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LINN COUNTY CIRCUIT COURT 

SMALL ESTATE AFFIDAVIT 

 

 

 

When filing an Affidavit of Small Estate, there is a filing fee payable at the time you file your 

documents.  The filing fee is listed in the Fee Schedule on the Linn County Circuit Court 

website:  www.courts.oregon.gov/linn or you may check with the cashier in room 107. 

 

You will need to provide proof of identification, including your current name.  This 

identification should also include a photo and your signature. 

 

When you sign the Affidavit, you are stating that the contents are true. 

 

This packet contains the following: 

 

 Instructions for Filing Oregon Small Estate Affidavits – 5 pages 

 

 Affidavit of Claiming Successor (Small Estate Affidavit)  -  4 pages 

 

You must wait at least 30 days after the date of death to file a Small Estate Affidavit. 

Once you have purchased this packet you will need to have the original (not a photo copy) 

certified Death Certificate and if there was a Will, you must have the original (not a photo copy) 

of the Will in order to file a Small Estate. 

 

The Small Estate is opened and closed the day you file your documents.  You will be given a 

certified copy of the documents you file.  There are no Letters of Testamentary or Administration 

issued in this type of proceeding. 

 

The certified copy you are given may be photo copied.  You should retain the certified copy to 

conduct the business necessary to transfer the assets of the Estate.  If you require additional 

copies you may purchase them at any time after the filing for a fee of .25 per page and a $5.00 

certification fee. 
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Instructions for Filing Oregon Small Estate Affidavits 
 

1. ELIGIBLE ESTATES 
 
A small estate affidavit may be filed if the fair market value of the estate is $275,000 or less, and: 

 

A. Not more than $75,000 of the fair market value of the estate is from personal property, and 

 

B. Not more than $200,000 of the fair market value of the estate is from real property. 

 

“Estate” is the decedent’s property that is subject to administration by a court. 

 

“Fair market value” is the value of the property on the open market (between unrelated parties), not 

reduced to reflect debts owed against the property. 

 

“Real property” is land or interests in land, such as life estates. 

 

“Personal property” is all other property that is not real property, including contracts for the sale of real 

property, bank accounts, vehicles, and so on. 

 

The dollar limits do not include any property that transfers without probate or the small estate process 

(such as bank accounts or real property held with right of survivorship). 

 
2. DEFINITIONS THAT APPLY TO THE PROCESS 
 

A. Affiant:  The person signing this affidavit is the “affiant.”  The affiant has specific legal duties 

under ORS 114.505 to 114.560. 

 

B. Decedent:  The “decedent” is the person who died leaving an estate that needs to be paid to 

creditors or transferred to heirs or devisees. 

C. Estate:  The “estate” means all of the decedent’s property that is subject to 

administration by a court in Oregon.  This does not include property that transfers 

automatically to others following death (such as joint bank accounts). 

D. Heirs:  The “heirs” are the people who would inherit the decedent’s estate under Oregon's laws of 

intestacy, ORS 112.017 to 112.115. 

E. Devisees:  The “devisees” are the people named in the will to receive the decedent’s estate.  

Charities can also be devisees. 
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3. WHO CAN FILE 
 

A. If the decedent died intestate (did not leave a will), the heirs entitled by law to the decedent’s 

estate, or the Division of State Lands if there are no heirs. 

 

B. If the decedent died testate (with a will) the devisees of the estate. 

 

C. Any creditor of the estate who has not been paid the full amount owed within 60 days of the 

decedent’s death.  Note:  If the decedent died intestate and without heirs, a creditor cannot file without 

first receiving authorization from the Division of State Lands.  See ORS 114.520.  Check the box under 

item 1 of the affidavit indicating that you are a creditor and that the decedent died intestate and without 

heirs.  Attach your written authorization from the Division to the affidavit. 

 
4. HOW TO FILE 
 

A. Fill out the form. Do not leave any part blank.  If a part does not apply, write in “does not apply” 

or “none.” 

 

B. Have your signature notarized.  A court clerk can also certify your signature provided you sign in 

front of the clerk. 

 

C. Get a certified copy of the death certificate. 

 

D. Get the original will, if one exists.  The original will was signed by the decedent (not a copy). 

 

E. See Section 7 (below) for where to file the affidavit, death certificate, and original will (if any).  

A filing fee must be paid. 

 
5. WHEN TO FILE 
 

The affidavit cannot be filed until 30 days after the death of the decedent. 

 
6. PART 10 OF THE FORM -- WHO GETS WHAT? 
 

Part 10 of the form deals with who gets what property.  This is the interest that each heir or devisee is to 

receive from the estate.  If the decedent did not leave a will, the property passes to the heirs according to 

the laws of intestate succession.  If the decedent left a will, the property goes according to the will. 

 

Examples: 

 

A. If the decedent left no will and had the following relatives survive: 

1. A spouse but no surviving children or grandchildren:  everything would go to the spouse. 

 

2. A spouse and children: 

 

a. Everything would go to the spouse if all of the surviving children (and deceased children who left 

children) were also children of the spouse. 

 

b. Half would go to the spouse and half would go to the children if any of the surviving children (or 

deceased children who left children) were not also the children of the spouse. 
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3. No spouse but three children (no deceased children):  each child would receive one-third of the 

estate. 

 

4. No spouse but two surviving children and one deceased child who left two children:  the two 

surviving children would receive one-third each and the children of the deceased child would receive one-

sixth each (they share the deceased child’s share). 

 

B. If the decedent left a will, each person who is named to receive property would be listed, with 

the property to be received described next to each name under “property to be received.” 

 

1. If five people are to receive the estate in equal shares, then “one-fifth” should be written under 

“property to be received,” next to each name. 

 

2. If Joe Smith is to receive the decedent's house on Elm Street, that should be written in under 

“property to be received” next to Joe Smith’s name. 

 

7. WHERE TO FILE 
 

The affidavit can be filed with the circuit court for: 

 

A. The county in which the decedent died, 

 

B. Any county in which the decedent lived or had a home at death, or 

 

C. Any county in which any property of the decedent was located at death or when the affidavit is 

filed. 

 

 

 

8. DUTIES OF THE AFFIANT 
 
The affiant has the following duties under the law: 

 

Mail or deliver a copy of the affidavit showing the date of filing to the parties listed in the affidavit.  This 

must be done within 30 days after filing the affidavit. 

 

B. Take control of the property of the estate. See ORS 114.535. 

 

C. From the estate property, pay estate expenses and claims as provided in ORS 114.545(1)(c). 

 

D. After four months from the date the affidavit is filed (if no personal representative is appointed 

for the estate), the affiant should transfer the estate property to the heirs or devisees.  Before the four 

months is up, the affiant may transfer property as allowed by ORS 114.545(1)(e) and (f). 

 

E. Pay any taxes owed. 

 
9. CLAIMS AGAINST THE ESTATE 
 

See ORS 114.540. 
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10. ACCOUNTABILITY OF CLAIMING SUCCESSORS 
 

The affiant and any other claiming successor who receives property under the small estate statute are 

personally answerable and accountable: 

 

A. To estate creditors, to the extent of the value of the property received, ORS 114.545(2); 

 

B. To any personal representative appointed within four months after the affidavit is filed; ORS 

 114.545(2), 114.555; and 

 

C. To any omitted heir or devisee. 

 
11. QUESTIONS 
 

If you have questions about handling a small estate, or whether a small estate is the right process for you 

to use, you should contact a lawyer.   

 

The references to ORS in these instructions are to the Oregon Revised Statutes.  You can read these at the 

law library or find them on the internet at: www.leg.state.or.us/ors/114.html (Chapter 114) 

and www.leg.state.or.us/ors/112.html (Chapter 112). 
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IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE STATE OF OREGON 
FOR THE COUNTY OF LINN 

 
In the Matter of the Small Estate of   )   
       ) Case No. ________________ 
______________________________  )  

) AFFIDAVIT OF  
) CLAIMINGSUCCESSOR 

 Deceased.     ) (SMALL ESTATE AFFIDAVIT) 
       )      
  
STATE OF OREGON ) 
   ) ss. 
County of ________ ) 
  
 I swear that the following statements are true: 
 
1. The affiant. My name and address are:         
              
              
              
 
I have authority to file this affidavit because: [check at least one that applies] 

 

  I am an heir of the decedent, and the decedent left no will. 
 I am a devisee of the decedent under the decedent’s will. 
 I am named the personal representative under the decedent’s will. 
 I am a creditor and have not been paid the full amount owed to me within 60 days of the 

decedent’s death. Creditors must check the box that applies: 
  The decedent died intestate and without heirs. I have attached written  

authorization from the Division of State Lands allowing me to file this small estate 
proceeding; or 
 

Authorization from the Division of State Lands is not required because the 
decedent died testate or left heirs. 

 
2. The decedent. 
 
 Name: __________________ Age: ______ Soc. Sec. No.   - -  
 Home or mailing address:         
             
 Place of death:           
 

A certified copy of the death certificate is attached. 
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3. The decedent’s estate. The following property is in the decedent’s estate: 
 
Real Property [attach a legal description]    Fair Market Value 
        [maximum total value $200,000] 

             
             
             
             
 
Personal Property [PERS accounts, bank accounts, jewelry, etc.] Fair Market Value 
        [maximum total value $75,000] 

             
             
             
             
             
[“Fair market value” means the value of the property on the open market (between unrelated 
parties), not reduced to reflect debts owed against the property. Do not include property that 
transfers automatically to others following death (such as joint bank accounts).] 
 
4. Affidavit should be filed in ___________ County.  This small estate affidavit should be 
filed in __________ County because [check at least one that applies]: 
 
The decedent died in ________ County. 
At death, the decedent lived in or had a home in ________ County. 
The decedent had property located in ________ County at death or when this affidavit is filed. 
Thirty or more days have passed since the decedent died. 
 
5. No probate estate exists.  No application or petition for the appointment of a personal 
representative has been granted in Oregon. [This means that no Oregon court has opened a 
probate estate for the decedent.] 
 
6. Is there a will?  [Check the one that applies] 
 
The decedent died testate (did leave a will). The original will (not a copy) is attached. 
The decedent died intestate (did not leave a will). 
 
7. The heirs.  The heirs of the decedent, and their addresses, are: 
  
 Name of each heir  Relationship to decedent   Last-known address 
              
              
              
              
              
              



Page 3of 4 

Linn County Affidavit of Claiming Successor- Small Estate 
small estate affidavit and instructions.doc 

8. The devisees.  [This part only applies if the decedent left a will. If the decedent did not 
leave a will, write in “none.”] 
The devisees named in the decedent’s will, and their last-known addresses, are: 
 
Name of each devisee    Last-known address 
              
              
              
              
              
 
9. Notice to heirs and devisees.  I promise to give to each heir and each devisee, if any, (1) 
a copy of this affidavit showing the date of filing and (2) a copy of the will, if the decedent died 
testate. I will do this by delivering or mailing the papers to the heirs and devisees at the last-
known addresses. I will do this within 30 days after this affidavit is filed with the court. 
 
10. Who gets what?  The following people are entitled to the following property: 
 
Name of each heir or devisee    Property to be received 
              
              
              
              
              
 
[If a will exists, the will governs who gets what. If no will exists, the laws of intestacy apply (see 
the instructions). If one person is to receive the entire estate, state “entire estate” or “100% of 
residue” under “Property to be received.” If, for example, three people share the estate equally, 
state “one-third of residue” under “Property to be received.”] 
 
11. Creditors.  Reasonable efforts have been made to ascertain the creditors of the estate. 
The following expenses of or claims against the estate remain unpaid (including reimbursement 
owed to someone who paid claims or expenses): 
 
Creditor’s name  Last-known address  Type of claim & estimate or amount 
              
              
              
              
              
 [If the estate has no creditors, write in “none.”] 
 
12. Disputed claims.  I, as affiant, dispute the following claims against the estate: 
 
Creditor’s name  Last-known address  Type of claim & estimate or amount 
              
              
              
              
 [If the estate has no creditors, write in “none.”] 
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13. Notice to creditors.  I promise to give each creditor listed in parts 11 and 12 above a 
copy of this affidavit showing the date of filing. I will do this by delivering or mailing the papers to 
the creditor at the last-known address. I will do this within 30 days after this affidavit is filed with 
the court. 
 
14. Notice to Estate Administration.  Within 30 days after this affidavit is filed with the court, I 
promise to mail a copy of the affidavit showing the date of filing to each of the following: 
 
 Department of Human Services    Oregon Health Authority 
 Estate Administration Unit     500 Summer Street NE E20 
 PO Box 14021       Salem, Oregon 97301  
 Salem, Oregon  97309-5024 
 
15. Claims may be barred.  Some claims against the estate may be barred unless specific 
things happen. 
 
a.  Claims against the estate not listed in this affidavit or in amounts larger than those listed 
in this affidavit may be barred unless: 
 
1) A claim is presented to the affiant within four months of the filing of the affidavit at the 
address stated in part 1 of this affidavit; or 
 
2) A personal representative of the estate is appointed within the time allowed under ORS 
114.555. 
 
b. If this affidavit lists one or more claims which the affiant disputes, any such claim may be 
barred unless: 
 
1) A petition for summary determination is filed within four months of the filing of this 
affidavit; or 
 
2)  A personal representative of the estate is appointed within the time allowed under ORS 
114.555. 
 
I have read this affidavit. The statements it contains are true and correct to the best of my 
knowledge. 
 
              
       Affiant 
       Telephone Number: (      )     
 
 
 
Signed and sworn to before me on       , 20 . 
 
    
              
       Notary Public/Deputy Court Clerk 
    
 

 


