News & Links

Many of our documents are in Portable Document Format (PDF) and require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader Software.

Get Adobe Acrobat Reader  

Restraining and Stalking Orders

Family Abuse Prevention Act Restraining Orders are intended to provide for protection from abuse by family, household members, or someone with whom you have had a sexual relationship.  The abuse must have been committed within the last 180 days.

If you are 65 years of age or older and not a resident of a long-term care facility, you may be eligible for an Elder/Disabled Abuse Prevention Act Restraining Order.

You can get a Stalking Protective Order if you and/or a member of your immediate family or household are being stalked. Stalking is usually characterized by a pattern of intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly alarming or coercing another person, or engaging in unwanted and repeated contact.

Are you a minor (a person age 17 or younger)?  You may use the Family Abuse Prevention Act Restraining Order forms and the Stalking Protective Order forms, however, you may need to have a guardian ad litem (adult, temporary guardian) appointed for you in order to use these procedures.  There are no forms on this webpage to appoint a guardian ad litem.  You should talk to a lawyer about whether you need a guardian and how to get one.  Please refer to this website's Related Links and Community Resources section for information on lawyers and lawyer referral services.

If you want to obtain a restraining order against a juvenile, you need to contact the Department of Youth Services, Intake Services at (541) 682-4712.


Family Abuse Prevention Act Restraining Orders

A person may obtain a restraining order under the Family Abuse Prevention Act if he or she has been the subject of abuse and qualifies under Oregon law. Forms and instructions for obtaining a restraining order are available at the information booth on the second floor of the courthouse, at the Victim Services Program offices on the fourth floor of the courthouse, and are downloadable on-line.  Click on the links below to go to the Forms page.

 

Victim Services Program staff are available to help complete the restraining order forms Monday through Friday beginning at 8:00 a.m..  Please arrive by 8:30 a.m. in order to complete the restraining order application process.   Court hearings are held beginning at 10:00 a.m..
Please bring photo ID.

Instructions and Forms for:

 

Elder/Disabled Adult Abuse Prevention Act Restraining Orders

A person may obtain a restraining order under the Elder/Disabled Adult Abuse Prevention Act if he or she has been the subject of abuse and qualifies under Oregon law.  Forms and instructions for obtaining a restraining order are available at the information booth on the second floor of the courthouse, in the Victim Services Program offices on the fourth floor of the courthouse and are downloadable on-line.  Click on the links below to go to the Forms page.

Victim Services Program staff are available to help complete the necessary forms each morning beginning at 8:00 a.m. Please arrive before 9 a.m. in order to complete the restraining order application process. Hearings are held between 10 a.m. - 11 a.m.. Please bring photo ID.


Instructions and Forms for:

 

Stalking Protective Orders

A person may obtain a Stalking Protective Order if he/she or a member of the immediate family or household has been the subject of stalking and qualifies under Oregon law. Forms and instructions for obtaining a stalking order are available at the information booth on the second floor of the courthouse, in the Victim Services Program offices on the fourth floor of the courthouse and are downloadable on-line.  Click on the links below to go to the Forms page.

Instructions and Forms for: