REQUEST FOR PUBLIC COMMENT

Oregon Tort Claims Act Statutory Liability Limits, Wrongful Conviction Compensation Amounts, Homestead Exemption Amounts, & Base Protected Account Balance Exemption Amounts

2025 Annual Adjustments

PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

The public comment period for the proposed Oregon Tort Claims Act liability limits, wrongful conviction compensation amounts, homestead exemption amounts, and base protected account balance exemption amounts will close at **5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, May 6, 2025.**

A list of past and current amounts can be found at http://www.courts.oregon.gov/Pages/tort.aspx. Public comments can be submitted via the "click here" buttons below; emailed to Rachel.D.Trickett@ojd.state.or.us; or conventionally mailed to Rachel Trickett, Senior Assistant General Counsel, Office of the State Court Administrator, Supreme Court Building, 1163 State Street, Salem, Oregon 97301-2563.

Wrongful Conviction Compensation

Oregon law allows a wrongfully convicted person to file a petition seeking compensation in the Marion County Circuit Court or in the circuit court for the county of conviction and directs OSCA to adjust these compensation amounts annually. See ORS 30.657. The proposed adjusted amounts are listed below:

| Compensation for Wrongful Conviction | Current Amount | Adjusted Amount |
|--|----------------|-----------------|
| For each year of imprisonment | \$69,000 | \$70,900 |
| For each additional year served on parole or post-prison supervision or was required to register as a sex offender, whichever is greater | \$26,500 | \$27,300 |

Following a public comment period, OSCA will finalize the adjustments, and the new compensation amounts will become effective on July 1, 2025. They will apply to all petitions filed on or after July 1, 2025, and before July 1, 2026. OSCA makes these adjustments annually, as required by statute.



REQUEST FOR PUBLIC COMMENT

Oregon Tort Claims Act Statutory Liability Limits, Wrongful Conviction Compensation Amounts, Homestead Exemption Amounts, & Base Protected Account Balance Exemption Amounts

2025 Annual Adjustments

Oregon Tort Claims Act Liability Limits

The Office of the State Court Administrator (OSCA) has calculated the annual adjustment to the limitations on liability of state and local public bodies for personal injury, death, and property damage or destruction. We propose to adjust the limitations as follows:

| Public Body | Claimant(s) | Claim | Current Limit | Adjusted Limit |
|----------------|-------------|--------------------------------|---------------|----------------|
| State | Single | Injury or Death | \$2,565,400 | \$2,637,500 |
| State | Multiple | Injury or Death | \$5,130,700 | \$5,275,100 |
| Local | Single | Injury or Death | \$855,200 | \$879,200 |
| Local | Multiple | Injury or Death | \$1,710,200 | \$1,758,300 |
| State or Local | Single | Property Damage or Destruction | \$140,300 | \$144,200 |
| State or Local | Multiple | Property Damage or Destruction | \$701,300 | \$721,000 |

Following a public comment period, OSCA will finalize the adjustments, and the new limitations will become effective on July 1, 2025. They will apply to all causes of action arising on or after July 1, 2025, and before July 1, 2026. OSCA makes these adjustments annually, as required by statute.



REQUEST FOR PUBLIC COMMENT

Oregon Tort Claims Act Statutory Liability Limits, Wrongful Conviction Compensation Amounts, Homestead Exemption Amounts, & Base Protected Account Balance Exemption Amounts

2025 Annual Adjustments

Garnishment Exemptions

In 2024, the Oregon Legislative Assembly passed Senate Bill (SB) 1595 (Oregon Laws 2024, chapter 100). Beginning January 1, 2025, the measure requires OSCA to increase the base amounts for several exemptions from execution and garnishment annually, according to the methodology described in the measure. The proposed adjusted amounts are listed below:

Homestead Exemption

| Exemption | Before January 1, 2025 | Current Amount | Adjusted Amount |
|---|------------------------|----------------|-----------------|
| Single Judgment Debtor | \$40,000 | \$150,000 | \$154,200 |
| Two or More Judgment Debtors (same household) | \$50,000 | \$300,000 | \$308,400 |

Base Protected Account Balance Exemption

| Exemption | Before January 1, 2025 | Current Amount | Adjusted Amount |
|--------------------------------|------------------------|----------------|-----------------|
| Base Protected Account Balance | N/A | \$2,500 | \$2,600 |

Following a public comment period, OSCA will finalize the adjustments, and the new exemption amounts will become effective on July 1, 2025, and remain effective until July 1, 2026. OSCA will make these adjustments annually, as required by statute.

