Trial Court Administrator
Columbia County Circuit Court
230 Strand Street

Saint Helens, Oregon 97051-2041

December 27, 2004

Name: Juror #:
Address:
City, OR, Zip:

JURY SUMMONS

BY ORDER OF THE PRESIDING JUDGE

REPORT ON: at 8:00 a.m.

GREETINGS:

You are hereby summoned to appear at the Columbia County Courthouse, Room 351, Saint Helens, Oregon
for Jury Orientation and you may possibly be serving on a jury that day. You will be serving for a term of one
(1) month. Jurors are called in an average of three (3) days over the course of the month. You will receive a
calendar of possible court dates at the orientation.

Within five (5) days of receipt of this summons and no later than 10 days prior to orientation, you must
complete and return the enclosed documents to the Jury Coordinator. If the paperwork does not reach this office
prior to orientation, new forms will need to be completed at that time. This is essential for the court to verify
your eligibility to serve as a juror.

If you are over 70 and do not wish to serve, yvou may telephone the Court with your request. All other requests
to be excused or deferred must be made in writing.

Each eligible person has an obligation to serve as a juror to protect the right of every person to a trial by a jury
of their peers. The right to a trial by a jury has meaning only if you and others serve as jurors. Under law, a
person is required to respond to this Circuit Court Summons by completing the questionnaire and, if eligible,
by serving as summoned, deferring service to a future date, or being excused. If you fail to respond, you may be
ordered to appear and show cause why you should not be held in contempt of court. If you are ordered to show
cause, you risk arrest if you do not appear. If you are charged with contempt, you risk criminal sanctions if
found in contempt of court.

If you have a disability that will require special accommodations for jury service, please notify the jury
coordinator at (503) 397-2327 ext. 307 at least three (3) days prior to appearing. Hearing impaired jurors may
contact the Court by using the Oregon Telecommunications Service (relay service) at 1-800-735-2900 or TTY:
503-986-5504. Alternative formats are available upon request.

Oregon Legislature currently provides that Jurors receive payment of $10.00 per day for the first two (2) days
and then $25.00 a day after that and 20¢ a mile. Jurors are officers of the Court and are expected to dress
accordingly while fulfilling this serious duty.

PLEASE DO NOT BRING CHILDREN.



JUROR ELIGIBILITY AND RESPONSE FORM PAGE 1

NAME: JUROR #:

INSTRUCTIONS: Please read the following instructions carefully before answering ALL the questions.
PLEASE PRINT AND USE BLUE OR BLACK INK.

Section 1: ELIGIBILITY (Please check any/all that apply):
I am not eligible to serve as a juror in Columbia County because:

(1 T am not a resident of Columbia County. County of Residence:

Address
[ Tam not a citizen of the United States. Country of Citizenship:
(1 T have served as a juror for a Federal, Circuit or District Court within the last 2 years.
Where: When:
[ Tam under 18 years of age. Birth date:
(1 Tam over 70 years of age and do not wish to serve. Birth date:
(1 Tam currently serving a term in jail or imprisonment due to a conviction of a felony offense.
(1 Tam a woman breast-feeding a child and I do not wish to serve.

Section 2: CRIMINAL TRIAL JURY/GRAND JURY ELIGIBILITY:

No person shall serve on a criminal jury or serve on a grand jury if they have been convicted: (a) of a felony or served a
felony sentence within the past 15 years; or (b) of a misdemeanor or served a misdemeanor sentence involving violence
or dishonesty within the past 5 years. If you have a qualifying conviction or sentence, then you are not eligible to be a
grand juror or a juror in a criminal action, but you remain eligible to serve as a juror in a civil trial. Please check one of
following boxes:

(1 Tam eligible to be a grand juror and to sit as a juror in a criminal action.

(1 Tam not eligible to be a grand juror or to serve as a juror in a criminal action

No person will be excused from jury service by the Court except upon a showing of undue hardship or extreme
inconvenience to the person, the person’s family, the person’s employer or the public served by the person. To request to
be excused or to defer your jury service to another time, please complete the enclosed petition for excuse or deferral and
return to the Court WITHIN FIVE (5) DAYS of receipt (and no later than 10 days prior to orientation). This is
essential for the Court to verify your eligibility to serve as a juror. If the questionnaire is not received by this
office prior to the orientation, you will then need to complete a new questionnaire.

Section 3: PAYROLL INFORMATION (Please complete this section)

YOUR NAME AS IT APPEARS ON THE SUMMONS:

MAILING ADDRESS:

Street City Zip
RESIDENTIAL ADDRESS:

Street City Zip
E-MAIL ADDRESS:
HOME PHONE: WORK PHONE: MESSAGE PHONE:

Round Trip Mileage from your home to the Courthouse:

Section 4: DECLARATION
I certify that the above information is true to the best of my knowledge.

Date Signature



PETITION FOR EXCUSE OR DEFERRAL PAGE 2

NAME: JUROR #:

Section 1: DELAYING SERVICE TO ANOTHER TIME
You may request service be delayed to start no later than one year from the date your current jury service starts. You will
receive a deferral confirmation in the mail and will receive a new summons about a month before your new jury service
begins.
Section 2: GETTING EXCUSED FROM SERVICE

MANDATORY STANDARDS TO BE EXCUSED:
If you are age 70 or older on the date your current jury service or if you are a woman breast-feeding a child and you
request to be excused, the Court must excuse you. Check the box provided in Section 1 on the Juror Eligibility &
Response Form, page 1.

DISCRETIONARY STANDARD TO BE EXCUSED:
In its discretion, the Court may excuse a potential juror from jury service if: (a) the jury service causes you, your family or
your employer undue hardship or extreme inconvenience; or, (b) you are the sole care giver for a child or other dependent
and you attend personally to the dependent during the Court’s normal hours of operation and you are unable to afford
daycare or make other arrangements for the care of a dependent. If you request to be excused under these standards, the
Court will weigh the basis for your excuse against the public’s need for jurors. The Court may deny a request for excuse
under (a)or (b), above, and require you to serve.

Section 3: PROCEDURE FOR GETTING DEFERRAL OR DISCRETIONARY EXCUSE

Please explain the nature of the condition, undue hardship, or extreme inconvenience which requires you to be excused or
deferred below. All requests must be in writing. The Court will not excuse you by telephone unless you are asking to be
excused because you are age 70 or older. If a medical condition prevents you from serving, the Court requires a letter
from your doctor. Ifitis a permanent medical problem, be sure to have your doctor indicate that in the letter. You will
need to keep a copy of the letter should you be summoned for jury service in the future. If jury service creates a problem
with your place of employment, we do not require a letter from your employer, but you must fill out the reason
below. The Court will mail you a notice of its decision of your request to be excused or deferred. If your request is
denied, then you must serve. You must complete the Juror Eligibility and Response Form (page 1) and the Juror
Questionnaire (page 2) even if you are asking to be deferred or excused.

I am requesting that the Court 1 defer (1 excuse me from Jury Service because:

I hereby certify the above statement to be true.

Date Signature
Please return this COMPLETED form with any additional paperwork and your COMPLETED questionnaire to:

Trial Court Administrator’s Office, Attn: Jury Coordinator
Columbia County Courthouse, 230 Strand Street, Saint Helens, OR 97051 TTY: 503-986-5504
Oregon Relay Services 1-800-735-2900
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FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY

REQUEST TO BE EXCUSED: (1 Approved [ Denied Code: By:
REQUEST TO BE DEFERRED: (1 Approved [ Denied Month/Yr: By:
NOTIFIED BY: U Mail (1 E-Mail (1 Telephone (1 In Person




PAGE 3

TRIAL INFORMATION:

1. Juror #:

2. City of residence: Birth date:

3. Years of residence:  In Oregon: In Columbia County:

4. Prior place of residence (if any):

5. Marital Status: [ Single [ Married [ Divorced [ Widow/er [ Separated [ Domestic
Partner

6. Education completed (# years if not completed):

(1 Grade School (1 High School (1 Vocation School 1 College (1 Graduate School

7. Employer (If retired, please give last employer and occupation):

Occupation:

8. List all persons residing in your household (include adults and minors. NO NAMES):

Relationships Age Occupation (if any) Employer (if any)

0. Have you ever served as a juror prior to this term? d YES 1 NO
When and in what state/court (be specific, please)

10.  Have you, members of your immediate family, or close family ever suffered any serious bodily injury
resulting from an accident? (For example: a fall that caused a broken leg; an auto accident that caused substantial
injuries; an employment related accident resulting in loss of time from work, medical care; etc.) O YES d NO

11.  Have you/any members of your immediate family been a party to any law suits? (may include a divorce action,
a suit for a debt, or any legal action which was, or could have been brought before a Court) O YES d NO
If yes, when and in what court?

12.  Have you been convicted of a Felony in the past 15 years? d YES 1 NO
If yes, when and in what Court?

Please note: An arrest is not a conviction. A conviction can only result from a trial before a judge or jury, or a plea of guilty
or no contest to a felony charge. For the purpose of this question, a felony must have resulted in imprisonment, fine, and/or
probation in lieu of imprisonment. Please include any felony convictions in Juvenile Court in the past 15 years. Please include
any felony conviction in which probation was not completed in the past 15 years. DO NOT include felony convictions that
have been set aside or dismissed.

13.  Are you related to, or close friends with, any law enforcement officer? [ YES 1 NO

14. Do you drive an automobile? d YES 1 NO



OREGON JUDICIAL DEPARTMENT
JUROR CERTIFICATION AND WAIVER FORM

A. Certification of Juror Per Diem Eligibility

My name is
(print name)

Check the box that applies:
a. | am employed. [ Yes 1 No
b. My employer continuing to pay my salary/wages during my term of jury service.

1 Yes 1 No
C. | have an employment agreement that allows me to receive both the juror fees and wages.

d Yes 1 No
d. | have an employment agreement that requires me to turn over my juror fee to my employer in

order to receive a wage or salary during my term of jury service. 1 Yes [ No

B. Certification of Mileage or Public Transportation Use

| | estimate that | reside miles from the place where jury service is being
performed. (Number of miles)
a | took public transportation ( ) to jury service and request that | be
(Type)

reimbursed the cost of the fare in the amount of $

(Amount of fare)

C. Waiver of Juror Fees and/or Mileage Reimbursement to
Oregon Judicial Department “Juror Access Improvement” Account

W | hereby waive receipt of juror fees for my jury service in Columbia County and authorize the

funds to be donated to the Oregon Judicial Department’s “Juror Access Improvement” Account.

a | hereby waive receipt of mileage reimbursement due me for my jury service in Columbia

County and authorize the funds to be donated to the Oregon Judicial Department’s “Juror
Access Improvement” Account.

| affirm the above to be accurate to the best of my knowledge.

Dated: Signature:
Juror #:

OJD Juror Certification and Waiver Form Revised: 12/21/2004
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