
CHANGE  OF  NAME  INFORMATION 

 

Lincoln County Circuit Court 

PO Box 100, Newport, OR 97365 

(541) 265-4236 

 

PETITION FOR NAME CHANGE is prepared by the petitioner and filed with the 

Court. A filing fee of $105.00 is required. (Stevens-Ness form No. 1134 may be used). 

 

NOTICE OF CHANGE OF NAME HEARING is prepared by the petitioner and filed with the 

Court. The clerk will fill in a hearing date and give the petitioner a certified copy of the 

Notice to be posted in a public place. If the petition is for the change of name of a minor 

child, both custodial and non-custodial, and to any legal guardian of the child. 

(Stevens-Ness form No. 1135 may be used). 

 

AFFIDAVIT - PROOF OF POSTING NOTICE OF HEARING is prepared by petitioner prior to 

the hearing date and filed with the Court. The affidavit must be signed in front of a 

Notary Public or Court Clerk. Attach the Notice of Change of Name Hearing to the 

Affidavit. (Stevens-Ness form No. 1136 may be used). 

 

CHANGE OF NAME DECREE is prepared by petitioner and brought to Court on the hearing 

date. If the name change is allowed, the Judge will sign the decree. A certified copy of the 

decree costs $5.25 (Stevens-Ness form No. 1138 may be used) 

 

NOTICE OF CHANGE OF NAME DECREE is prepared by the petitioner after the decree is 

signed and posted in a public place for a period of time determined by the judge. 

(Stevens-Ness form No. 1139 may be used). 

 

AFFIDAVIT - POSTING NOTICE OF NAME CHANGE is prepared by the petitioner and 

signed in front of a Notary Public or Court Clerk. Attach the Notice of Name Change 

Decree to the Affidavit. (Stevens-Ness form No. 1137 may be used). 

 

If you have any further questions, you may wish to contact a lawyer. The Court Clerk cannot give 

you legal advice. If you do not have a lawyer, you may contact the Lawyer Referral 

Service of the Oregon State Bar at 1-800-452-7636. 

 

 

NOTE: The Stevens-Ness forms mentioned above are the most common and are generally 

carried by most stationers or office supply stores. Other forms, including those of 

your own creation, may also be used as long as they conform to the requirements 

of the Oregon Revised Statutes and Uniform Trial Court Rules. The statutes 

regarding name change are found in Volume 1, ORS 33.410 - 33.440. 
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