
Small Claims – Plaintiff’s Instructions Page 1 of 10  05-77   (01/24)

SMALL CLAIMS INSTRUCTIONS FOR PLAINTIFFS 

Small claims are filed to resolve disputes without a lawyer. Court staff cannot give legal advice. 
You may talk to a lawyer at any time for help with your claim, but lawyers are not allowed to 
participate in small claims hearings without the judge’s permission. 

➢ The amount claimed (including the value of property) must be $10,000 or less.
o If you are claiming money and property worth more than $10,000, you cannot file a

Small Claim. Go to www.courts.oregon.gov, or see a lawyer for advice.

o Claims for more than $750 and up to $10,000 can be filed in either Small Claims or
general civil court. Lawyers can represent you in general civil court.

o Claims for $750 or less must be filed in Small Claims court. An exception allows these
claims to be filed in general civil court if the law you are suing under specifically
allows lawyer fees to be awarded. Talk to a lawyer for more information if you think
you are entitled to recover lawyer’s fees and want to file a claim for $750 or less in
general civil court.

➢ If you are filing the claim, you are the plaintiff; the party you are suing is the defendant.
This does not change throughout the case. Ignore the ‘Inmate ID”.

➢ Ignore the (Inmate SID#) unless you are an inmate. If so, use the “Small Claims Instruction
for Inmate Plaintiffs.”

➢ You must make a “bona fide” (good faith) effort to collect your claim from the defendant
before you file. Your claim form must include a declarative statement that you tried to
resolve the issue before you filed a claim.

➢ To start a case, fill out the Small Claim and Notice of Small Claim form located on
our website at https://www.courts.oregon.gov/courts/multnomah and pay the filing fee.
o If you are asking for money damages, you must itemize and prove your actual loss.

Guesses or rough estimates are not good enough. Written professional estimates may
sometimes be appropriate, such as claims for repair costs to a home or vehicle.

▪ Do not request a lump sum where itemized costs are involved. For example,
do not claim “damage to my house: $4,000.” Instead, list the individual costs
–“Drywall repair $800; Plumbing replacement $1,000; Roof repair $2,000;
Repainting $200.”

o Fill in the party names on the Defendant’s Response form. Fill in the Plaintiff and
Defendant information on the top of page 1.

o You must fill in the amount of the defendant’s filing fees on the Notice page. Go to
https://www.courts.oregon.gov/courts/multnomah to get the current defendant’s
filing fees. 

o Your claim must include your filing fee. Go to
https://www.courts.oregon.gov/courts/multnomah

o to get the current plaintiff’s filing fee. (See below for information about having your
fees deferred or waived).

o Bring the Claim and Notice and Response forms to the court with your filing fee.

If these instructions do not answer your questions, you can call the Oregon State 
Bar 503.684.3763, or go to www.osbar.org. The website www.courts.oregon.gov 
has several useful resources including links to the Oregon Revised Statutes and 
Oregon Administrative Rules. You may also contact your local Legal Aid Office 
503.224.4086. The court clerk may answer questions about filing procedures, but 
cannot give legal advice. 

http://www.courts.oregon.gov/
https://www.courts.oregon.gov/courts/multnomah
https://www.courts.oregon.gov/courts/multnomah
https://www.courts.oregon.gov/courts/multnomah
http://www.osbar.org/
http://www.courts.oregon.gov/
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o The clerk will give you your copy of the Claim and Notice along with the Response
form to include when you serve the defendant (see below for information about
serving the defendant)

➢ PRINT CLEARLY! Write all names first, middle, last.

➢ ALWAYS provide written updates to the court if your phone number or address changes.

WHERE DO YOU FILE? 
You may file a claim in Multnomah County if: 

➢ At least one defendant lives or can be found in Multnomah County at the time you file this
claim OR

➢ The damage, claim, or injury occurred in Multnomah County OR

➢ Where the defendant was supposed to perform an act under the contract (if your claim is
based on a contract) in Multnomah County.

You may file your claim in the Customer Service area on the second floor, Room 02100, at the 
Multnomah County Courthouse, 1200 SW First Avenue, Portland, Oregon 97204. You may also file 
your claim at the East County Courthouse located at 18480 SE Stark Street, Portland, Oregon 
97233.

When you file, the clerk will give you a case number. Put this number at the top of page 1 of each 
document (where the form says “Case Number") and all attachments. 

WHO SHOULD YOU NAME AS A DEFENDANT? 
When you file a claim, the names of all defendants must be complete and correct. Use the name 
the defendant used at the time your claim first arose. For example, if your contract is with “Easy 
Pay Way”, but it is now out of business and you are suing the owners, name BOTH Easy Pay Way 
and the owners John Smith and Angela Smith. 
You may name as a defendant: 

➢ An individual person (be sure the spelling is correct and use full, formal names – use “John
Smith and Angela Smith” instead of “Mr. & Mrs. Smith”)

➢ An individual “Doing Business As” a different name (you must use both the individual’s
name and write “dba [the other name],” see next section)

➢ A legal entity such as a corporation or LLC (you must also have the name of the Registered
Agent, see next section). Call the Oregon Corporation Division at 503.986.2200 or go to
www.filinginoregon.com to get this information. Be sure you have the full, proper name and
any initials of the entity (like “Inc.” or “LLC”).

It is up to you to get this information. The court cannot do it for you. 

Filing a Small Claim FOR a Business or AGAINST a Business 
If you are filing a claim against a business, check with the Oregon Corporation Division at 
503.986.2200 or www.filinginoregon.com to obtain information about the legal entity or Assumed 
Business Name. 

http://www.filinginoregon.com/
http://www.filinginoregon.com/
http://www.filinginoregon.com/
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➢ IF THE DEFENDANT IS A LEGAL ENTITY SUCH AS A CORPORATION,
LLC, OR PC

Use the entity's full name and address, and include the name and address of the Registered Agent 
for the entity. The Registered Agent is the person who will actually be served with the copy of your 
claim. All entities must have a registered agent for this purpose. You must serve the proper 
Registered Agent or your service will not be complete. 

EASY PAY WAY, INC. Serve Registered Agent: John Brown 
654 6th Ave 711 Bank Building 
Hillsboro, OR 97123 Portland, OR 97225 

➢ IF THE DEFENDANT USES AN ASSUMED BUSINESS NAME (dba) - LIKE A
PARTNERSHIP

Name all the partners that you know of “dba (doing business as) [the business name]” as 
defendants. You must serve each partner (also called a “party of interest” or “owner”) with a copy of 
the claim and a Response form. 

John Way & Carol Smith Be sure you clearly show where 
dba WAY’S EASY PAY each partner is to be served 
654 6th Ave 
Hillsboro, OR 97123 

➢ IF THE DEFENDANT IS A LEGAL ENTITY THAT OPERATES UNDER AN
ASSUMED BUSINESS NAME

Use the entity's full name, then state the assumed business name and address for the entity. Then 
state the name and address of the Registered Agent. 

EASY PAY WAY, INC Serve Registered Agent: John Brown 
dba Way’s Easy Pay 711 Bank Building 
654 6th Ave Portland, OR 97225 
Hillsboro, OR 97123 

➢ IF THE DEFENDANT IS A PUBLIC BODY
“Public Body” is defined in Oregon Revised Statutes 
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors030.html and means more than just 
government agencies. Use the defendant’s full name. Do NOT use acronyms or abbreviations. 
Make sure you use the current name of the defendant. 

➢ IF THE PLAINTIFF IS A COMPANY
Follow the same rules about names if you are filing a claim for a business. If you are a company, 
show your legal entity's name as the plaintiff. If you are a partnership or a sole proprietorship, 
name the owner or owners “dba [your assumed business name].” 

FEES 
The filing fee may be paid by cash, credit or debit card, or by check or money order made payable 
to the State of Oregon. Go to https://www.courts.oregon.gov/courts/multnomah for filing fee 
information. 

If you cannot pay the filing fee, you can fill out a Fee Deferral or Waiver Application and 
Declaration. If your fees are waived you do not have to pay. If your fees are deferred you will have 
to pay according to the court’s instructions. For instructions and forms go to: 
https://www.courts.oregon.gov/courts/multnomah and click on the "Material and Resources" 
tab. 

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors030.html
https://www.courts.oregon.gov/courts/multnomah
https://www.courts.oregon.gov/courts/multnomah
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HOW DO YOU “SERVE” THE OTHER PARTY? 
The plaintiff must officially notify all defendants that a case has been filed. This is known as 
service. 

There are four ways you can serve a defendant after you file your claim: 

1. Personal Service:
a. By Process Server: Take a copy of the claim to the sheriff’s office in the county where the

defendant is located and have a sheriff’s officer serve the defendant.
Civil Process by Metro Area Sheriff’s Offices: 

Multnomah County Civil Process www.mcso.us 503.988.3291 
Washington County Civil Process www.co.washington.or.us/sheriff 503.846.2537 
Clackamas County Civil Process www.clackamas.us/sheriff 503.655.8351 

The sheriff’s office charges a fee for service. You can also hire a private process server of 
your choice. 

b. By a Non-Party: Have a competent* person 18 years or older who is a resident of Oregon
and who is neither a party to the case (plaintiff or defendant), nor the lawyer of a
party, serve the defendant. If you have safety concerns, have the sheriff serve the 
defendant. The server cannot be an employee or director/ officer of any defendant. If 
the defendant is not in Oregon, the process server can be a resident of the state where 
the defendant is. 

*competent means a person who can understand, remember, and tell others about an event.

An original proof of service must be filed with the court by whoever serves the 
defendant, including the date of service and the name of the person served. 

2. Substituted Service: The process server may leave the notice at the defendant’s residence
(where the defendant normally lives) with someone 14 or older who lives there. A copy of
the claim (with a statement of the date, time, and place that the papers were served) must
also be mailed to the defendant by first class mail. Your process server can do this and mark
the appropriate box on the Declaration of Service. If you do the mailing, you must file a
Declaration of Service Mailing with the court. The date of service is the day you put
the first class mailing in the mail.

3. Office Service: If a person to be served maintains an office where they conduct business,
office service may be made by leaving a true copy of the Claim and Notice of Claim at such
office during normal working hours. A copy of the claim (with a statement of the date,
time, and place that the papers were served) must also be mailed to the defendant by
regular first class mail. Your process server can do this and mark the appropriate box on
the Declaration of Service. If you do the mailing, you must file a Declaration of
Service Mailing with the court. The date of service is the day you put the first class
mailing in the mail.

4. By Mail: Send a copy by certified mail, return receipt requested, Restricted Delivery
(delivery only to the addressee). You must file proof of service with the court, including the
signed green card, date of receipt and item number along with a Certificate of Service by
Mail. If you do not receive the green card back, or if someone other than the defendant
signed for it, service by mail was not effective and you must try another type of service. The
date of service is the day the defendant signs the green receipt card.

http://www.mcso.us503.988.3291/
http://www.co.washington.or.us/sheriff
http://www.clackamas.us/sheriff
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Proof of Service  
The Certificates are your proof of service. An original Certificate of Service or Acceptance of 
Service must be filed with the court for your case to proceed, regardless of the method of 
service. 

 See the court’s https://www.courts.oregon.gov/courts/multnomah/go/Pages/rules.aspx or 
call the court for the time limit. 

Acceptance of Service – In addition to the above forms of service, you can ask each defendant to 
sign an Acceptance of Service form as an alternative to formal service. Defendant(s) can accept 
the claim and other papers from you and sign the form to prevent having a sheriff or process server 
perform service. Signing the Acceptance of Service does not mean the defendant(s) agree with 
anything in your claim, only that he or she received the papers. 

If the defendant does not want to sign the Acceptance of Service, you must use another method. 

Important Note: If you are suing the Department of Corrections or any other state agency, you 
MUST serve BOTH the agency and the Attorney General. You must also send copies of anything 
you file to the Attorney General (see below for information about service). 

NOTE: Serving Public Bodies – If you are suing the state, use personal service to serve the 
Attorney General or your server can leave the papers with a deputy, assistant, or clerk at the 
Attorney General’s office. For any other public body, you can use personal service or office service 
on an officer, director, managing agent, or lawyer for the defendant. If you are suing any state 
agency, you must also serve all papers on the state Attorney General. 

THE DEFENDANT CAN … 
Pay the Claim within 14 days of receiving service. This includes your court fees and costs. 

Payment should come directly to you. Defendant may provide proof to the court that the claim is 
paid and you may file a notice with the court to dismiss your claim. You are free to settle with the 
defendant for any amount at this point. If you are suing to return property, the defendant can 
return the property to you. 

Or 

Deny the Claim – A defendant who does not agree with any part of your claim can file a 
response within 14 days of service denying the claim and requesting a hearing or jury trial. 
Defendants may also file claims against you called “counter-claims.” Counter-claims must be 
related to the transaction or event that your claim is about. Jury trials are available only if the 
amount of either the claim or counterclaim is over $750. 

If the defendant denies the claim, you will be notified by mail of the date and time to appear for a 
hearing. If you cannot appear at the time set, you must give a good reason in writing to the court at 
least 14 days before the hearing date. 

https://www.courts.oregon.gov/courts/multnomah/go/Pages/rules.aspx
http://www.doj.state.or.us/index.shtml
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If the defendant demands a jury trial, you must file a formal complaint within 20 days after the 
court sends you notice to do so. If you don’t, the case will be dismissed and you may have to pay the 
defendant’s fees plus a prevailing party fee. Be aware that additional fees will be due from you. You 
should see a lawyer. The court does not provide forms or samples of formal complaints. 
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IF THE DEFENDANT DOES NOT RESPOND 
If the defendant does not file a response within 14 days of the date of service, you can ask the court 
to grant you a default judgment. This means that you win because the defendant did not respond. 
To request a default judgment, you must file a Motion for Default Judgment & Defendant 
Status Declaration with the court within a certain number of days from the date of service or 
your case may be dismissed after written notice to you. You may have to re-file your claim and pay 
filing fees again if this happens. See the court’s Supplemental Local Rules, or contact the court for 
time limits. 

For public body defendants – you must send a notice of your intent to apply for default to the 
defendant before filing for default. For state agencies you must also send a copy of the notice to the 
Attorney General. The court cannot issue a default less than 10 days from the day you serve the 
notice on the defendant (and the Attorney General if necessary). You must formally serve this 
notice according to Oregon Rule of Civil Procedure 9. You must also file a proof of service with the 
court. 

Fill out the Motion for Default Judgment & Defendant Status Declaration, and complete 
a Small Claim General Judgment. File both with the court clerk. The prevailing party fee is 
listed at ORS 30.260 https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors020.html. 

If you request more than 9% post-judgment annual interest, you must provide the court with a 
copy of the contract at the time you request a Default Judgment. 

You must provide a Declaration of Non-Military Service before the court can order a default 
judgment. This is part of the Motion for Default Judgment. If the defendant is in active 
military service, you cannot get a default judgment unless the servicemember has waived 
protection under the Servicemember’s Civil Relief Act. This federal law starts at 50 U.S.C. App 501. 
Your local law librarian can help you find it, or go to www.law.cornell.edu* (under Legal 
Resources click U.S.Code, then click Appendix to Title 50). This law has strict rules about what 
“active military service” means, and it covers servicemembers’ spouses and children if they are 
affected by the defendant’s service. This protection does not apply to all servicemembers at all 
times. 

If the defendant is in the military, you should see a lawyer before trying to get a default judgment. 
If a default is not done properly, the defendant can re-open the case after returning from service. 
Be aware that if you knowingly make false statements about the defendant’s status, you may face 
both federal and state penalties. 

If you know the defendant is not in the military, you must state facts that explain how you know. 
Some things that are not supporting facts are: he has long hair, he has problems with authority, she 
does drugs, she’s too old, or he is not a U.S. citizen. 

If you have the defendant’s Social Security Number and date of birth, you can go to the Department 
of Defense’s website at www.dmdc.osd.mil/appj/scra/scraHome.do to find out if the defendant is 
in active service. This site can give you a free statement of service status that you can print out 
(called a “certificate of service” on the website). Attach this statement, or a printout of the screen 
(by pressing the “print screen” button on your keyboard), to your motion. You can also call 
571.372.1100 for military verification. Put the date and the name of the person you spoke with on 
your motion. If you don’t have the Social Security Number or date of birth, commercial websites 
may be able to provide information. 

*
This is an outside site maintained by Cornell University. The Oregon Judicial Department is not responsible for any

information on this site. Links many have moved.

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors020.html
http://www.law.cornell.edu/
https://www.dmdc.osd.mil/appj/scra/scraHome.do
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If you don’t know whether the defendant is in the military and have checked the website, or don’t 
have the necessary information, mark “I am unable to determine whether this person is in military 
service” and add any facts that you do know. The judge will decide whether to grant the default. 

YOU ARE STRONGLY ADVISED TO TALK TO A LAWYER IF DEFENDANT IS IN THE 
MILITARY! Contact the Oregon State Bar at the number at 503.684.3763 for help finding a 
lawyer. 

* * * * *

The court will send you a notice telling you whether your default was granted. 

MEDIATION 
Multnomah County court has a mediation program for small claims cases. If a defendant files a 
response denying the claim or making a counterclaim against you, the court will schedule 
mediation for both parties. Additional information will be mailed to you at the time your 
mediation is scheduled. Be sure the court has your current mailing address. 

Mediation has many benefits: 

• Mediation brings all of the parties together to discuss the dispute with a trained, neutral
mediator.

• Mediation offers a last chance to maintain control over the outcome of the dispute before
turning it over to a judge. Remember, no matter how right you think you are, you may not
win the case.

• A mediated agreement is enforceable, but will not appear on a credit report unless the
agreement is not followed and a judgment is entered.

If you are unable to resolve the dispute through mediation, a trial will be set for a later date. 

PREPARING FOR TRIAL 
If mediation is not successful, your case will be set for trial. You will receive a notice of trial by 
mail. If you do not receive a notice within five (5) business days from your mediation, please 
contact the court 971-274-0545. Your notice will include an information sheet. Please be sure to 
read this information sheet several days before your trial, as there may be things you need to 
do in advance of your appearance. 

Small claims trials are informal so that the parties can handle their own cases. Lawyers cannot 
appear without special permission of the court. The plaintiff first, and the defendant second, will 
present sworn testimony, evidence, and witnesses to the judge. The judge is only interested in facts. 
Your testimony should be brief and to the point. You may use written notes, but do not expect the 
judge to read a written statement. 

You, as the plaintiff, must prove your case. The defendant must prove any counterclaims 
(counterclaims are claims the defendant has against you. They are NOT defenses to your claims 
against the defendant). Come prepared with factual evidence like receipts, a written contract, police 
reports, witnesses, etc. 

Bring the following to support your claim: 
Records, documents, bills, original contracts, photos, written repair estimates, etc. Make copies of 
any material that you may wish to submit to the court and bring the copies AND the originals to 
court. You must bring copies for the defendant’s reference. 
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On the day of your trial, be sure to allow plenty of time to get through security and find your 
courtroom. Be prepared to present your case at the time listed on your trial notice. 
COURTROOM RULES: 

JUDGMENT 
Once your trial is over, the judge will make a decision. You could: 

➢ Lose the case. You cannot collect money from the defendant if you lose.
➢ Win the full amount of your claim.
➢ Win some of your claim, but not all of it.
➢ Win either the full amount or some of the amount, and lose against a defendant’s

counterclaim.
o Generally, if you and the defendant both asked for money, the amount you lost

(counterclaims) will be subtracted from the amount you won.
o If the counterclaim is for more than you won, then you may win your claim, but still

have to pay the defendant money. For example, if you claim $100 and the
counterclaim is for $150 and the judge decides that you both win, then you will have to
pay the defendant $50 ($150 counterclaim - $100 claim = $50).

The judge will make a decision and enter a judgment. You will receive a copy of this judgment. The 
judgment tells you how much the award is and who the judgment creditor is. 

The “judgment creditor” is the person who gets paid, and the “judgment debtor” is the person who 
has to pay. 

NOTE: There is NO APPEAL from a Small Claims judgment. The judge’s decision is final. 

HOW TO COLLECT AFTER JUDGMENT 

If you win the case, you are the judgment creditor. If you lose the case, you are the judgment 
debtor. If you are the judgment creditor, you are responsible for all efforts to collect the money 
judgment. If the debtor cannot pay in full, you and the debtor can attempt to work out a payment 
plan. If the debtor cannot pay, or will not pay, you may: 

• Have the court issue a writ of garnishment to be served on the debtor's employer or bank.
There is a fee for the court to issue the writ. If the writ is served on a bank, there will also be
a search fee charged by the bank. Garnishment forms can be purchased at a legal stationery
store.

• File a motion and order to have the judgment debtor appear in court so you can question
the debtor about his/her assets, but only after a writ of garnishment has been issued by the
court and returned unsatisfied, or you have served a notice of demand of payment at least
10 days earlier and the debtor has not responded.

*Appropriate dress is required. See UTCR 3.010 and the local court rules. The judge may

ask you to leave the courtroom if you are not dressed appropriately.
*Caps and hats must be removed upon entering the courtroom.

*Food and drinks are not allowed in the courtroom.

*Weapons are not allowed anywhere in the court building.

*Pagers, cell phones, and all other electronic devices that may disrupt court proceedings

must be turned off (not just silenced, because signals interfere with recordings).

*Audio or video recording is not permitted without advance permission of the judge.
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SATISFACTIONS 
A “Satisfaction” is a form that tells the court that your judgment has been paid (satisfied). You 
MUST file a Satisfaction of Judgment when you have received full payment on the money 
award portion of your judgment. You may also file a Partial Satisfaction of Judgment anytime you 
receive a payment. A “partial satisfaction” means you have received payment, but not the full 
amount. A “full satisfaction” means the award is paid in full. You must also send a copy of the 
Satisfaction of Judgment to the other party. Satisfaction of Judgment forms are available online 
or at the court and there is no fee to file this form. 

Satisfactions must be notarized. Many banks can do this. You must bring photo I.D. with you and 
sign the form in front of the notary public. 




