Skip to Main Content
Justices of the Oregon Supreme Court

Oregon Supreme Court

The Supreme Court is the highest court in the Oregon judicial branch. The court has seven elected justices. They choose one of their own to serve a six-year term as Chief Justice. The only court that may reverse or modify a decision of the Oregon Supreme Court is the United States Supreme Court.

For a more detailed description of the Supreme Court, see An Introduction to the Courts of Oregon and the State of the Courts Address. For information on fees, transcripts, appellate case processing, and sample forms, see Appellate Court Records.

If you are looking for information on a pending case, please note that the court does not announce more than one day in advance when it will issue an opinion. You can find the opinions and any announcements about opinions the court expects to issue the next day on the Opinions page. For other information on pending cases, please contact Appellate Court Records.



On August 3, 2015, the Oregon Judicial Department began an exterior rehabilitation project on the Supreme Court Building to address public safety and building preservation issues.The project has now reached substantial completion status. The need for some additional repairs to the southwest corner of the building was discovered, which involves ordering additional terra cotta tiles. As the lead time for the terra cotta tiles is quite lengthy, the additional repair work is expected to take place in June 2016. Only a small section of the scaffolding remains along the southwest corner of the building. See progress photos of the project.