Helpful Links

Many of our documents are in portable Document Format (PDF)and require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader Software.

Get Adobe Acrobat Reader

Finding Legal Help and Resources

Brochures and Booklets
Attorney Help
Other Help
Family Court Services
Child Support Services
Domestic Violence Services

Brochures and Booklets

Back to Top

Attorney Help

  • No-Cost Advice and Document Review by an Attorney
    • 503-988-4003. For confidential sessions at the courthouse with volunteer attorneys, apply at Legal Aid at 503-224-4086.
      Must meet income eligibility requirements.
  • Low-Cost Advice and Document Review by an Attorney
    • St. Andrew's Legal Clinic. $150. Confidential session with an attorney that includes up to 2 hours of advice and/or help with court forms or other documents: Ask for the Limited Service Program. No income eligibility requirements. 503-281-1500.
    • Lawyer Referral Program. Initial consultation with attorney - $35. Attorneys are also available for limited service, coaching, and document review. Request form is available at the Oregon State Bar's (OSB's) Hiring a Lawyer page. 503- 684-3763 or 1-800-452-7636.
    • Modest Means Program. Initial consultation with attorney for $35. Additional services at reduced fees based on client income and assets. Application required, available at the OSB's Hiring a Lawyer page. 503-684-3763 or 1-800-452-7636.
  • Full Representation by an Attorney
    • Multnomah County Legal Aid
      Must meet income eligibility requirements. Case-type limitations apply. 503-224-4086.
    • Lewis and Clark Law School Legal Clinic
      Must meet income eligibility requirements. Case-type limitations apply. 503-768-6500.
    • St. Andrew's Legal Clinic
      Sliding scale. 503-281-1500.
    • Oregon State Bar (OSB)
      Lawyer Referral Program. For the name of a family law lawyer in your area. Request form available at the OSB's Hiring a Lawyer page. 503- 684-3763 or 1-800-452-7636.
      Modest Means Program. Reduced fees based on client income and assets. Application required, available at the OSB's Hiring a Lawyer page. 503-684-3763 or 1-800-452-7636.
  • Pro Bono (no cost) Attorney Help in Protective Order Hearings
  • Other
    Many attorney names and specialties are listed in the yellow pages of the phone book or on-line. Friends and family may also be referral sources.

Back to Top

Other Help

  • At the Multnomah County Courthouse
    • Procedural help and many family law forms are available from staff at the Multnomah County Courthouse. Individuals can apply in Room 211, at the Family Court Self-Help Center of the Multnomah County Courthouse. 503-988-4003.
  • Online / Websites
    • Oregon Courts. On the right side under Popular Links, click on the Family and Children link, then on a topic listed on the left side of the page.
      This website is operated by the Oregon Judicial Department (OJD) and has family law information and forms.
    • OregonLawHelp.org
      This website has information on many family law issues available in English, Spanish, Russian, and Vietnamese.
    • Oregon State Bar (OSB)
      This website provides general information on family law matters as well as links and resources.

Back to Top

Family Court Services

  • Multnomah County Courthouse
    Department of Community Justice, Room 350, 503-988-3189
    • Mediation about custody and parenting time issues
    • Evaluations (recommendations) about custody and parenting time issues
  • Juvenile Justice Center
    1401 NE 68th Ave, 503-988-3460
    • Abused or neglected children
    • State's Child Abuse Reporting Hotline 503-731-3100
    • Delinquent (law violating) children
  • Department of Community Justice
    Parent Education Classes 503-988-3037

Back to Top

Child Support Services

  • Oregon Department of Justice
    Division of Child Support 503-229-5706
    1515 SW 5th Avenue, Room 415,
    (Children on TANF (Temporary Assistance for Needy Families) program, on Oregon Health Plan, in foster care, or in Oregon Youth Authority custody)
  • Multnomah County District Attorney
    Support Enforcement Division 503/988-3150
    1120 SW 5th Avenue, Suite 1530
    (Children with no state involvement)

Back to Top

Domestic Violence Services

 


The staff of the Family Court can provide procedural help but not legal advice. Resources for persons who do not have attorneys can be found in Q/A no.3 on the FAQs page, on the Finding Legal Help page, and on the Oregon Judicial Department (OJD) Family Law statewide website. Check the Helpful Links on the left side of this page, too.

Alerts and Em. Closures