
IN THE CIRCUIT COURT FOR THE STATE OF OREGON 
 

FOR THE FIFTEENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT 
 
 

 
IN THE MATTER OF REQUESTS  )   General Order  
TO WAIVE OR DEFER COURT   ) 
FEES AND COURT COSTS AND )      No. 07-04 
ENTERING JUDGMENTS IF FEES ) 
AND COURT COSTS ARE DEFERRED ) 
 
 
 
This Matter Coming Before the Court on its Own Motion: 
 
Whereas ORS 21.682(2) (chapter 493, Oregon Laws 2007) allows a judge to waive or defer all 
or part of fees and costs payable to the court by a party in a civil action or proceeding, if the 
judge finds that the party is unable to pay all or any part of the fees and costs. 
 
Whereas ORS 21.682(2) (chapter 493, Oregon Laws 2007) allows a presiding judge to 
delegate the authority to waive or defer fees and court costs to the court administrator if the 
delegation is made in writing and provides clear standards. 
 
Whereas Chief Justice Order 07-056, pursuant to ORS 21.682(4), establishes standards and 
practices for fee waivers and deferrals, effective January 1, 2008. 
 
 
IT IS THEREBY ORDERED that, effective January 1, 2008, authority to waive or defer fees 
and court costs, including the sheriff’s service feei, in a civil action or proceeding are delegated 
to the court administrator and that pursuant to ORS 8.225(4) the court administrator may 
delegate these duties to court staff. 
 
IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that, effective January 1, 2008, the following standards must be 
followed by the court administrator and court staff on all requests filed with the court to waive 
or defer fees and court costs: 
 

1. Mandatory waiver.  A waiver of fees and court costs must be granted when the 
applicant, who has completed the Application form (copy attached), receives 
benefits from certain government programs, the applicants income is less than or 
equal to 133 percent of the federal poverty guidelines (copy attached), and the 
applicant provides proof of current eligibility for one or more of the benefit 
programs.  The following benefit programs qualify for a mandatory waiver:  food 
stamps, TANF, SSI, OHP Plus, OHP Standard, and OHP with limited drug.  
Applicants who fall into the mandatory waiver category do not need to complete 
the Declaration form (copy attached).  The court clerk shall consider the following 
documentation to determine eligibility for a fee waiver: 

 

 Verification of Food Stamps 

 Verification of Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) 

 Verification of SSI (SSI computer-generated printout or bank 
statement showing SSI deposit 



 Current Oregon Health Plan card 
 

2. Waiver presumption.  A waiver of fees and court costs is presumed to be 
appropriate when, after taking into account the applicant’s household size, the 
applicant’s income from all sources, including food stamps, is less than or equal 
to 133 percent of the federal poverty guidelines (copy attached). 
 

3. Deferral presumption.  A deferral of fees and court costs is presumed to be 
appropriate when, after taking into account the applicant’s household size, the 
applicant’s income from all sources, including food stamps, is between 133 and 
185 percent of the federal poverty guidelines. 

 
4. Denial presumption.   A denial of a deferral or waiver request is presumed to be 

appropriate when, after taking into account the applicant’s household size, the 
applicant’s household income from all sources, including food stamps, equals or 
exceeds 185 percent of the federal poverty guidelines. 

 
5. Judicial Discretion.  Categories 2, 3, and 4 are “presumptions because they do 

not take into account assets and other factors relevant to the applicant’s ability to 
pay.  If the applicant identifies liquid assets (cash/savings) of $500.00 or more or 
extraordinary expenses (medical expense/prescriptions) over $500 the court 
clerk shall forward the request to a Judge for further review.  (Pursuant to Chief 
Justice Order 07-056 the court may not consider available credit as an asset or 
source of income.) 

 
6. Paperwork.  The attached Federal Poverty Guidelines are the current-year 

poverty guidelines established by the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services.  The State Court Administrators Office will annually provide the Federal 
Poverty Guidelines to the courts.  The following documents (attached) will be 
provided by the court, free of charge, to all individuals seeking a fee waiver or 
deferral.  The court shall also post these documents on the court’s website: 

 

 Application.  All applicants must complete and sign this document.  
The applicant must specify the fees he or she is requesting the 
court to waive or defer.  If the applicant is requesting waiver or 
deferral based on eligibility for benefit programs, the applicant must 
identify the type of benefits received and show the court proof of 
current eligibility. 
 

 Declaration.  If the applicant does not receive or is unable to show 
proof of current eligibility for the listed benefit programs, the 
applicant must complete the Declaration.  The Declaration shows 
the applicants household size, household income, and assets, and 
provides an opportunity for the applicant to explain any extenuating 
circumstances.  By law, the clerk must keep the personal financial 
information in the Declaration confidential and not subject to public 
inspection.  (This will be done by the clerk placing the Declaration 
in a sealed envelope marked confidential inside the court file on the 
right hand side.) 

 



The following forms are to be filled in by the clerk and, where indicated, 
submitted to the TCA in Coquille and the supervisor in North Bend or Gold 
Beach for signature: 
 

 Recommendation and Order.  The clerk will fill out the 
recommendation portion of the form documenting the clerk’s 
recommendation and then complete the order portion of the form 
and then sign it.  If the clerk has any questions about eligibility, that 
do not fall within the guidelines outlined under Judicial Discretion, 
the clerk shall consult with the TCA, a supervisor in North Bend or 
Gold Beach, or, in their absence, a judge prior to completing the 
form.  
 

 Judgment.  If fees are deferred the judgment form will be 
completed by the clerk and submitted to the TCA in Coquille or to 
the supervisors in North Bend and Gold Beach for their signature.  
(In the absence of the TCA or supervisor the Recommendation and 
Order should be forwarded to a judge for signature.)  Once the 
signed Judgment is returned to the clerk the clerk will enter the 
Judgment and create a judgment lien.  When paid in full the clerk 
shall note that fact in the judgment lien record and change the 
judgment status to “satisfied”.   

   
IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that these procedures do not apply to a request for waiver or 
deferral of fees and costs filed by an inmate subject to the provisions of ORS 30.642 to 30.650. 
 
 
It is so ordered this_______ day of December, 2007 
 
 
 
 

       ____________________________ 
       Richard L. Barron, Presiding Judge 
       Fifteenth Judicial District 
 
 
 
 
 
                                            
i
 The forms include provisions relating to waiver or deferral of the sheriff’s service fee.  In Burgess v Holstedt, 156 
Or App 436, 965 P2d 473 (1998), the Court of Appeals held that the sheriff’s service fee is a “fee” within the 
meaning of ORS 21.605 that a circuit court has the authority to waive or defer.  The Court also held that it is an 
abuse of discretion for a court to waive or defer other fees and costs at the request of an indigent person but to 
deny waiver or deferral of the sheriff’s service fee. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



                                                                                                                                                       
 
 


