
Set Aside Info 2013 – Revised 10/1/13 
 

Setting Aside/Expunction of Arrest or Conviction 

IMPORTANT NOTE:  THE FOLLOWING MATERIAL IS FOR INFORMATIONAL 
PURPOSES ONLY.  IT IS NOT INTENDED TO REPLACE LEGAL ADVISE FROM AN 
ATTORNEY.  AN ATTORNEY CAN ANSWER QUESTIONS FOR YOU AND PREPARE 
ANY DOCUMENTS YOU NEED. 

If you chose to prepare your own documents, please read Oregon Revised Statute 137.225 to 
decide if your arrest or conviction can be expunged.  Oregon laws are available at libraries or 
online at www.leg.state.or.us/ors/ 

What type of arrests and convictions can be set aside? 

• C Felonies except for Criminally Negligent Homicide, Criminal Mistreatment in 
the first degree when it would constitute child abuse (ORS 163.205) or any sex 
crime. 

• B Felonies except convictions for ORS 166.429 (firearms used in a felony or a 
person felony) may file a petition 20 years after the date of conviction or date of 
release from imprisonment whichever is later. 

• Possession of marijuana when that crime was punishable as a felony only. 
• Crimes that could be punished as either a felony or misdemeanor at the 

discretion of the Court except for sex crimes, Criminal Mistreatment in the First 
Degree and Endangering the Welfare of a minor. 

• Misdemeanors, except for Endangering the Welfare of a Minor when it is child 
abuse (ORS 163.575(1)(a)) 

• Violations 
• Offenses that were committed before January 1, 1972 which the present law 

would classify as an offense eligible for expunction. 
• Arrests for traffic offenses which do not result in conviction, except for Driving 

Under the Influence of Intoxicant charges resulting in dismissal upon successful 
completion of diversion. 

What type of arrests and convictions cannot be set aside? 

• Unclassified felonies, A felonies and B felonies except for marijuana possession as 
set out above. B felonies convictions for ORS 166.429 (firearms used in a felony 
or a person felony).  

• Convictions for state or municipal traffic offenses, including Driving Under the 
Influence of Intoxicant and Driving While Suspended. 

 When can an arrest or conviction be set aside? 

• Convictions:  If you have not been convicted of any other crime within the past 
ten years, you may move to set aside your arrest and conviction any time after 
three years from the date of judgment of conviction so long as you are no longer 
on probation or post-prison supervision (including convictions for conduct 
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associated with the same criminal act that caused the arrest or conviction 
sought to be set aside more than one crime/conviction in one case). If you have 
more than one conviction, you must wait 10 years, from the date of the Judgment 
so long as you are no longer on probation or post prison supervision.   

• Arrests:  If you have not been arrested for any other crime except for motor 
vehicle offenses within the past three years, you can move to set aside your arrest 
any time after one year of the arrest if no accusatory instrument was filed, or any 
time after acquittal or dismissal of the charge, except that if you were wanted, 
that time is not included in the one year time period.  

What will you need to file? 

To Set Aside Convictions:  

• $252.00 Filing fee.  
• Fingerprint card required. 
• Money order for $80 payable to Oregon State Police. 

(http://www.oregon.gov/OSP/ID/Expungments 
• Motion to set aside conviction 
• Affidavit to set aside conviction 
• Order to set aside conviction. 
• Complete set of the above paperwork including the fingerprint card 

and $80 to OSP for service upon the District Attorney who 
prosecuted the crime or violation, or had authority to prosecute in 
the case of arrests without charges. 

• To Set Aside Arrest:  
• No filing fee required. 
• Fingerprint card required (no $80 fee to OSP) 
• Motion to Set Aside Arrest 
• Affidavit to Set Aside Arrest  
• Order Setting Aside  Arrest with information completed 
• Complete set of the above paperwork including the fingerprint card 

for service upon the District Attorney who prosecuted the crime or 
violation, or had authority to prosecute in the case of arrests without 
charges. 

Will there be a hearing before the Court? 

If your conviction was for a crime with a victim, the District Attorney will notify your 
victim and a hearing date will be set.  You will receive a notice from the Court of the date and 
time.  Be sure the Court has your current address! 
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When can the Court refuse to grant my motion to set aside? 

If the Court finds by clear and convincing evidence that granting your motion would not 
be in the best  interests of  justice, the Court can deny your motion if you otherwise qualify if 
your conviction is for any of the following:  Abandonment of a Child (ORS 163.535), Attempted 
Assault in the Second Degree (ORS 163.165), Coercion (ORS 163.275) Criminal Mistreatment in 
the First Degree (ORS 163.205), Attempted Escape in the First Degree (ORS 162.165), Incest 
(ORS 163.525 if the victim was at least 18 years old, Intimidation in the First Degree (ORS 
166.165), Attempted Kidnapping in the Second Degree (ORS 163.225),  Attempted Robbery in 
the Second Degree (ORS 164.405), Robbery in the Third Degree (ORS.164.395 and Unlawful 
Use of a Weapon (ORS 166.220). 

How long will this take? 

 It may take as long as six weeks, especially if a hearing is necessary. 

If you have any questions, consult an attorney.  We cannot give you legal advice. 


