Eligibility for Jury Service in Multnomah County

You are eligible to be a juror in Multnomah County if you live in Multnomah County, are a U.S. citizen, and are at least 18 years of age.

You are not eligible to be a juror if you have reported for jury duty in a state or federal court in Oregon within the previous 24 months, even if you were not called to a courtroom or selected for a jury.

You are not eligible to serve on any jury if you have been convicted of a felony and on the day you are to report for jury duty, you are 1) in state prison, or 2) in county jail as a condition of a suspended sentence.

If you are not eligible to be a juror for one of these reasons, you should check the appropriate box in section 1 on the Juror Eligibility Form that came with your summons, sign the declaration and mail it back to the court.

Also, you may not be eligible to serve on a grand jury or on a trial jury in a criminal case if you have been convicted of certain types of crimes. Even if you are not eligible to serve on a grand jury or a trial jury in a criminal case, you may still be eligible to serve as a trial juror in a civil case. If you have been convicted of a crime, please read this section carefully. Use this information when you fill out section 2 on the Juror Eligibility Form that came with your summons.

You are not eligible to serve on a grand jury or criminal trial jury if you were (1) convicted of a felony; or (2) served a sentence for a felony conviction within the fifteen years before the date you are to report for jury duty. A “sentence” includes any incarceration (jail or prison), and any probation, parole or post-prison supervision.

You are not eligible to serve on a grand jury or a criminal trial jury if you were (1) convicted of a misdemeanor involving violence or dishonesty; or (2) served a sentence for a conviction for a misdemeanor involving violence or dishonesty within the five years before the date you are to report for jury duty. A "sentence" includes any incarceration (jail) and any probation.

Oregon law provides that "the opportunity for jury service shall not be denied or limited on the basis of race, national origin, gender, age, religious belief, income, occupation or any other factor that discriminates against a cognizable group in this state". A person who is blind, hearing or speech impaired or physically disabled shall not be ineligible to act as a juror, or be excluded from a juror list on the basis of their impairment. See Jurors with Disabilities page.


Alerts and Em. Closures