Skip to Main Content
Multnomah County Courthouse - Downtown Portland

Welcome to Oregon's 4th Judicial District

OJD Courts ePay Logo Image

Odyssey File & Serve Downtime
After 5:00PM October 27, 2014 to 8:00AM October 28, 2014

Electronic filing into 11 Oregon circuit courts will be temporarily unavailable on Monday, October 27, beginning after 5:00 p.m., when the Oregon Judicial Department will be upgrading the File & Serve system software. eFiling services are expected to resume no later than 8:00 a.m. on Tuesday, October 28. The provisions of UTCR 21.080(6) (relation back to date of attempted eFiling) apply during this period. Please refer to CJO 14-049.

For attorneys attempting to use File & Serve through the OJD web page, the “Start Now” button will be disabled. Attorneys attempting to use File & Serve through the Tyler Technologies web page will see a temporary page advising them that the File & Serve system is down for maintenance.
When File & Serve is restored, OJD expects that attorneys will be able to eFile subsequent documents into restricted case types, which was suspended on October 1, 2014. The restricted case types generally include adoption, juvenile dependency and delinquency, civil commitment, and punitive contempt and protective orders related to the federal Violence Against Women Act. Please note that UTCR 21.070(3) continues to require that certain documents be filed conventionally.

File & Serve will continue to mask names and other information about parties and participants in searches involving those restricted case types.

Multnomah County was created on December 22, 1854. The county was named after the Multnomah Indians who were part of the Chinookan tribe that lived on the eastern tip of what is now Sauvie Island in the Columbia River. The first courthouse was built in 1866. Expanding county business required the addition of a north wing in 1885 and a south wing in 1889. In 1914 a new courthouse was completed.

The 1981 Legislative Assembly joined, county funded, Oregon's district and circuit courts into a unified state-funded court system. Effective January 1, 1983, the courts operate under the constitutional authority of the Oregon Judicial Department (OJD). Effective January 15, 1998, the legislature abolished the district courts, merged their judges and jurisdiction with the circuit courts to form a single, unified trial court level. Municipal, justice and county courts continue as limited jurisdiction tribunals outside of the state-funded court system and are not subject to its administrative control and oversight. There are 27 judicial districts, composed of one or more counties.



Alerts and Em. Closures