
SETTING ASIDE AN ARREST 

Oregon Revised Statute ORS 137.225 allows some types of records to be erased from a person’s 

Computerized Criminal History (CCH).  You are encouraged to read this statute to help you decide 

if you qualify to have an item taken off your record.   

 

You may qualify to have an arrest removed from your record if: 

 You were arrested and no charge was ever filed against you.  (You must wait one year from 

the date of arrest to be eligible to set aside the arrest.) 

 A charge was filed, but it was dismissed or you were acquitted.  (You may apply to set aside 

an arrest at any time after dismissal or acquittal.) 

 You have not been arrested for any other offense, excluding motor vehicle violations, 

within the 3-year period immediately preceding the filing of your motion. 

 You have not been convicted of another offense (excluding motor vehicle violations) within 

the 10-year period immediately preceding the filing of your motion. 

 

 

If you feel your arrest qualifies under Oregon Law (ORS 137.225) to be set aside, you need to 

complete the following: 

 Fill out a Motion, Affidavit and Order to Set Aside Arrest.  These are available at many 

stationary stores and the Court’s website at http://www.ojd.state.or.us/til/index.html  

 Get fingerprinted at the Civil Department of the Sheriff’s Office.  You need to be 

fingerprinted for the purpose of setting aside arrest on a special “Applicant Form,” even if you 

were fingerprinted at the time of your arrest. 

 Give the completed Motion and Affidavit that has your actual signature on it to the Court.  

Also give the court the Order to Set Aside Arrest that you have filled out for the judge’s signature. 

 Give a copy of the same Motion, Affidavit and Order to the District Attorney. 

 Give the completed fingerprint card to the District Attorney. 

 

 

 

 

http://www.ojd.state.or.us/til/index.html


You may either mail the paperwork or take it to each of the offices in person. 

 Tillamook County Circuit Court  Tillamook County District Attorney’s Office 

 201 Laurel Avenue    201 Laurel Avenue 

 Tillamook, OR 97141    Tillamook, OR 97141 

When the District Attorney’s Office receives your paperwork and fingerprint card they will be sent 

to the Oregon State Police Identification Bureau in Salem and processed.  The ID Bureau will 

provide the District Attorney with a copy of your CCH and the results of a comprehensive check 

that will indicate if you qualify to have your arrest removed from your record.  The District 

Attorney will not know whether or not a record can be set aside until your CCH is received from 

Salem. 

 

 

If the District Attorney determines that your arrest is eligible to be set aside, the court will be 

notified that the District Attorney does not oppose your Motion.  Your Motion, Affidavit and Order 

will then be submitted to a judge for signature.  Once the judge has signed the Order, the arrest 

shall be deemed not to have occurred, and you may answer accordingly any questions relating to 

its occurrence.  The Court will send a copy of the signed Order to the ID Bureau and the arrest 

record will be sealed. 

 

 

If the District Attorney determines that your arrest is not eligible to be set aside, the court will be 

notified that the District Attorney opposes your Motion.  The court will then set a hearing on the 

matter.  You will be notified of the hearing date and be given the opportunity to appear before a 

judge.  If your Motion is denied by the judge at the hearing, the arrest will remain on your CCH. 

 

 

The District Attorney’s Office cannot provide legal advice or assist you in filling out the paperwork.  

However, if you have a general question, you may call this office at (503) 842-2596.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


