Skip to Main Content

Restraining Orders

Family Abuse Prevention Act Restraining Orders (FAPA) are intended to provide for protection from abuse by family, household members, or someone with whom you have had a sexual relationship. The abuse must have been committed within the last 180 days unless the abuser has been incarcerated or has lived more than 100 miles from you.If you are 65 years of age or older or a disabled person, you may be eligible for an Elderly Persons and Persons With Disabilities Abuse Prevention Act Restraining Order (EPPWDAPA).  

 

Family Abuse Prevention Act Restraining Orders (FAPA)

A person may obtain a restraining order under the Family Abuse Prevention Act if he or she has been the subject of abuse and qualifies under Oregon law.  Forms and instructions for obtaining a restraining order are available below and at the Washington County Restraining Order Advocacy Program located across the street from the Washington County courthouse.  The address is 180 East Main Street, Suite 200, Hillsboro, Oregon.  The program consists of advocates who will provide the necessary forms and assist in completing them.  Their office is open from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, and their telephone number is 503-906-1221. Your forms must be completed by 10:30 a.m. to see the judge the same day at 1:00.  You will need to bring photo ID.  
 

VIDEOS

Watch these informative videos from our Domestic Relations Judge, Judge Keith Raines.

English:
Obtaining a Restraining Order in Washington County temporary protective orders
Preparing for Your Contested Restraining Order Hearing in Washington County Protective Order Hearing

Spanish:
Obtener una Orden de Restricción en el Condado de Washington temporary protective orders
La Audiencia para Disputar una Orden de Restricción en el Condado de Washington: Cómo Prepararse Protective Order Hearing

 

FORMS

FAPA

Obtaining a Restraining Order

Instructions for Obtaining a FAPA
Petition for Restraining Order to Prevent Abuse
Restraining Order to Prevent Abuse
UTCR2.130-Petitioners
UTCR2.130-Respondents
UTCR2.130.3-Notice
Declaration of Proof of Service
Instructions to Contest a Restraining Order
Notice to Respondent/Request for Hearing
Order After Hearing

Petitioner’s Motion to Dismiss a Restraining Order

Petitioner’s Motion and Order of Dismissal
UTCR2.130-Petitioners
UTCR2.130-Respondents
UTCR2.130.3-Notice

 

Modifying a Restraining Order

Instructions for Modifying (Changing) a Restraining Order
Motion, Affidavit and Order to Show Cause
UTCR2.130-Petitioners
UTCR2.130-Respondents
UTCR2.130.3-Notice
Declaration of Proof of Service
Order After Hearing

Renewing a Restraining Order

Instructions for Renewing a Restraining Order
Petition to Renew Restraining Order
Order Renewing Restraining Order
UTCR2.130-Petitioners
UTCR2.130-Respondents
UTCR2.130.3-Notice
Notice to Respondent/Request for Hearing
Declaration of Proof of Service
Order After Hearing

  

Renewing a Restraining Order as a Former Protect Child  

Instructions for Renewing a Restraining Order as a Former Protected Child

Petition to Renew Restraining Order as a Former Protected Child

Confidential Information Form (CIF) for Petitioner (Former Protected Child)

Confidential Information Form (CIF) for Respondent

Notice of Filing Confidential Information Form (CIF) for Respondent

Order Renewing a Restraining Order as a Former Protected Child

Certificate of Mailing to Original Petitioner

Declaration of Service to Respondent

Notice to Respondent Request for Hearing

Petitioner's (Former Protected Child) Motion and Affidavit for Dismissal and Order Dismissing Restraining Order Re: Former Protected Child

Order After Hearing

  

Elder/Disabled Adult Abuse Prevention Act Restraining Orders (EPPWDAPA)

A person may obtain a restraining order under the Elder/Disabled Adult Abuse Prevention Act if he or she has been the subject of abuse and is at 65 years of age or older or a person with disabilities as described by Oregon law. Forms and instructions with eligibility requirements for obtaining a restraining order are available below and at the Washington County Restraining Order Advocacy Program located in the Washington County Courthouse in the Center for Victim's Services at 150 N 1st Avenue, Hillsboro, Oregon.  The program consists of advocates who will provide the necessary forms and assist in completing them.  The advocate’s office is open from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.  Their telephone number is 503-846-3830.Your forms must be completed by 10:30 a.m. to see the judge the same day at 1:00.  You will need to bring photo ID.

FORMS

Obtaining an Elder/Disabled Restraining Order

Instructions
Petition for Obtaining an Elderly or Disabled Adult Restraining Order
Restraining Order to Prevent Abuse of Elderly or Disabled Adult
Notice to Respondent and Request for Hearing
Declaration of Proof of Service
Notice to Elderly or Disabled Person

Dismissing a Restraining Order

Petitioner's Motion and Order of Dismissal

Renewing a Restraining Order

Instructions to Renew Restraining Order
Petition to Renew
Order to Renew
Notice to Respondent and Request for Hearing
Declaration of Proof of Service
Notice to Elderly or Disabled Person

Restraining Order to Stop Sweepstakes Mailings to Elderly or Disabled Adults

Instructions for Obtaining a Sweepstakes Restraining Order
Petition for Obtaining an Elderly or Disabled Adult Sweepstakes Restraining Order
Restraining Order to Prevent Sweepstakes Mailings

Notice to Respondent and Request for Hearing
Declaration of Proof of Service
Certificate of Service by Mail
Notice to Elderly or Disabled Person

Dismissing a Sweepstakes Restraining Order

Petitioner's Motion and Order of Dismissal of Sweepstakes Restraining Order