News & Links

Many of our documents are in Portable Document Format (PDF) and require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader Software.

Get Adobe Acrobat Reader  

Jury Frequently Asked Questions

Why is jury service required?

The right to a jury trial in certain cases is guaranteed in our constitution. A person who is entitled to a jury trial is entitled to a jury that represents the full community. It is important that a fair cross-section of community be represented on the jury to prevent discrimination, including discrimination based on race, religion, sex, national origin, age or economic status. That is why the judges of the Third Judicial District have instituted policies to excuse jurors in only limited circumstances.

How long is jury service?

Each juror is required to report on the day he or she is summoned. The term of service will be only for that day, unless the juror is chosen for a trial that lasts longer than a day. In that event, service will be just for that trial. If a juror is summoned for grand jury, the term of service is two weeks.

What is the difference between a regular jury and a grand jury?

Most jurors serve on a trial, which may be civil or criminal, to decide the facts of the case based on the evidence presented. A grand jury is different. Grand jurors listen to evidence presented by the Office of the District Attorney to determine if a person should be indicted (charged) with a crime.

Who is qualified to serve as a juror?

To serve as a juror, a person must be a citizen of the United States, a resident of Marion County and 18 years of age or older. Citizens 70 years of age or older are encouraged to serve but will be excused upon request.

What if a medical or other condition makes it difficult to serve?

A juror who wishes to be excused based on a medical condition may submit a doctor's letter to the jury office.  The court will provide ADA accommodation and assistive devices upon request of jurors with disabilities.  Please notify the jury coordinator of special needs.  Hearing impaired callers may use the Oregon Relay Service phone number 711.

Will I get paid for reporting for jury service?

Yes. Each juror will be paid $10 per day and 20¢ per mile for round-trip mileage from their home. Jurors are entitled to $25 per day for the third and subsequent days of service.

What if my boss doesn't want me to serve?

Oregon law provides that your employer may not discharge, threaten to discharge, intimidate or coerce you by reason of your service as a juror.  Please report any such problems to the court, which has jurisdiction to prevent or restrain any such violations.

Does that mean my employer must pay me while I serve as a juror?

Not necessarily. Your employer's policies or agreements with you regarding payment of wages during times of jury service are not affected by the Oregon law which prevents your employer from discharging, threatening to discharge, intimidating or coercing you because of your service as a juror.

Can I change the date I am required to report?

Yes. If you are unable to report on the day stated on your summons, you may ask that service be deferred.  You may only defer jury duty for up to one year. This request should be made within ten days of when you receive your summons.

How do I confirm that I'm required to report?

The day before you are required to report, please call 588-5371 after 5:00 p.m. and listen to the recorded message. The trial you have been summoned for may have been settled or dismissed, and you may not be required to report.

What about transportation and parking?

On the day of jury service you may use your free bus pass received with your summons on any Cherriots bus, for transportation to and from the Courthouse.  For details about routes and park and ride lots, visit http://www.cherriots.org/.  Or, you may use the free parking permit received with your summons to park on the roof level of the Marion Parkade, located near the intersection of Marion and High streets in downtown Salem. 

What should I bring when I report?

You may bring something to read or occupy your time in case you have to wait. The court provides free wireless Internet access for jurors to use in the jury assembly room.

What should I NOT bring when I report?

Items such as knives, chemical sprays, knitting needles, recording devices and cameras are not allowed inside the courthouse. Cell phones are permitted.

When will I get to eat lunch if I am required to serve?

Usually, lunch is from noon until 1:30 p.m. Occasionally, a judge may change the schedule for purposes of the trial. You may bring lunch, water bottles and coffee with you if you would like. Lunch is not provided.

What if I fail to appear on the day I am summoned?

The Court has the power to order that you appear in Court and explain why you were unable to report for jury service. Citizens who don't appear for jury service may be punished for contempt.

What should I wear when I report?

Court rules require anyone in court to dress and act with respect. This includes court staff, attorneys, parties to a case, jurors, witnesses and the public. The Court can remove people from the courtroom who do not dress or act with respect. See UTCR Chapter 3 on dress code. 

Contact:
Jury Office

Phone: 503.588.5371

Address:
100 High St. NE
(Take elevator to 5th floor)
Salem, Oregon 97301

Office Hours:
7:30 am - 4:30 pm
Monday - Friday