In the Matter of Exemptions from Certain
Statutory Fees in Oregon Circuit Courts

CHIEF JUSTICE ORDER
No. 09-052

FROM CERTAIN STATUTORY FEES IN

)
)
) ORDER TO ESTABLISH EXEMPTIONS
)
) OREGON CIRCUIT COURTS

| HEREBY ORDER, pursuant to ORS 1.002 and Oregon Laws 2009, chapter 885, sections 37b
and 37h (HB 3199), that:

1.

Good cause has been shown that the exemptions established by this order to certain
statutory fees are needed for the equitable imposition of those fees.

Circuit Courts — Filing Fee and Additional Party Filing Fee

Oregon Laws 2009, chapter 659, section14 (HB 2287), as amended by Oregon Laws
2009, chapter 885, section 37b, amends ORS 21.110 regarding filing fees and additional
party filing fees for certain civil cases filed in circuit court. The following exemptions
apply to these fees:

a. Those actions identified in Oregon Laws 2009, chapter 885, section 37b(2),
(ORS 21.110(2) actions in which the amount claimed does not exceed $10,000)
are exempt from these fees.

b. Those actions identified in Oregon Laws 2009, chapter 885, section 37b(4),
(ORS 21.110(4) proceedings for relief from sex offender reporting under
ORS 181.823 or 181.826) are exempt from these fees.

C. A party may request from the presiding judge an exemption from the filing fee
for more than five parties hamed in the pleading. A party may request from the
presiding judge an exemption from the additional party filing fee for more than
five additional parties named in the pleading. In determining whether to grant
such exemptions, the presiding judge shall consider:

i. The severity of the hardship the fees impose on the requesting party, and

ii. Whether the number of parties named in the pleading will require
additional judicial resources to process the case.

Circuit Courts — Ex Parte Order Fee and Judgment Fee
Oregon Laws 2009, chapter 659, section 38, as amended by HB 3199, section 37h,
establishes an ex parte order fee and a judgment fee in certain circuit court civil cases.

a. The following documents are exempt from these fees:
i. Defauilt judgments.
ii. Orders for appointment of a guardian ad litem.

iii. Orders and judgments submitted by a party who has previously been
granted a waiver of fees in that case.



b. A party must pay the ex parte order fee no later than the time the party submits
the ex parte order to the court for signature by a judge.

c. A party must pay the judgment fee no later than the time the party submits the
judgment to the court for signature by a judge.

4. A person filing a third party pleading for which a fee is due under Oregon Laws 2009,
chapter 659, section 13, must pay the fee at the time the party submits the pleading for
filing. The court shall not file the pleading if the fee, a request for fee waiver or deferral,
or an exemption granted by the presiding judge is not presented with the pleading.

5. This order takes effect on October 1, 2009.

P
DATED this _2.2%day of September, 2009.

Chief Jusfice



