursuant to ORS 36.185 to 36.210) rather 

than arbitrate any civil or domestic relations matter subject to mandatory arbitration. Such 

mediation shall be accomplished within the same time period required for court-annexed 

arbitration under these rules. If the parties mediate in good faith, they shall be deemed to have 

met the requirements for mandatory arbitration, whether or not the mediation results in resolution 

of all claims, and shall not thereafter be required to submit to arbitration. Nothing in this rule, 

however, precludes the parties from entering into arbitration in the event that mediation is 

unsuccessful in resolving the controversy. Any such request to arbitrate after mediation shall be 

governed by SLR 13.005 to 13.161. 

 

12.103 ASSIGNMENT OF MEDIATOR IN CIVIL ACTIONS 

  

(1)  If no arbitrator has been selected or assigned at the time of the stipulation to mediate, the 

parties may:   
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(a)  Select a mediator by stipulation; or 

 

(b)  Follow the procedures for assignment of an arbitrator pursuant to UTCR 13.080, 

except that the mediator shall be chosen from among those on the court-

maintained list who have agreed to serve as mediators. The parties shall notify the 

arbitration clerk of their desire to select the mediator from such a list prior to the 

issuance of a list of potential arbitrators, if possible. 

  

(2)  Mediators whose names are maintained on the court-maintained list shall have the 

qualifications of arbitrators under UTCR 13.090(l). 

  

(3)  If an arbitrator has already been assigned at the time of the stipulation to mediate, the 

parties may select a mediator in either of the following methods: 

  

(a)  Request the arbitrator to serve as a mediator. Execution of the oath of arbitrator 

shall not preclude the arbitrator from agreeing to act as mediator pursuant to this 

rule. If the arbitrator agrees so to serve, UTCR 13.130 shall be inapplicable. 

 

(b)  Stipulate to another mediator. If another mediator is selected, the arbitrator shall 

be informed immediately, and shall be compensated, pursuant to UTCR 13.120 

and the Supplementary Local Rules, for any time already invested in the case. 

 

12.107 MEDIATION PROCESS IN CIVIL ACTIONS 

  

(1)  If requested by the mediator, each party shall supply to the mediator, at least five days 

prior to the scheduled mediation, a copy of the pleadings, a confidential statement of the 

nature of the case, the status of settlement negotiations, and any other information 

requested by the mediator or deemed helpful by any party for resolution of the dispute.  

  

(2)  The mediator shall report the results of mediation on such forms as the Court may direct, 

as either "settled" or "not settled." If settled, the terms of the settlement shall be stated on 

the report form and signed by the parties and attorneys, unless the parties have agreed 

that the terms shall be kept confidential and not entered as a judgment. The report form 

shall be filed and the reported settlement entered as a judgment in the same manner as the 

filing of an award from arbitration that has not been appealed. If the parties have agreed 

to keep the statement confidential, a written statement of the terms of the settlement 

signed by the parties or the attorneys shall be filed under seal and shall not be made a part 

of the court file or entered as a judgment. This confidential statement shall be admissible 

to prove the settlement, but shall not otherwise be admissible. 

 

(3)  In the event any party fails to mediate in good faith after signing a stipulation for 

mediation, the Court may assess as costs any other party’s costs necessarily incurred in 

the mediation. 
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12.301 SMALL CLAIMS MEDIATION GENERALLY  

 

Mediation in small claims cases is mandatory unless waived by the Court for good cause.  After 

a demand for hearing is filed, both parties shall be notified by mail of the date they are to appear 

for mediation.  Any counterclaims shall be heard at the same time.  Requests for a change in the 

mediation date must be in writing and received by the Court no later than seven (7) days before 

the scheduled mediation date. 

 

12.303 SMALL CLAIMS MEDIATION PROCEDURES 

  

(1)  The Small Claims Clerk shall assign cases to a mediator.  Each party shall come to 

mediation with full authority to make and accept offers for settlement. 

  

(2)  All parties shall appear for mediation.  A party not appearing for mediation may have a 

judgment entered against him or her.  An authorized representative may appear on behalf 

of a business but must be familiar with the facts of the case with full authority to settle.  

Unless a party to the case, attorneys shall not attend small claims mediation.  

  

(3)  If mediation is not successful, the case will be set for trial.  If mediation is successful, the 

agreement will be forwarded to a judge for approval.  

  

(4)  If the agreement does not constitute a judgment, the signed agreement shall be entered in 

the case as a stipulated order.  If one party fails to comply with the terms of the 

agreement, the other party may file a declaration of non-compliance which, if approved 

by a judge, will convert the stipulated order into a judgment for the original claim, less 

what the debtor has already paid.  The creditor’s filing fees, service costs, and a 

prevailing party fee will be added. 

 

12.401 GOOD FAITH MEDIATION   

 

All parties shall comply with the mediation rules and procedures and with the directions of the 

Court and mediator. 

 

CHAPTER 13 - Arbitration 
   

13.009 MEDIATION IN LIEU OF ARBITRATION   

 

On the parties' written stipulation, filed with the Court at any time prior to the commencement of 

the arbitration hearing, the parties may elect to mediate (pursuant to ORS 36.185 to 36.210) 

rather than arbitrate any civil or domestic relations matter subject to mandatory arbitration. Such 

mediation shall be accomplished within the same time period required for court-annexed 

arbitration under these rules. If the parties mediate in good faith, they shall be deemed to have 

met the requirements for mandatory arbitration, whether or not the mediation results in resolution 

of all claims, and shall not thereafter be required to submit to arbitration. Nothing in this rule, 
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however, precludes the parties from entering into arbitration in the event that mediation is 

unsuccessful in resolving the controversy. 

  

13.011 REFERRAL TO ARBITRATION 

  

(1)  A case subject to arbitration shall be transferred to arbitration when the case is at issue or 

90 days have elapsed since its filing, whichever occurs first. 

  

(2)  In the event a motion to file an amended pleading is allowed by the arbitrator which 

causes the case to no longer be subject to mandatory arbitration, the party filing such a 

pleading must notify the Arbitration Clerk.  Unless the parties stipulate otherwise, the 

clerk shall then remove the case from arbitration. 

  

(3)  The Court may remove a case from arbitration at any time. 

 

13.035 ARBITRATION COMMISSION  

 

The arbitration program shall function under the direction of an Arbitration Commission, which 

shall consist of a judge and at least two attorneys.  The Trial Court Administrator is an ex officio 

member of the Commission. 

  

13.101 GOOD FAITH ARBITRATION   

 

All parties and attorneys shall comply with the arbitration rules and procedures and with the 

directions of the Court and arbitrator. 

 

13.161 LOCATION OF ARBITRATION PROCEEDINGS  

 

Unless otherwise stipulated by all parties, arbitration and mediation proceedings shall be 

scheduled at a location in Clatsop County, Oregon. The arbitrator may schedule telephone 

conference calls to deal with scheduling and procedural issues. 

 

CHAPTER 15 - Small Claims 
  

15.015 DISMISSAL FOR WANT OF PROSECUTION 

 

Small claims cases shall be managed according to the following timelines. 

  

(1)  If no proof of service has been filed by the 28th day after the filing of the complaint, 

written notice may be given to plaintiff that the case will be dismissed for want of 

prosecution 21 days from the date of the mailing of the notice unless: 

  

(a)  Proof of service is filed within the time period; 

 

(b)  Good cause to continue the case is shown to the Court in writing; or 
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(c)  The defendant has appeared. 

  

(2)  If proof of service has been filed and any defendant has not filed an appearance 30 days 

from the date of service, written notice may be given to plaintiff that the case will be 

dismissed 21 days from the date of mailing of the notice unless: 

  

(a)  A request for a default judgment is filed; 

 

(b)  Good cause to continue the case is shown to the Court in writing; or  

 

(c)  The defendant has appeared.  

 

 

15.025    MANDATORY MEDIATION  

 

Mediation in small claims cases is mandatory and shall proceed as set forth in SLR Chapter 12 

unless the Court waives mediation for good cause.  

 



 

Clatsop County Circuit Court / 18
th

 Judicial District – 2013 SLR’s – Effective February 01, 2013 – Page #18 

       

APPENDIX I 
SEE SLR 7.031(2) 

 

DOCKET CALL - CIVIL CASE 

APPEARANCE IN WRITING 

 
CASE NAME AND NUMBER: _________________________________________________________ 

 

TRIAL DATE: _______________________________________________________________________ 

 

DOCKET CALL DATE: _______________________________________________________________ 

 

ATTORNEY NAME (or Party Name if unrepresented):   

TRIAL ATTORNEY IF DIFFERENT:   
 

I make the following representations regarding this case: 

 

ARE YOU READY FOR TRIAL WITH ALL WITNESSES SUBPOENAED?  □ Yes        □ No 

IF NO, WHY NOT? 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

IF YES,  Number of Witnesses   ______________ 

  Estimated Length of Your Portion of the Trial ___________________________ 

  Motion in Limine to be Filed:  □ Yes     □ No    MUST BE FILED 24 HOURS BEFORE TRIAL 

  Jury trial?  □ Yes   □ No   If yes,   □ 12-person jury        □ 6-person jury 

 

ANTICIPATED PROBLEMS OR PRETRIAL ISSUES: ______________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________________  

____________________________________________________________________________________ 

ISSUES AT TRIAL: ___________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________________ 

SUBMIT WITNESS AND EXHIBIT LIST TO THE COURT 24 HOURS PRIOR TO TRIAL. 
 

SIGNATURE: _____________________________________________________ 

 

DATE: ___________________________________________________________ 

       

Note:   Please review SLR 6.061 Regarding Jury Instructions  
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APPENDIX II 
See SLR 8.015  

 

RULES FOR PARENTING TIME WITH MINOR CHILDREN  

IN DOMESTIC RELATIONS CASES 

  

For the purposes of this schedule, a weekend is defined as commencing at 7:00 p.m. on Friday 

and ending at 7:00 p.m. on Sunday.  The first weekend of the month is defined as the first one 

that has both a Saturday and a Sunday within that month. 

  

The noncustodial parent shall have parenting time with the minor child(ren) as follows: 

  

(1) Except when a specific period is set forth hereafter, the first and third weekends of each 

month; and 

  

(2) Whether or not the child(ren) are in school, during the period of Christmas school 

vacation from the day after school adjourns until 10:00 a.m. on Christmas morning in 

even-numbered years, and from 10:00 a.m. on Christmas morning until 7:00 p.m. on the 

day before school resumes in odd-numbered years; and 

  

(3) Whether or not the child(ren) are in school, for a period of thirty-five days during the 

period of school summer vacation.  Before May 1 of each year, the non-custodial parent 

shall select and notify the custodial parent in writing of the inclusive dates of the thirty-

five day parenting time period with the child(ren).  If the non-custodial parent fails to 

give such notice to the custodial parent before May 1 of the year of the summer parenting 

time, the non-custodial parent nevertheless shall have the right to such parenting time 

with the child(ren) after giving two (2) weeks written notice to the custodial parent, if and 

to the extent that the time remains for such time; provided, however, that the custodial 

parent shall have the right to choose the inclusive dates for such parenting time.  When 

the non-custodial parent exercises his or her right to parenting time of more than nineteen 

consecutive days with the child(ren), the custodial parent shall have the right to a 

weekend with the child(ren) on the third weekend after commencement of the extended 

parenting time by the non-custodial parent.  Such interim parenting time by the custodial 

parent shall not lengthen the thirty-five days of parenting time allowed to the non-

custodial parent; and  

  

(4) Parenting time in even-numbered years on the following holidays or during the following 

holiday periods: 

  

 (a) The birthdays of the child(ren) from 9:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. if the birthday falls on 

a weekend or from 5:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. if the birthday falls on a weekday;  

  

 (b) Thanksgiving holiday, commencing on Wednesday at 7:00 p.m. and ending on the 

following Sunday at 7:00 p.m.; 
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 (c). The Fourth of July.  If this holiday does not fall on Friday, Saturday, Sunday, or 

Monday, visitation shall commence at 9:00 a.m. and shall end at 10:00 p.m. on 

July 4.  If this holiday falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or Monday, parenting time 

shall commence at 7:00 p.m. on the Friday preceding July 4, and shall end on 

Sunday the 4th or Monday the 4th, as the case may be, at 7:00 p.m.  If the holiday 

falls on a Friday, parenting time shall commence at 7:00 p.m. on Thursday and 

shall end at 7:00 p.m. on the following Sunday; and 

  

 (d) Whether or not the child(ren) are in school, during the period of school spring 

vacation (measured from the day after school adjourns through the day before 

school resumes), commencing at 9:00 a.m. and ending at 7:00 p.m. 

  

(5) Parenting time in odd-numbered years on the following holidays or during the following 

holiday periods: 

  

 (a) The day before the child(ren)'s birthday from 9:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. if the 

birthday falls on a weekend or from 5:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. if the birthday falls on 

a weekday. 

  

 (b) Memorial Day weekend, commencing on the Friday preceding Memorial Day at 

7:00 p.m. and ending on the following Monday at 7:00 p.m.; and  

  

 (c) Labor Day weekend, commencing on the Friday preceding Labor Day at 7:00 

p.m. and ending on Monday, Labor Day, at 7:00 p.m. 

  

In each year, the mother shall have the child(ren) on Mother's Day and her birthday, and the 

father shall have the child(ren) on Father's Day and his birthday, from 9:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. 

  

The custodial parent shall have the right to designate one weekend each summer when the non-

custodial parent's weekend parenting time will not occur in order that the custodial parent can 

have the child(ren) for an uninterrupted two (2) week period.  Before May 15th of each year, the 

custodial parent shall inform the non-custodial parent of which weekend has been selected.  The 

weekend shall not be on a holiday, birthday or during the non-custodial parent's 35 days of 

summer parenting time. 

  

All parenting time shall be exercised in a prompt manner so that both parties can make their 

plans accordingly.  The non-custodial parent shall pick the child(ren) up from the front steps of 

the custodial parent's residence no earlier than 15 minutes before and not later than 15 minutes 

after the parenting time commences.  Return of the child(ren) to the front of the custodial parent's 

residence shall also be subject to the 15 minute rule.  The custodial parent shall have the 

child(ren) fed and ready on time, with sufficient and proper clothing packed and ready.  In the 

event the child(ren) is ill and unable to visit, the non-custodial parent may have parenting time 

with the child(ren) on the next succeeding weekend.  However, if the non-custodial parent fails 

to exercise his or her parenting time for any reason, there will be no makeup time.  The 
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child(ren) will not be permitted to determine whether they wish to spend time with the non-

custodial parent. 

  

Personal plans of the custodial parent or child(ren), school activities, church activities and other 

considerations will not be reasons for failing to adhere to this parenting time schedule.  Only 

substantial medical reasons will be considered sufficient for postponement of a parent’s  

parenting time.  Both parties will provide addresses and contact telephone numbers to the other 

party and advise of any emergency circumstances or substantial changes in the health of any 

child(ren). 

  

The non-custodial parent shall, in addition to the parenting time set forth in this order, have the 

unlimited right to correspond with the minor child(ren) of the parties, and to telephone the minor 

child(ren) during reasonable hours without interference or monitoring by the custodial parent or 

anyone else in any way.  Unless otherwise agreed to between the parties, telephone conferences 

between the non-custodial parent and the child(ren) shall be limited to no more than three (3) per 

week and shall be limited, each call, to ten (10) minutes or less in duration. 

 

Both parties are restrained and enjoined from making derogatory comments about the other party 

or in any way diminishing the love, respect and affection that the child(ren) have for the other 

party. 

  

In addition to the parenting time specified above, the non-custodial parent shall have the right to 

spend time with the child(ren) at school, attend the child(ren)'s schools activities and have full 

access to school teachers and administrators for complete information about the child(ren) in 

school. 
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Appendix III 
See Supplemental Local Rule 8.015 

 

STANDARD PARENTING PLAN  

 

 

1.  INTRODUCTION 
 

It is the policy of the court to encourage the parties to work out their own parenting time 

schedule, either between themselves or through mediation. The court will generally approve any 

schedule agreed upon by the parties. However, if the parties are unable to agree, the following 

schedule will be used as a basis for establishing parenting time. Because each family’s 

circumstances are different, the parenting time schedule established by the court may make 

provision for more or less parenting time than desired by the parties or as set forth in this rule. 

 

 

*** NOTICE TO ALL PARENTS *** 

 

Pursuant to ORS 107.101 and 107.149, it is the policy of the State of Oregon to: 

 Assure minor children of frequent and continuing contact with parents who have shown 

the ability to act in the best interests of the child; 

 Encourage such parents to share in the rights and responsibilities of raising their children 

after the parents have separated or dissolved their marriage 

 Encourage parents to develop their own parenting plan with the assistance of legal and 

mediation professionals, if necessary; 

 Grant parents and courts the widest discretion in developing a parenting plan; and   

 Consider the best interests of the child and the safety of the parties in developing a 

parenting plan. 

 

2.  DEFINITIONS   

 

2.1 The “residential parent” is the parent who provides the primary residence for the 

children. 

 

2.2 The “nonresidential parent” is the parent who has parenting time with the children 

according to the schedule provided in this Standard Parenting Plan. 

 

2.3 Sole Custody means the residential parent shall have sole decision making 

authority on major decisions about the children. 
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2.4 Joint Custody means both parents will share in the responsibility for making 

major decisions about the children. 

 

NOTE: The terms Sole and Joint Custody indicate how parents will handle major decisions about 

the children. Major decisions include, but are not limited to, decisions about the children’s 

education, non-emergency health care and religious training. The terms Sole and Joint Custody 

have are legal determinations made by agreement of the parties or by the Court and have nothing 

to do with the amount of time that children spend with either parent, nor do they affect Child 

Support calculations. The court cannot order Joint Custody unless both parents agree to it.  

 

 

3. PARENTING TIME RULES 

 

 3.1 Day-to-Day Decisions. Each parent shall make decisions regarding the day-to-day 

care and control of the children while the parent is caring for the children. Both parents are 

authorized to make emergency decisions affecting the health and safety of the children. 

 

 3.2 Decisions about the Parenting Time Schedule.  The parties can arrange any 

parenting plan they desire or may vary portions of this plan, but only if both parents agree.  If the 

parents do not agree to a different plan, the non-residential parent will have parenting time as set 

forth in this plan unless otherwise ordered by the Court.   

 

 

3.3 If there are children who would have different parenting time schedules because 

they are in different age groups, parenting time for all of the children shall be based upon the 

schedule for the oldest child that is present for the parenting time, unless a child is younger than 

12 months. In that case, the schedule for “Children ages birth to 12 months” shall apply to that 

child. 

 

 3.4  If parents live no more than 125 miles apart at the time the order is signed, the 

non-residential parent is entitled to have the children according to the Short Distance schedule 

described in Section 4.  If parents live more than 125 miles apart at the time the order is signed, 

the non-residential parent is entitled to have the children according to either the Medium 

Distance (126 to 350 miles apart) or the Long Distance (over 350 miles apart) schedule described 

in Section 5. 

 

3.5 If the children have been prescribed medication that is to be administered during 

the parenting time, the residential parent should provide the medication(s) to the non-residential 

parent along with any instructions regarding the medication(s). The non-residential parent shall 

administer the medication according to the prescription and return any unused medication(s) to 

the residential parent at the time the children are returned to the residential parent. 

 

3.6 Both parents shall have the children fed and ready on time with sufficient clothing 

packed and ready at the time of exchange. All clothing that accompanies the children shall be 

returned to the other parent.   
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3.7 Parents are encouraged to cooperatively resolve any disagreements that arise over 

the terms of the Standard Parenting Plan. If parents are unable to resolve a disagreement, they 

may use mediation first.   

 

 

4. PARENTING TIME SCHEDULE FOR SHORT DISTANCE  

(Parents within 125 miles of one another) 

 

The parties can arrange any parenting plan they desire or may vary portions of this plan, but only 

if both parents agree.  If the parents do not agree to a different plan, the non-residential parent 

will have parenting time as set forth in this plan unless otherwise ordered by the Court. 

  

 4.1 Weekend and Weekday Schedule 

 

4.1 A. Children ages birth to 12 months. Two times per week for three hours on consistent 

weekdays selected by the residential parent and on alternate Saturdays from 9 a.m. until 3 p.m. 

   

4.1 B. Children ages 12 months to 36 months. Two times per week for three hours on    

consistent weekdays selected by the residential parent and on alternate weekends from 6 p.m. on 

Friday until 6 p.m. on Saturday. 

   

4.1 C. Children age 36 months to 60 months (5 years) before June 1st. Alternating weekends 

from 6 p.m. on Friday until 6 p.m. on Sunday, and on alternate Mondays from 6 p.m. until 8 p.m. 

on the Monday preceding the non-residential parent’s alternate weekend with the children.  

 

4.1 D. Children over 60 months (5 years) by June 1st.  Alternating weekends from 6 p.m. on 

Friday until 6 p.m on Sunday, and on alternate Mondays from 6 p.m. until 8 p.m. on the Monday 

preceding the non-residential parent’s alternate weekend with the children.  If the Monday 

following the non-residential parent’s weekend is a school closure day, parenting time shall be 

extended to Monday until 6 p.m. If the Friday preceding the non-residential parent’s weekend is 

a school closure day, parenting time shall begin at 6 p.m. on Thursday. 

  

 4.2 Summer Schedule 

 

4.2 A. Prior to May 1, the non-residential parent shall notify the residential parent, in writing, of 

the summer parenting time schedule. If the non-residential parent fails to provide the summer 

schedule by May 1st, then the residential parent shall notify the non-residential parent of the 

summer schedule, in writing, by May 15th. The summer schedule must not conflict with any 

holiday schedule described in 4.3–4.12.  The child must be returned to the residential parent two 

weeks before school starts if the child is participating in a fall sport and practice starts 1 to 2 

weeks before schools resumes in the fall. In any event, the child shall be returned to the custodial 

parent at least one week before school resumes unless otherwise agreed upon.  This one week 

period is intended to allow time to get the children into a stable consistent schedule before school 

starts.   
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4.2 B. Whether or not the children are enrolled in school, the non-residential parent is entitled to 

have the children for the total amount of time described below during the period of school 

summer vacation. 

 

4.2 C.  Children ages birth to 36 months. Parenting time remains the same as the rest of the year. 

   

4.2 D. Children between the ages 36 months to 60 months (5 years) before June 1st.  Three one 

week blocks, scheduled to include the non-residential parent’s “alternate weekends.”  One week 

shall be in June, one in July, and one in August. There shall be at least two weeks between each 

of the one-week blocks. “Alternate Weekends” continue throughout summer. 

   

4.2 E. Children between the ages of 60 months (5 years) by June 1
st
 and 10 years old by June 1st. 

Thirty five days (5 weeks) scheduled so that neither parent has the children for more than 19 

consecutive days (3 weeks).  If either parent has the children for two weekends in a row, the 

other parent is entitled to have the children for the following weekend. “Alternate Weekends” are 

discontinued. 

 

4.2 F. Children ten years or older by June 1
st
.  Each parent shall get the children for a six week 

block.  During the six week block, the other parent shall have the children for alternate weekends 

from 6 p.m. on Friday to 6 p.m. on Sunday.   

   

 4.3 Holiday Schedule 

 

4.3 A. The Holiday Schedule described below shall override the Weekend and Weekday 

Schedule and the Summer Schedule.   

    

4.3 B. Whenever the Holiday Schedule causes one parent to have the children for two weekends 

in a row, the alternating weekend pattern will restart, so that the other parent will have the 

children on the next weekend. 

 

              NON-RESIDENTIAL            RESIDENTIAL 

           PARENT      PARENT 

            Winter Vacation     Even years    Odd years 

 Thanksgiving    Odd years    Even years 

 Spring Break   Even years   Odd years 

 Easter    Even years    Odd years 

 Memorial Day   Odd years    Even years 

Fourth of July    Even years    Odd years 

 Labor Day    Odd years    Even years 

 Halloween    Even years    Odd years 

 Spring Break    Odd years    Even years 

 Children’s Birthday   Even years    Odd years 

 

For the purposes of the Parenting Plan, a holiday shall begin and end as follows: 
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 4.4 Winter Vacation 

 

4.4 A. Children ages birth to 12 months. Parenting time shall be from 9 a.m. until 6 p.m. on 

December 25th in the even numbered years. In odd numbered years on December 24th from 9 

a.m. until 6 p.m. 

 

4.4 B. Children ages 12 months to 36 months. Parenting time shall be from 6 p.m. on December 

24th until 6 p.m. on December 25th in even numbered years and in odd numbered years from 6 

p.m. on December 25th until 6 p.m. on December 26th. 

 

4.4 C. Children over age 36 months. In even numbered years, the non-residential parent shall 

have the children from noon on the day after school adjourns until noon on December 26th, and 

the residential parent shall have the children from noon on December 26th until school resumes. 

In odd numbered years, the residential parent shall have the children from noon on the day after 

school adjourns until noon on December 26th, and the non-residential parent shall have the 

children from noon on December 26th until noon on the day before school reconvenes. 

 

 4.5 Thanksgiving 

 

4.5 A.  Children ages birth to 36 months. Parenting time shall be from 9 a.m. until 6 p.m. on 

Thanksgiving Day. 

   

 

4.5 B. Children over age 36 months. Parenting time shall be from 6 p.m. on Wednesday evening 

prior to Thanksgiving until 6 p.m. on the Sunday   following Thanksgiving.  

 

 4.6 Spring Break 

 

4.6 A. Children over age 36 months. Parenting time shall begin at 6 p.m. on Friday at the 

beginning of spring break and end at 6 p.m. the next Friday.  

   

 4.7 Easter 

 

4.7 A. Children ages birth to 36 months. Parenting time shall be from 9 a.m. until 6 p.m. on 

Easter Sunday.  

   

4.7 B. Children over age 36 months. Parenting time shall be from 6 p.m. Saturday evening prior 

to Easter Sunday until 6 p.m. on Easter Sunday. 

 

 4.8 Memorial Day and Labor Day 

 

4.8 A. Children ages birth to 36 months. Parenting time shall be on the day of the holiday from  

9 a.m. until 6 p.m. 
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4.8 B. Children over age 36 months. Parenting time shall be from 6 p.m. on the Friday preceding 

the holiday until 6 p.m. on the day of the holiday. 

  

 4.9 Fourth of July 

 

4.9 A. Children ages birth to 36 months. Parenting time shall be from 9 a.m. until 6 p.m. on July 

4th. 

   

4.9 B. Children over age 36 months. Parenting time shall be from 9 a.m. on July 4th until 6 p.m. 

on July 5th. 

 

 4.10 Halloween 

 

4.10 A. Children ages birth to 36 months. Parenting time shall be from 6 p.m. until 8 p.m. 

   

4.10 B. Children over 36 months. Parenting time shall be from 3 p.m., or when school ends until 

8 p.m. 

 

 4.11 Children’s Birthdays 

 

4.11 A. Children ages birth to 36 months. Parenting time shall be from 9 a.m. until 6 p.m.  

  

4.11 B. Children over age 36 months. If the birthday falls on a school day, parenting time shall 

be from 3 p.m. when school activities are over until 8 p.m. If on a non-school day, parenting time 

shall be from 9 a.m. until 6 p.m. 

 

4.11 C. If the birthday falls on another holiday that is listed in 4.3, then the parent shall use the 

schedule for the holiday instead of the schedule for the birthday. 

 

4.12 Mother’s Day, Father’s Day and Parent’s Birthdays 

 

4.12 A. Children shall spend the day with Mother on Mother’s Day and on Mother’s birthday 

from 9 a.m. until 6 p.m. 

   

4.12 B. Children shall spend the day with Father on Father’s Day and on Father’s birthday from 

9 a.m. until 6 p.m. 

   

4.12 C. If the parent’s birthday falls on a school day, then parent’s time shall be from the end of 

school until 8 p.m. If the parent’s birthday falls on a holiday that is listed in 4.3, then parents will 

follow the schedule as described 4.3-4.12.  
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5. PARENTING TIME SCHEDULE FOR MEDIUM AND LONG DISTANCE 

(Medium: 126-350 miles.  Long Distance: Over 350 miles) 

 

The parties can arrange any parenting plan they desire or may vary portions of this plan, but only 

if both parents agree.  If the parents do not agree to a different plan, the non-residential parent 

will have parenting time as set forth in this plan unless otherwise ordered by the Court. 

 

When parents live more than 125 miles apart, but less than 350 miles apart, the non-residential 

parent is entitled to have the children according to the schedule labeled “Medium Distance.”  

When parents live more than 350 miles apart, the non-residential parent is entitled to have the 

children according to the schedule labeled “Long Distance.”  All other provisions of this 

parenting plan are unchanged except as described in this section. 

 

 5.1 Weekend and Weekday Schedule 

 

5.1 A. Prior to August 15th each year the non-residential parent shall notify the residential parent 

in writing of the dates of the parenting time weekends to be scheduled during the school year. 

The selected dates shall include any holidays listed in Section 4.3-4.12. If the non-residential 

parent fails to provide such written notice prior to August 15th, the residential parent is entitled 

to designate those weekends, so long as they include any holidays listed in 4.3-4.12. The 

residential parent shall notify the nonresidential parent in writing by August 31st. 

 

5.1 B. Children ages birth to 12 months 

   Medium & Long Distance: Two hours every Saturday and two hours every Sunday in the 

location where the residential parent resides, according to a schedule determined by the 

residential parent.  

 

5.1 C. Children ages 12 months to 36 months 

   Medium Distance: On alternating weekends from 9 a.m. Saturday until 6 p.m. Sunday. 

   Long Distance: Same as for the Medium Distance except that parenting time will occur at 

the location where the residential parent resides. 

 

5.1 D. Children over ages 36 months 

    Medium Distance: Alternating weekends from 6 p.m. on Friday until 6 p.m. on Sunday. 

If the Monday following the non-residential parent’s weekend is a school closure day, parenting 

time shall be extended to Monday until 6 p.m. If the Friday preceding the non-residential 

parent’s weekend is a school closure day, parenting time shall begin at 6 p.m. on Thursday. 

    Long Distance: One weekend per month, which shall include up to two weekdays 

attached to the weekend, so long as the children are not attending school on those days.  Children 

shall return to the residential parent’s home no later than 6 p.m. on the day prior to a school day. 

   

 5.2 Summer Schedule 

 

5.2 A. Prior to May 1st, the non-residential parent shall notify the residential parent, in writing, 

of the summer parenting time schedule. If the non-residential parent fails to provide the summer 
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schedule by May 1st, then the residential parent shall notify the non-residential parent of the 

summer schedule in writing by May 20th. 

 

5.2 B. The Medium Distance summer schedule must not conflict with any holiday schedule 

described in 4.3 – 4.12. If the Long Distance summer schedule conflicts with the schedule for 

Father’s Day, 4th of July or a birthday, the residential parent may have parenting time as 

described in 4.3 – 4.12 in the location where the non- residential parent resides and at the 

residential parent’s expense. 

 

5.2 C. Whether or not the children are in school, the non-residential parent is entitled to have the 

children for the total amount of time described below during the period of school summer 

vacation. 

 

5.2 D. Children ages birth to 12 months. 

Medium & Long Distance: Parenting time remains the same as the rest of the year, as 

described in 5.1 A.. 

 

5.2 E. Children between ages 12 months to 36 months (3 years) before June 1st.                 

 Medium Distance: Parenting time remains the same as the rest of the year (see 5.1 B). 

         Long Distance: Three weekends in the location where the residential parent resides from 

9 a.m. Saturday until 6 p.m. Sunday, and three “long weekends” in the location where the non-

residential parent resides, one in June, one in July and one in August from 6 p.m. Friday until 6 

p.m. Sunday. 

 

5.2 F. Children between ages 36 months to 60 months (5 years) before June 1st.  

Medium Distance: Three one-week blocks (seven days). One week shall be in June, one 

in July, and one in August. There shall be at least two weeks between each of the one-week 

blocks. “Alternate weekends” are discontinued. 

             Long Distance: Twenty one consecutive days (3 weeks). 

 

5.2 G. Children between ages 60 months to 10 Years before June 1st.         

Medium Distance: Thirty-five days (5 weeks) scheduled so that neither parent has the 

children for more than 19 consecutive days. If either parent has the children for two weekends in 

a row, the other parent is entitled to have the children for the following weekend. “Alternate 

weekends” are discontinued. 

Long Distance: Thirty-five consecutive days (5 weeks). 

 

5.2 H. Children over age 10 Years before June 1st. 

Medium Distance: Each parent shall get the children for a six week block.   During the 

six week block the other parent shall have the children for a three day weekend half way through 

the six week block from 6 p.m. on Thursday to 6 p.m. on Sunday.  

Long Distance: Sixty three consecutive days (9 weeks).  The custodial parent my visit the 

children for up to 4 days at the non-custodial parents area at a time to be arranged during the nine 

week block. .  
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 5.3 Holiday Schedule 

 

5.3 A. Parents who live more than 125 miles apart will follow the Holiday Schedule and 

provisions described in Section 4.3–4.12 except as described below. 

 

 5.4 Winter Vacation 

 

5.4 A. Children ages birth to 12 months. 

           Medium & Long Distance: Same as described in Section 4.3-4.12 except that parenting 

time will occur in the location where the residential parent resides. 

 

5.4 B. Children ages 12 months to 36 months. 

           Medium Distance: Same as described in Section 4.3-4.12. 

Long Distance: Same as described in Section 4.3-4.12 except that parenting time will 

occur in the location where the residential parent resides. 

 

5.4 C. Children over age 36 months. 

Medium & Long Distance: Same as described in Section 4.3-4.12. 

 

 5.5 Thanksgiving 

 

5.5 A. Children ages birth to 12 months. 

Medium & Long Distance: Parenting time shall be from 9 a.m. until 6 p.m. on 

Thanksgiving Day in the location where the residential parent resides.  

 

5.5 B. Children ages 12 months to 36 months.    

Medium Distance: From noon on the day prior to Thanksgiving until 6 p.m. on 

Thanksgiving Day. 

Long Distance: The same as for Medium Distance, except that parenting time will occur 

in the location where the residential parent resides. 

 

5.5 C. Children over age 36 months. 

Medium & Long Distance: From noon the day prior to Thanksgiving until 6 p.m. on the 

Sunday following Thanksgiving. 

 

 5.6 Easter, Memorial Day, Fourth of July, Halloween, Labor Day, Children’s 

  Birthdays, Mother’s Day, Father’s Day and Parent’s Birthday 

 

5.6 A. Children ages birth to 12 months. 

Medium & Long Distance: The same as described in Section 4.3-4.12 except that 

parenting time will occur in the location where the residential parent resides. 

5.6 B. Children ages 12 months to 36 months. 

Medium Distance: The same as described in Section 4.3-4.12. 

Long Distance: The same as for Medium Distance except that parenting time will occur 

in the location where the residential parent resides. 
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5.6 C. Children over age 36 months. 

Medium & Long Distance: The same as described in Section 4.3-4.12. 

 

5.7 Spring Break 

 

5.7 A. Children over 36 months. 

Medium Distance: Same as described in Section 4.3-4.12. 

Long Distance: From 6 p.m. the day school adjourns until noon on the day before school 

resumes. 

 

 

6.  ALTERNATIVE FORM OF PARENTING TIME 

 

If a non-present parent cannot attend the parenting time as outlined in the above schedule, the 

parties are encouraged to use web-cam/Skype in place of the parenting time if the technology is 

available to the parties.  The non-present parent shall inform the other parent of his/her decision 

to use this alternative parenting time, and provide the hours of a two-hour block of time to the 

residential parent at least two weeks in advance.  These two-hour blocks shall take place between 

the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. in the time zone in which the children reside.  Parents with 

very young children shall facilitate the web-cam/Skype contact.  The use of this alternative form 

of parenting time must be agreed to by both parents. 

 

 

7. RULES OF EXCHANGE OF CHILD FOR ALL DISTANCES 

 

The parties can arrange any exchange of the children they desire or may vary portions of this 

plan, but only if both parents agree.  If the parents do not agree to a different plan, the exchange 

and transportation will take place as set forth in this plan unless otherwise ordered by the Court. 

 

7.1 Pick-up and delivery to and from parenting time shall be prompt so all parties can 

make plans accordingly. In the event a parent will be late for any scheduled pick up or return of 

the children, they will make a good faith effort to telephone or otherwise contact the other parent. 

Parents should make scheduling arrangements between themselves or through other adults. 

Children should not be used as messengers. 

 

7.2 Parties are encouraged to use common sense during inclement weather. 

 

 7.3 Either parent may authorize other individuals who are known to the children to 

provide the transportation for the exchange of the children. Anyone who drives while 

transporting the children will have a valid driver’s license and vehicle insurance. Anyone who 

transports children will not be under the influence of drugs or alcohol and must not have 

consumed alcohol within six hours of picking up the children.  Anyone who transports the 

children shall use age appropriate car seats or other appropriate safety devices when the children 

are being transported. 
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8.  SHORT AND MEDIUM DISTANCE EXCHANGE   

 

The receiving parent shall pick up the children from the sending parent’s residence no earlier 

than, nor later than 15 minutes from the scheduled beginning of the parenting time.  

 

 

9.  LONG DISTANCE EXCHANGE 

  

9.1.  For every visit, parents shall alternate responsibility for making travel 

arrangements. A parent shall not use a method of travel or schedule a time for travel which 

interferes with the other parent’s scheduled parenting time. 

 

9.2  When making travel arrangements by air, bus, or train, the parent arranging the 

transportation shall promptly notify the other parent of the travel arrangements. 

 

9.3   If traveling by bus or train, a parent or other responsible adult, agreed upon by 

both parties, must accompany the child if the child is under 14 years of age. 

 

9.4 If traveling by air, the children may be allowed to fly unaccompanied by an adult 

only if doing so would not violate any airline rules or regulations and would not put the child at a 

health risk. 

 

9.5 Unless otherwise agreed, or otherwise ordered by the Court, the cost of 

transporting the children to and from parenting time shall be paid by the parents in the same 

proportion as the “percentage share of income” as listed in the parents’ child support 

computation worksheet. For example, if the nonresidential parent’s percentage share of income is 

70%, then the nonresidential parent shall pay 70% of transportation costs and the residential 

parent shall pay 30% of transportation costs. The parent with the lower income shall pay no less 

than 30% of transportation costs. If the parties have agreed to forego child support or if there is 

no child support computation worksheet, the parents shall equally divide the costs of 

transportation. 

 

9.6 If the children are traveling by air, bus, or train, transportation costs shall include 

the cost of the ticket(s) for the children plus the cost of the ticket(s) for the individual traveling 

with the children if such accompaniment is necessary pursuant to paragraphs “5” and “6” of this 

section. If the children are traveling by car, transportation costs shall include the cost of fuel. 

 

 

10. MISSED PARENTING TIME 

 

 10.1 Personal plans of a parent or a child, or school, church, or other activities will not 

be reasons for failing to follow the Standard Parenting Plan. The children will not be permitted to 

decide whether or not they wish to be with a parent. The residential parent shall not cancel 

parenting time for any reason without the agreement of the non-residential parent. 
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 10.2 Only substantial medical reasons or severe weather will be considered sufficient 

for postponement of parenting time. If a child is ill and unable to visit, or weather conditions are 

concerning for travel, a make-up parenting time shall occur on the following weekend unless 

otherwise agreed upon.  

 

10.3 Unless otherwise agreed to by the parties, if the non-residential parent fails to 

exercise his or her parenting time, there will be no make-up parenting time. 

 

10.4 While this schedule promotes stability for the children, each parent shall 

acknowledge that reasonable adjustments will be needed from time to time and that an element 

of flexibility will be required in administering this parenting schedule.  

 

 

11. PARENT-CHILD COMMUNICATION 

 

 11.1  In addition to parenting time, both parents and the children shall have the right to 

communicate by telephone, in writing, by e-mailing, by text messaging or by web-cam/Skype (if 

available) during reasonable hours without interference or monitoring by the other parent.  

Parents with very young children shall facilitate the calls, messaging and web-cam/Skype 

contact.   

 

 11.2  Unless otherwise agreed by the parents, telephone and web-can/Skype calls shall 

be limited to no more than three per week and each call shall last no more than 20 minutes.  

These calls shall not be made during or extend past the child’s normal bed time. 

 

 

12. INFORMATION SHARING 

 

  12.1 Unless otherwise ordered by the court, each parent shall have equal access to 

important information about the children, including, but not limited to the children’s current 

mailing and street addresses, telephone number, and the name, telephone number and street 

address of any day care provider.  

  

 12.2  Each parent must immediately notify the other about any emergency 

circumstances or substantial changes in the health of the children. Unless otherwise ordered by 

the court, both parents shall be listed as emergency contacts at Day Care and School. 

 

 12.3  If either parent takes the children from that parent’s usual residence for 24 hours 

or more, that parent shall notify the other parent of any emergency contact phone number and 

where the children will be staying. 

 

 12.4  Pursuant to ORS 107.154, and unless otherwise ordered by the court, both parents 

always have the right: 

 To inspect and receive school records and to consult with school staff concerning the 

children’s welfare and education. 
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 To inspect and receive governmental agency and law enforcement records concerning 

the children. 

 To consult with any person who may provide care or treatment for the children and to 

inspect and receive the children’s medical, dental and psychological records. 

 To authorize emergency medical, dental, psychological, psychiatric or other health 

care for the child. 

 To apply to be the child(ren)’s conservator, guardian ad litem or both.  

12.5 It is the responsibility of each parent to gather information from each provider 

regarding their child.  If necessary, teacher/parent conferences can be scheduled separately.   

 

 

13. AFFECTION AND RESPECT 

 

Neither parent shall make derogatory comments about the other parent or in any way diminish 

the love, respect and affection that the children have for the other parent, nor shall they allow 

others to do so in the presence of the children.  Neither party shall speak with the children 

concerning any custody or other legal proceedings or allow others to do so.  Neither parent shall 

use the children to communicate with the other parent, including through a child’s social 

networking profile.   

 

 

14. SCHOOL INVOLVEMENT 

 

Unless otherwise ordered by the court, both parents are encouraged to participate in the 

children’s school activities including, but not limited to, visiting the classroom, attending parent-

teacher conferences, and attending sports and cultural activities.  

 

 

15. PARENT CONTROL OF CHILDREN’S ACTIVITIES 

 

Parents are encouraged to cooperate when scheduling activities for the children. Neither parent 

may schedule activities for the children that occur during the other parent’s time with the 

children without the other parent’s consent. 

 

 

16. FUTURE MOVE OF A PARENT 
 

 16.1 Parents shall provide each other and the court with at least 60 days written notice 

of any planned move more than 60 miles further distance from the other parent. 

 

 16.2  Unless otherwise ordered by the court, each parent shall: 
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 Provide the other parent with his or her contact phone number and contact address. 

 Notify the other parent of any change in his or her contact telephone number and 

contact address within 72 hours of the change. 

 16.3 If a parent’s move places the parties a different distance apart (whether further 

apart or closer together), then the parenting time shall take place in accordance with the 

parenting time that coincides with their distance, if mutually agreed upon.  For example, if the 

parent’s move takes them out of the Short Distance (within 125 miles) and into the Medium 

Distance (between 126 and 350 miles), then the parenting schedule shall become the Medium 

Distance Schedule as long as both parties agree to the change.  If a party does not agree to this 

change, the original distance schedule shall remain in place until a party requests a modification 

of the parenting plan through the Court.  

 

 

17. CHANGES TO THE PARENTING PLAN 

 

Changes to the parenting plan are allowed whenever both parents agree to a change.  Agreed 

upon changes will be temporary and will be enforced by the court only if the change is written 

down, is dated, signed by both parents before a notary public and submitted to the court leaving a 

space for the judge’s signature. See ORS 107.174. 
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APPENDIX IV 
See SLR 8.045(2) 

 

NOTICE 

 

You must file an answer in writing to this Order within the time allowed by the Order.  If you do 

not file a written answer within such time, the other side may be given whatever he or she is 

requesting in the motion.  If you have any questions, you should see an attorney immediately. 

  

In order to file an answer in writing, you must do the following things: 

  

(1) Your written answer must contain the title and number of this case. 

  

(2) Your written answer must specify the item or items of relief requested by the other side 

which you oppose.  Although you do not need to state the reasons why you oppose the 

requested relief, your answer will be more easily understood if you do.  Your answer will 

have more authority if it is in the form of a sworn affidavit but this also is not required. 

  

(3) Your written answer must be signed by you and must contain your current mailing 

address.  All future notices and documents in this case will be sent to you at the address 

listed on your written answer unless and until you file in this case a written notice of a 

change of such address, and the Court will proceed on the assumption that you have 

received all communications and documents mailed to you at your most current address 

on file in this case. 

  

(4) Your written answer must be mailed or presented to the clerk of the Court so as to 

actually reach the clerk of the Court within the time allowed. 

  

(5) Your written answer must be accompanied by payment of any filing fee required by law 

for the filing of the answer, or you must obtain a Court order waiving or deferring such 

filing fee (you should contact the clerk of the Court if you have any questions concerning 

a filing fee). 

  

(6) At or before the time you file your written answer with the clerk of the Court, you must 

mail a copy of the answer to the attorney for the other side or to the other side personally 

if he or she is not represented by an attorney.  You must attach a certificate showing 

proof of mailing to the answer which you file with the clerk.  If you properly file a 

written answer, the Court will decide whether or not to grant the relief requested by the 

other side, and you will be notified by mail of the Court's decision. If you do not file an 

answer within the time allowed, the relief requested may be granted.  If you wish to seek 

affirmative relief for yourself against the other side, you must file an appropriate motion 

with an affidavit, and you must mail a copy of the motion and affidavit to the attorney for 

the other side or to the other side personally if he or she is not represented by an attorney. 
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APPENDIX V 
See SLR 9.081 

  
  IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE STATE OF OREGON 

         FOR THE COUNTY OF CLATSOP 

  
In the Guardianship/Conservatorship of  )    Case No._____________ 

       ) 

     )    RESPONDENT’S OBJECTIONS 

     ) 

______________________________________,       )  

Respondent.      )  

  

  

I object to the petition for the following reasons: 

 

  I do not want anyone else making any of my decisions for me. 

 

  I do not want ____________________________making any decisions for me. 

 

  I do not want ____________________________ to make the following 

decisions for me:  

__________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________ 

  

__________________________________________ Date: ________________________ 

Signature of Respondent    

__________________________________________ 

Printed/Typed Name of Objecting Party 

 

GIVE TO THE VISITOR OR MAIL TO: 

Clatsop Circuit Court, P. O. Box 835, Astoria, OR  97103 


