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Chapter 1
Hours of Operation

1.151 Hours of Operation

Normal hours of operation for the Clerk’s offices shall be 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
at the Courthouse (100 High Street NE), and from 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon, and
from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. at both the Courts Annex (4000 Aumsville Highway
SE) and the Juvenile Court (3030 Center Street NE).  These hours are subject to
occasional modification, with notice to be posted on the affected offices at least
24 hours in advance, whenever possible.

1.171 Website

The website for the Circuit Court for the Third Judicial District is located at
http://marion-court.ojd.state.or.us/

Chapter 2
Standards for Pleadings and Documents

2.015 CASE NUMBERS

In all cases which are assigned to an individual department within the Circuit
Court’s Individual Assignment System, all pleadings, motions and other
documents filed must contain the name or initials of the Judge to whom the case
has been assigned immediately below the case number in the caption of the
document.

In presenting documents in cases which have not been assigned in the Court’s
Individual Assignment System, no such addition is required or appropriate.

Chapter 5
Motions in Civil Cases

5.045 REFEREES (SPECIAL MASTERS)

In any case involving matters requiring specialized technical expertise, such as
business valuation for dissolution of business partnership, parties shall consider
the use of referees under ORCP 65 for determination of those matters involving
specialized expertise.  If the use of such referees is not appropriate, the parties
shall so advise the Court along with the basis for such position.
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5.061 TIMES FOR PRESENTMENT OF EX-PARTE MATTERS

Personally presented ex parte matters may be presented at 8:30 a.m. to the Judge
to whom the case has been assigned.  If the case has not been assigned, ex parte
matters may be presented to any Judge.

5.065 SHOW CAUSE ORDERS, OTHER THAN FOR CONTEMPT

(1) Motions for Show Cause Orders (other than for contempt of Court) must
separately state each item of relief requested by the moving party.  Such
motions may not state the requested relief by reference to a supporting
affidavit.

(2) Unless otherwise specifically required by statute or ORCP or specifically
directed by the Court, Show Cause Orders (other than for contempt of
Court) shall not require the personal appearance of the opposing party and
shall not set a time certain for response by the opposing party.  Instead,
when dealing with temporary relief and when served within the State of
Oregon, such orders shall require the opposing party to file an Answer in
writing to the Order within 10 days from the date of personal service of the
Order upon the opposing party, or, if served by mail, within 13 days from
the date of the mailing of the Order (which mailing date shall be stated in
or endorsed upon the Order).  When the Show Cause Order deals with
permanent relief or when it is served outside of the State of Oregon or by
publication, the order shall require the opposing party to file an answer in
writing within 30 days from the date of service or the date of first 
publication, whichever the case may be.

(3) Show Cause Orders which do not require the personal appearance of the
opposing party shall contain or have attached a NOTICE which is in
substantial conformity with the specimen NOTICE set forth in Appendix
A to these Rules.  Service of such Orders shall be accomplished by serving
upon the opposing party a true copy of the Order (with the NOTICE
incorporated therein or attached thereto) together with a true copy of the
motion and order and true copy of the affidavit submitted in support of the
motion.

(4) If a Show Cause Order does not require the personal appearance of the
opposing party and the opposing party fails to file a written Answer to the
Show Cause Order within the time allowed by the Order, the moving party
may present ex parte, an Order granting relief sought by the moving party,
providing the return of service of the Show Cause Order has been filed of
record or is presented with the proposed ex-parte Order.  The Court, in its
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discretion, may allow or deny the requested relief in whole or part, ex
parte, or the Court may direct that a hearing be scheduled for the
presentation of additional evidence in support of the relief sought by the
moving party.

(5) Show Cause Orders (other than for contempt of Court) which, under
ORCP or by direction of the Court, require the personal appearance of the
opposing party, shall specifically state that the opposing party must appear
in person before the Court at the time stated in the Order and shall further
specifically  state either that such appearance is for the purpose of setting a
hearing on the merits of the relief sought by the moving party, or that such
appearance is for the purpose of a hearing on the merits of the relief sought
by the moving party, as the case may be.

Chapter 6 Trials

6.025 DEMAND FOR REPORTING

All cases, other than criminal cases, shall be scheduled for trial or hearing without
reporting unless 48 hours before trial or hearing, written demand for reporting is
filed with the Court, together with service upon opposing party, and the
appropriate fee is paid.  Failure to file such written demand for reporting and pay
the fee will be deemed a waiver of reporting.

Chapter 7 Case Management and Calendaring

7.025 INDIVIDUAL ASSIGNMENT SYSTEM

The Court maintains an Individual Assignment System wherein the Judges are
directly assigned full responsibility for management of designated cases from
assignment to ultimate conclusion, including post-judgment matters.  All issues
relating to assigned cases, including scheduling and procedural questions, are to
be directed to the assigned Judge.

Chapter 8 Domestic Relations Proceedings

See Chapter 12 regarding mandatory mediation in domestic relations cases.

8.011 PARENT EDUCATION PROGRAM
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(1) Mandatory Parent Education Program

(a) A parent education program of the type authorized by ORS 3.425
is established.  The program shall provide information on the
impact of family restructuring on children to each person named as
a party in the following types of proceedings, when such
proceedings involve minor children:

(i) Annulment or dissolution of marriage,

(ii) Legal separation,

(iii) Petition to establish custody or parenting plans (including
paternity), and

(iv) Post-judgment litigation involving custody or parenting
plans.

(b) Each party who files an appearance in a proceeding of the types
described above shall complete the program unless exempted by
the Court.  A final judgment shall not be entered in the proceeding
until each party not otherwise exempted by the Court who has filed
an appearance has completed the program.

(c) The party initiating the proceeding shall register for the program
within 15 days after filing the initiating pleading with the Court. A
copy of this local rule and instructions on how to register for the
program shall be served by the initiating party on all parties against
whom relief is sought.  Service shall be completed in the manner
provided in ORCP 7 at the time the initiating documents are serve. 
All other parties shall have 30 days after service of the notice upon
them to register for the program.

(d) The Court shall provide a copy of this rule to the initiating party
for service upon all parties against whom relief is sought, together
with a statement describing the program including contact
telephone numbers, addresses and statement of costs.

(e) The program provider shall issue a certificate of completion when
the participant has completed the program.  The certificate must be
filed with the Court.
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(f) The Court may exempt one or both parties from the program if,
after reviewing the requesting party's motion and supporting
affidavit, the Court determines that participation is unnecessary or
inappropriate.

(2) Sanctions

(a) Failure or refusal to complete the program in a timely manner shall
be considered by the Court in making its ruling on issues which are
in dispute.

(b) A party who has completed the program shall have the right to:

(i) Request that the pleadings of a party who has appeared be
stricken if that party has not completed the program in a
timely manner without good reason.

(ii) Request entry of an order from the Court to compel the
non-complying party's completion of the program should
the non-complying party not have completed the program
in a timely manner without good reason.  The Court may
enter an award of attorney fees in favor of the complying
party who utilizes this option to force the non-complying
party's compliance with this rule.

(3) Fees

(a) Each party shall pay a fee of $50 to the program provider  upon
registering for the program.

(b) The program registration fee may be waived or deferred by the 
Court. The procedure for requesting a fee waiver or deferral shall
be the same as used to request a waiver or deferral of the fee when
filing a petition for dissolution.

(c) Application for fee waiver or deferral, if any, must be made prior 
to registering for the program.  When registering, either the fee
must be paid or the order waiving or deferring the fee must be
provided to the program provider.
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8.013 STATEMENTS OF ASSETS

(1) In lieu of the filing of separate statements of assets and liabilities, values 
and proposed distribution, as provided by UTCR, counsel for the parties
may file a single joint statement containing a single list of those assets and
liabilities (described individually or by groupings, as counsel may agree)
which either or both parties claim to be subject to distribution by the
Court.  Such single joint statements shall set forth, opposite description of
each listed asset and liability (or assets and liabilities by grouping), a
separate listing of each party's valuation and proposal for distribution of
such asset or liability or a statement that such asset or liability is not
subject to distribution by the Court, or that, for the reasons stated, the
value of the asset or liability should not be taken into account by the Court
in the division and distribution of the parties' assets and liabilities.

(2) In the event counsel for the parties file separate statements pursuant to 
UTCR, such statements must include all assets and liabilities which either
or both parties claim to be subject to distribution by the Court; must
contain identical description of such assets and liabilities (either
individually or by grouping); must list the assets and liabilities in the same
order; and must include the filing party's position that the asset or liability
is not subject to distribution by the Court, or, that for the reasons stated,
the value of the asset or liability should not be taken into account by the
Court in the division and distribution of the parties' assets and liabilities.

(3) Statements of assets and liabilities, whether filed jointly or separately,
shall, to the extent possible, also reflect the following:

(a) disputed property should be grouped, separate from undisputed
property.

(b) sub-totals should be reflected for each category and grouping;

(c) wholesale and retail bluebook values should be listed for all
vehicles listed; and

(d) assets and liabilities should be divided into short- and long-term
categories.
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8.015 REFEREES (SPECIAL MASTERS)

Where the use of referees under ORCP 65 is appropriate in domestic relations
matters, SLR 5.045 shall apply.

8.017 PARENTING TIME COORDINATORS

(1) A Parenting Time Coordinator may be appointed pursuant to ORS
107.425(3).

(2) A Parenting Time Coordinator shall have at least one of the following
qualifications: a mental health professional, attorney, mediator or court
staff personnel with specialized training as a Parenting Time Coordinator
or experience as a Parenting Time Coordinator.

a) A “mental health professional” for purposes of this rule is a person
with one of the following qualifications:
i) Masters, Psy.D or Ph.D degree in psychology, counseling

or social work, or equivalent training, experience and
education, or

ii) M.D. with psychiatric specialization
b) An “attorney” for purposes of this rule is a person with a degree in

jurisprudence.
c) A “mediator” for purposes of this rule is a person meeting the

requirement of OAR 718-30-000 through 100.
d) “Specialized training as a Parenting Time Coordinator” shall

include:
i) training required for domestic relations mediators as

specified in OAR 718-030-0050, seminar or graduate level
course work in domestic violence, and any other training
required by the Court; and

ii) while actively practicing as a Parenting Time Coordinator,
completion of a two hour course on domestic violence per
year from a local or nationally recognized organization. 
During the first year and for every third year thereafter, the
training shall be through a local organization.  Training
through service providers recommended by the Marion
County Domestic Violence Council shall be presumed to
satisfy this requirement.  However, the Court retains final
authority to determine what satisfies this requirement; and

iii) any Parenting Time Coordinator appointed to a case
involving parents of a different culture than his or her own
shall have an affirmative duty to educate himself or herself
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about the norms and values of that culture prior to
conducting any substantive work on the case.

(3) A person who does not meet the requirements of subsection (2) may act as
a Parenting Time Coordinator if he or she has other qualifications deemed
by the Court to be sufficient to act as a Parenting Time Coordinator in a
given case.  For example, an M.D. with pediatric specialization may be
qualified depending on his or her background and experience.

8.019 MOTION FOR ORDER OF DEFAULT; TIME FOR SERVICE AND 
APPEARANCE

Any party who has appeared in a domestic relations action in response to a
contempt proceeding or to motions for temporary relief in such action, but who
has not filed a response to the petition in such action, shall be entitled to be served
with a copy of any motion for the entry of an order adjudicating his or her default
in such action and with a copy of any motion for the entry of a default judgment
against him or her, at least 10 days (plus 3 additional days if service is
accomplished by mail) before the entry of such order or such judgment.  Further,
the motion for the default or for the default judgment shall request that such relief
be granted only if the opposing party does not appear in response to the petition
within 10 days from the date of the motion.

8.061 SHOW CAUSE ORDERS, OTHER THAN FOR CONTEMPT

The provisions of SLR 5.065 shall apply in domestic relations actions.
  
8.075 PARENTING PLANS

The Court may utilize a sample parenting plan, which is incorporated within these
rules as Appendix B, if the parents are unable to jointly agree on a customized
plan.

Chapter 9 Probate

See Chapter 12 regarding mediation in probate cases.

9.005 PROBATE COMMISSIONER

(1) A Probate Commissioner appointed by the Court shall assist the Court in
the administration of decedent's estates, guardianships, conservatorships,
trust estates, name change proceedings and adoptions.
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(2) The Probate Commissioner shall have authority to take the following
actions in uncontested decedent's estates, guardianships, conservatorships,
trust estates, name change proceedings and adoptions:

(a) To make and enter orders on behalf of the Court,
admitting wills to probate, appointing special
administrators, personal representatives, guardians
and conservators;

(b) To approve and set the amount of bond for special
administrators, personal representatives, guardians
and conservators;

(c) To screen all filings, including accountings, to
determine compliance with procedural requirements
imposed by law, by UTCRs and by SLRs.

9.015 SUBMISSION OF EX-PARTE ORDERS IN UNCONTESTED
DECEDENT'S ESTATES, GUARDIANSHIPS, CONSERVATORSHIPS,
TRUST ESTATES, NAME CHANGE PROCEEDINGS AND ADOPTIONS

All ex parte orders and all other matters in uncontested decedent's estates,
guardianships, conservatorships, trust estates, name change proceedings and
adoptions shall be submitted to the Probate Commissioner either directly or
through the Trial Court Administrator.  Such orders and matters may be presented
at any time without the necessity of the appearance of the attorney for the
fiduciary.

9.025 GUARDIANS

Within 30 days of each anniversary of appointment, every guardian (whether the
ward is a minor or is an adult incapacitated person) shall submit to the Probate
Commissioner for filing an annual report, in letter form or otherwise, signed by
the guardian or his attorney of record, stating whether or not the need for the
guardianship continues to exist, and if so, the basis for the need for continuation.

9.111 SHOW CAUSE ORDERS

The provision of SLR 5.065 shall apply in adoption matters.
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Chapter 12 Mediation

12.005 MEDIATION PROGRAMS

(1) Marion County SLR 12.015 through 12.095 shall apply to mediation of
custody and parenting time issues in domestic relations cases under ORS
107.765.

(2) Marion County SLR 12.101 through 12.105 shall apply to mediation of
financial issues in domestic relations cases under ORS 107.755(4).

(3) Marion County SLR 12.115 through 12.165 shall apply to mediation of
civil cases as an alternative to court-annexed arbitration.

(4) Marion County SLR 12.175 through 12.255 shall apply to mediation of
probate cases. 

(5) Marion County SLR 12.305 shall apply to mediation of small claims and
FED cases.

12.015 APPLICATION OF RULES

(1) These rules do not apply to mediation by private agreement.

(2) These rules shall not be applied to restrict the process, but rather to grant
considerable discretion to the mediator and mediating parties.

12.025 DOMESTIC RELATIONS MEDIATION

(1) Mandatory Mediation

All cases eligible for mandatory mediation under ORS 107.765 shall be
referred to mediation, as provided in these rules.

(2) Exclusion from Mediation

A matter may be excused from mandatory mediation upon application by a
party to the Court with service upon the opposing party and after being
given the opportunity to be heard in objection and upon a showing of good
cause.

12.035 RELATIONSHIP TO COURT JURISDICTION
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(1) A case filed in the Circuit Court remains under the jurisdiction of that
Court in all phases of the proceedings, including mediation.

(2) Any agreement of the parties reached as a result of mediation for which
Court enforcement may be sought must be presented to the Court and the
Court shall retain final authority to accept, modify or reject the agreement.

(3) At any point during the mediation, the Court may approve a temporary
custody and parenting time order reflecting the parties' agreement as to
those issues.

12.045 MEDIATORS

(1) To qualify as a Court-approved mediator, a person must:

(a) Meet the requirements of ORS 36.200 and OAR 718-30-000
through 100.

(b) Sign and file an application with the Court; and

(c) Receive approval by the Presiding Judge, upon recommendation of
the Domestic Relations Mediation Screening Committee.

(2) The Presiding Judge may remove a mediator from the court-approved list
at any time at the Presiding Judge's discretion.

12.055 ASSIGNMENT TO MEDIATOR

(1) The parties may select a mediator of their own choosing; however, if the
mediator is not on the list of mediators approved by the Court, the expense
of the mediator shall be the responsibility of the parties.

(2) In the absence of a mediator selected by the parties, the Court will appoint
a mediator from the list of court-approved mediators.

12.065 AUTHORITY OF MEDIATORS

(1) A mediator has authority and control over the mediation process; but a
mediator has no control or authority over the parties or over their decisions
in the case.

(2) A mediator shall encourage disputing parties to obtain individual legal
advice and individual legal review of any mediated agreement before
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signing any agreement.

(3) A mediator shall not act as a lawyer for either party.

12.075 SCHEDULING OF MEDIATION SESSIONS

(1) Upon receipt of a mediation assignment, a mediator shall immediately
notify the parties of a reasonable date and time for the initial mediation
session which shall occur in the mediator's office, unless otherwise agreed
upon between the mediator and the parties.  The initial mediation session
shall occur within fourteen (14) days of the mediator's receipt of first
notice of assignment, assuming both parties have completed Cope.

(2) Mediation shall be completed in a prompt manner so as to not unduly
delay the Court and in no event later than any deadline date ordered by the
Court.  The Court expects most cases to be completed within 49 days of
the date of referral.

12.085 MEDIATOR'S REPORT

(1) Report to Court

In all cases which have been referred to a court-appointed mediator, the
mediator shall make a final report to the Court describing the conclusion
of the mediation, whether successful or unsuccessful.

(2) Successful Mediation

The mediator shall prepare a written memorandum of any agreement
which the parties have reached as a result of mediation.  The unsigned,
proposed form of memorandum of agreement shall be distributed to the
parties and to their counsel by the mediator.  If the parties choose to sign a
memorandum of agreement after having had an opportunity to review it
with a lawyer, the document may then be incorporated into a Court Order
or Judgment.

(3) Unsuccessful Mediation

The mediator may notify the Court at any time following the initial
mediation session involving the parties and the mediator that mediation
has been unsuccessful, in which case the proceeding will be scheduled for
hearing in the same course and with the same priority as if there had been
no mediation.  The mediator may determine that the mediation has been
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unsuccessful if the parties are unable to resolve the custody or parenting
plan controversy; or, if one or both parties are unwilling to participate in
mediation; or, if the mediator determines that either party is using the
mediation process in bad faith for the delay of resolution of other issues.

12.095 COMPENSATION OF MEDIATORS (Custody and Parenting Issues)

(1) In issues subject to mandatory mediation under these rules (custody and
parenting plan), Marion County shall compensate the mediator at the rate
of $60.00 per hour up to a maximum of eight (8) hours per case,  including
time allocated to no shows.  A maximum of one (1) hour of this time may
be allocated to time spent preparing written memoranda or agreements,
and other administrative time processing the case.  The court expects that
eighty (80) percent of cases will be concluded in a maximum of six (6)
hours.  The funding source shall be fees collected pursuant to ORS
107.615 and 21.112.

(2) Marion County shall not pay for any mediation expenses beyond the eight
(8) hours authorized under subsection (1) without a signed court order in
the court file authorizing the additional time.  After the mediator has filed
a report with the court indicating whether the case has settled, further
mediation expenses shall be paid by the parties in the absence of a court
order authorizing additional payment.  If the parties wish to use any
remaining balance of the initial eight (8) hours within a year of the
judgment, the mediator shall notify the mediation coordinator in advance
of conducting further mediation.

(3) In the event both parties do not appear at a scheduled mediation session
without at least 24 hours advance notice to the mediator, the mediator may
request compensation in the amount of $45.  Alternatively, the mediator
may mediate with one party if shuttle mediation would be helpful in
resolving the case, and charge the regular rate of $60 per hour.  The party
canceling must provide advance notice on a regular business day to avoid
imposition of the $45 fee.

In order to charge the $45 fee, the mediator must send a written
notification identifying the responsible parent and the amount charged to
the assigned judge and both parties, through their attorneys if they are
represented.  The mediator shall refer the case back to the court after two
no shows.  Marion County shall not pay for more than $90 for no shows
on any one case.  The assigned judge will allocate the cost of any no
shows to the responsible party, in the absence of good cause shown.
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(4) In issues not involved in mandatory mediation, the parties may agree to
mediate with the court-appointed mediator; but the compensation
arrangement shall be between the parties and the mediator, as they may
agree in writing, and the compensation rate shall be negotiated by and
between the parties and the mediator, unless the Court has entered an order
allowing payment pursuant to SLR 12.105(2).

(5) If the parties select a mediator who is not on the court-approved list, the 
compensation shall be fixed by agreement between the parties and the
mediator, and shall be the responsibility of the parties.

12.101 DOMESTIC RELATIONS FINANCIAL ISSUES MEDIATION

The parties may agree to mediate financial issues, including, but not limited to,
property and debt division, and support.  The Court may also refer matters to
mediation on the motion of one party, or on the Court’s own motion,

12.103 MEDIATION PANEL

(1) To qualify as a Court-approved mediator, a person must:

a. Meet the requirements of OAR 718-50-0000 through 0120.

b. Sign and file an application with the Court; and

c. Receive approval by the Presiding Judge, upon recommendation of
the Domestic Relations Mediation Screening Committee.

(2) The Presiding Judge may remove a mediator from the Court-approved list
at any time at the discretion of the Presiding Judge.

12.105 COMPENSATION OF MEDIATOR (Financial Issues)

(1) The parties are responsible for paying the mediator for his or her time. 
Appropriate fee arrangements should be made with the mediator prior to
the first session.

(2) The Court may pay for up to $480 of the mediator’s fee if one or both of
the parties are indigent.

12.115 CIVIL MEDIATION

(1) Parties to civil cases which are subject to mandatory arbitration under



Page 15
February 1, 2004
Marion County Circuit  Court

ORS 36.400 through 36.425, UTCR Chapter 13 and SLR Chapter 13 may
satisfy this requirement by electing and participating in court-annexed
mediation pursuant to ORS 36.180 through 36.210 and these rules.

(2) Pursuant to ORS 36.185, the following cases are excluded from elective
mediation under these rules:

(a) proceedings in small claims court; and

(b) proceedings in forcible entry and detainer cases.

12.125 MEDIATION PANEL (Civil)

(1) To qualify as a Court-approved mediator, a person must:

(a) Meet the requirements of ORS 36.200 and OAR 718-40-000
through 120.

(b) Sign and file an application with the Court; and

(c) Receive approval by the Presiding Judge, upon recommendation of
the Marion County Commission on Dispute Resolution.

(2) The Presiding Judge may remove a mediator from the court-approved list
at any time at the Presiding Judge's discretion.

12.135 MOTIONS

At the discretion of the Court, a potentially dispositive motion may be determined
by the Court prior to mediation.  Any other motions shall be stayed pending
disposition of mediation.

12.145 REFERRAL TO MEDIATION

(1) The case shall be assigned to arbitration unless an election for mediation is
jointly made by all parties not in default or their respective counsel.

(2) The parties shall have the option to select a mediator from a list provided
by the Court.  The parties may choose, at their option, mediation services
other than those suggested by the Court.  So long as these guidelines are
followed, such a mediation will qualify as an election not requiring
mandatory arbitration.
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(3) The mediator will assign the date, time and meeting place of the mediation
session.  Additional  sessions may be set at the discretion of the mediator
with the cooperation of the parties.

(4) If the parties do not agree upon a mediator, the Court shall exercise its
authority under ORS 36.200(2) to assign the case to a mediator.

12.155 COMPENSATION OF MEDIATOR (Civil)

Compensation of the mediator shall be the same as for arbitration, as to rate,
maximum, payment timelines and allocation of cost, unless agreed to otherwise
between all parties and the mediator.

12.165 COMPLETION OF MEDIATION

(1) Unless otherwise ordered by the Court, mediation shall be completed
within 90 days of assignment.

(2) The case shall be reported as "settled" or "not settled."  If the parties are
not able to settle, but nonetheless are able to limit issues or partially settle
the case, the agreement regarding the partial settlement shall be reported to
the Court for the purposes of further proceedings.  In such an instance, the
parties and mediator shall sign the form.

(3) In all cases assigned to mediation in which a settlement is reached, the
parties shall report such settlement to the Court as follows:

(a) If the settlement is prior to the mediation hearing, the parties shall
report the settlement to the Court and the mediator.

(b) If the settlement is after the commencement of the mediation
hearing, the parties shall cooperate with the mediator, and the
mediator shall file a notice of the settlement with the Court.

(4) If a case is reported as "settled," an outline of the terms of the agreement
(which is not required to be typed), signed by both parties, shall be filed
by the mediator with the Court within 14 judicial days.  It is the
responsibility of the parties and their counsel to file a stipulated judgment
dismissing the case or stipulated judgment within 21 days of the filing of
the mediator's outline of the agreement.  Unless further services are
engaged by the parties, the mediator's services are terminated with the
filing of the outline of agreement.  It is the parties' responsibility to draft
any specific language regarding the particulars of the settlement and
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judgment.

(5) If the parties are not able to settle a mediated case, the result shall be
reported as "not settled."

(6) Unless there is an election by the parties to arbitrate, the case shall proceed
to be tried in the normal course.  Each party shall deposit the sum
otherwise provided by ORS 36.425(c).

12.175 PROBATE MEDIATION

When all parties to a probate case request that the case be sent to mediation, the
Court shall refer the case to mediation.  The Court may also refer matters to
mediation on the motion of one party, or on the Court's own motion.

12.185 MEDIATION PANELS

There shall be at least two mediation panels, one to mediate guardianships and
adoptions, and the second to mediate trust matters, will disputes and
conservatorships.

12.195 APPOINTMENT OF MEDIATORS

(1) To qualify as a Court-approved mediator, a person must:

(a) Meet the requirements of ORS 36.200 and OAR 718-40-000
through 120.

(b) Sign and file an application with the Court;

(c) Receive approval by the Presiding Judge, upon recommendation of
the Commission on Dispute Resolution; and

(d) Complete legal education seminars as required by the Court.

(2) The Presiding Judge may remove a mediator from the panel at the
Presiding Judge's discretion.

12.205 REFERRAL TO MEDIATION

(1) Upon appearance of all parties not in default, or the filing of an objection,
the case will be set for a status conference.  If the matter cannot be
resolved at the status conference, and the Court believes the case is
appropriate for mediation, the Court will explain that mediation is
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available, and encourage the parties to mediate.

(2) The parties shall have 14 days from the date of the status conference to
notify the Court of their intention to mediate.  Reasonable requests
submitted to the Court beyond this deadline will be accommodated.

12.215 ASSIGNMENT OF MEDIATOR AND SCHEDULING

(1) The parties shall have the option to select a mediator from a list provided
by the Court.  The parties may choose, at their option, mediation services
other than those suggested by the Court.

(2) The mediator will assign the date, time and meeting place of the mediation
session.  Additional sessions may be set at the discretion of the mediator
with the cooperation of the parties.

(3) If the parties do not agree upon a mediator, the Court shall exercise its
authority under ORS 36.200(2) to select the mediator.

12.225 COMPENSATION OF MEDIATORS (Probate)

(1) The compensation for mediation shall be $100 per hour and shall be split
equally by the parties, unless otherwise agreed.

(2) A $500 deposit shall be submitted to the mediator within 14 calendar days
of assignment of a mediator.  Each party shall pay his or her share of the
deposit to the mediator directly.  Any amount of the deposit not used for
the mediation shall be refunded to the parties upon the completion of the
mediation.

(3) If any party fails to pay the deposit within 14 days of assignment, the
mediator may suspend the mediation date until payment is made.

12.235 PLACE OF MEDIATION

The mediation shall be conducted in Marion County unless this requirement is
waived by the parties in writing prior to the first mediation session.  A mediator's
failure to comply with this rule may result in removal from the panel.

12.245 COMPLETING MEDIATION

(1) Unless otherwise ordered by the Court, the mediation shall be completed
within 90 days from the date the mediator was assigned.
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(2) If the mediation cannot be completed within 90 days, the mediator shall
request an extension of time from the Court.

12.255 SETTLEMENT OF MEDIATION

In all cases assigned to mediation in which a settlement is reached, the parties
shall report such settlement to the Court as follows:

(1) If the settlement is prior to the mediation, the parties shall report the
settlement to the Court and the mediator.

(2) If the settlement is after the commencement of the mediation;

(a) If either party is represented by an attorney, it shall be the
responsibility of the attorney(s) to submit a stipulated judgment
with the Court.

(b) If both parties are unrepresented by attorneys, the mediator shall
notify both parties in writing, recommending the proposed
agreement be reviewed by an attorney and, if either party does seek
review of the agreement, it shall be the attorney's responsibility to
submit a stipulated judgment with the Court.

(c) The mediator shall further notify the parties that if neither party
tells the mediator they are represented by an attorney within 14
days of the notice, the mediator will submit an outline of the terms
with the Court, and the Court will prepare a stipulated judgment.

(d) If any party is represented by an attorney, the mediation shall send
the attorney(s) an outline of the terms of the proposed agreement. 
The outline shall be mailed within 14 days of the date the parties
reach agreement.

(e) If an attorney is required to submit a stipulated judgment under
these rules, the attorney shall do so within 21 days from the date
the mediator mails to the attorney the outline of terms.

(f) If any of the deadlines for notification or preparation of the
judgment cannot be met, the person who cannot meet the deadline
shall request an extension from the Court.

12.305  SMALL CLAIMS AND FED MEDIATION
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(1) All contested small claims and FED cases shall be referred to mediation,
pursuant to ORS 36.185.

(2) Such mediation services shall be provided by the Court without cost to the
litigants, through the use of volunteer mediators.

Chapter 13 Arbitration

13.005 PROGRAM LIMITS

Arbitration is required in all matters involving less than $50,000.

13.045 ARBITRATORS

(1) To qualify as a court-approved arbitrator, a person must:

(a) meet the requirements contained in UTCR 13.090,

(b) participate in at least ten trials or arbitrations either as a lawyer or
an arbitrator in the area of law the applicant proposes to arbitrate,

(c) submit three letters of recommendation to the Court, and

(d)  receive approval by the Presiding Judge, upon recommendation of
the Marion County Commission on Dispute Resolution.

(2) The parties may stipulate to an arbitrator not approved by the Court and
proceed through court annexed arbitration, regardless of whether that
arbitrator meets the minimum requirements outlined in subsection (1).

(3) The Presiding Judge may remove an arbitrator from the panel at the
Presiding Judge's discretion.

13.065 APPOINTMENT OF ARBITRATORS

The Court shall send the parties a list of arbitrators after all parties have appeared. 
The Court shall appoint an arbitrator if the parties cannot agree on an arbitrator
within 14 days from the date the list was sent.  If only one party requests a
particular arbitrator within the 14 day period, the Court shall appoint the arbitrator
selected by that party.

13.075 TRIAL DE NOVO
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In a civil action where a party asserts a claim in an amount which is subject to the
arbitration limit under ORS 36.400(3), that party shall not be precluded from
asserting a larger claim in a trial de novo under ORS 36.425, subject to ORCP 23.

13.085 EXEMPTION FROM ARBITRATION

The Marion County Courts have instituted a mediation program as described in
ORS 36.405(3).  The parties shall not be required to participate in arbitration if
they participate in mediation under SLR 12.115 through .165.

13.095 ARBITRATION PROCEEDING

All cases referred to arbitration under these rules must be heard by the
arbitrator in Marion County, unless this requirement is waived by all 
parties in writing prior to the arbitration hearing.  Failure to comply with
this rule may result in removal from the arbitration panel pursuant to SLR
13.045(3).

Chapter 15 Small Claims

15.015 DISMISSAL FOR FAILURE TO PURSUE CLAIM

A judgment of dismissal shall be filed and entered on the Court's own motion 90
days after the date the claim is filed, unless the claim is set for a hearing or a
default judgment is entered. 

Chapter 16 Traffic Violations.

16.005 VIOLATIONS BUREAU

(1) A Violations Bureau is established pursuant to ORS 153.800.

(2) The Trial Court Administrator is appointed as Violations Clerk, and duly
appointed deputies of the Administrator are further appointed as Deputy
Violations Clerks.

(3) The Violations Bureau may exercise authority over the following traffic
and non-traffic violations as defined in ORS 153.008:

(a) offenses designated as violations in the statute defining the offense;
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(b) offenses created by Oregon statute, or ordinance of a county, city
district or other political subdivision of Oregon, that provide
violation of the law is punishable by a fine but not a term of
imprisonment; and

(c) misdemeanors treated as violations by a prosecuting attorney
pursuant to ORS 161.568.

(4) Appearances before the Violations Bureau shall be permitted on the
following offenses up to a maximum of three (3) occurrences within any
12-month period:  traffic, overload, boating, fish and wildlife, park and
recreation, bicycle, pedestrian and parking violations.  Only one
appearance shall be allowed within any 12-month period on any other type
of violation.

16.015 TRIALS BY AFFIDAVIT

If a signed waiver is filed by the alleged violator, testimony in any violation trial
is allowable by affidavit pursuant to ORS 153.080.  A copy of the witness'
affidavit shall be provided to the alleged violator before trial.
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APPENDIX A

Supplementary Local  Rule 5.065

N O T I C E

You must file an Answer in writing to this Order within the time stated in the Order.  If you do
not file a written Answer within such time, the other side may automatically be given the relief
against you which the other side is requesting in the attached motion.

In order to file an Answer in writing, you must do the following things:

(1) Your written Answer must contain the title and number of this case.

(2) Your written Answer must specify the item or items of relief requested by the other side
which you oppose.  (You do not need to state the reasons why you oppose the relief.)

(3) Your written Answer must be signed by you and must contain your current mailing
address.  All future notices and documents in this case will be sent to you at the address listed on
your written Answer unless and until you file in this case a written notice of a change of address,
and the Court will proceed on the assumption that you have received all communications and
documents mailed to you at your most current address on file in this case.

(4) Your written answer must be mailed or presented to the Court so as to actually reach the
Court within the time stated above.

(5) Your written Answer must be accompanied by payment of any filing fee required by law
for the filing of the Answer, or you must obtain a Court Order waiving or deferring such filing
fee.  (You should contact the Court if you have any questions concerning a filing fee.)

(6) At or before the time you file your written Answer with the Court, you must mail a copy
of the Answer to the attorney for the other side, or to the other side personally if the other side is
not represented by an attorney, and you must attached to the Answer which you file with the
Court, a certificate showing that you  mailed a copy of the Answer to the Attorney for the other
side or to the other side personally.  If you file a written Answer in the matter within the time
stated above, the Court will schedule a hearing to decide whether or not to grant relief requested
by the other side, and you will be notified by mail of the date and time of such hearing. 
However, you will not be entitled to seek any relief for yourself against the other side.  If you
wish to seek affirmative relief for yourself against the other side, you must file an appropriate
motion or motions for such relief, and you must mail a copy of such motion or motions to the
attorney for the other side, or to the other side personally if the other side is not represented by an
attorney.

If you have any questions, you should see an attorney immediately.
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APPENDIX B

Supplementary Local Rule 8.075
Version 4

UNIFORM PARENTING PLAN

1. Introduction:

 Oregon law encourages parents to remain involved with their children because both parents are
important to a child’s growth and development. Parents are required to adopt a parenting plan
which assures a child's continuing contact with both parents.  The plan should take into account
evidence of drug and alcohol abuse, domestic violence, and any other unique circumstances of
the family.

The Court feels strongly that the best parenting plan is one created by the parents who will
follow it.  We expect and encourage parents to create their own parenting plan, taking into
consideration the schedules and needs of each family member.  This plan is a last resort, and
should only be used when the parents or the court cannot create a more appropriate plan for the
family.

During this process, it is important for parents to attempt to minimize the amount of conflict the
children are exposed to, because research has shown that children that are exposed to conflict are
at increased risk for behavior problems, anxiety and depression.  Parents involved in high levels
of conflict should consider including provisions in the parenting plan that reduce conflict.  For
example, parents can be specific about what times the child will be with each parent, methods of
exchanging the child, and any other areas that might be subject to dispute later.  The parents may
choose to exchange the child at a neutral location, such as a fast food restaurant or a supervised
visitation center.  In addition, parents should not communicate through the child, and should
consider whether there are easier ways to communicate, such as through e-mail.  For more
suggestions, please request “Checklist for Creating Parenting Plans that Reduce Conflict” from
Dissolution Resource Services on the first floor of the Courthouse, or from the mediator or judge
assigned to your case.

This rule uses the terms "custodial parent" and "non-custodial parent" as a  way to identify two
separate parents.  It does not mean that one parent is prevented from playing an active role in the
child’s life.  Parents are encouraged to be flexible and to consider what is best for their child
when arranging parenting time.  Marion County may be able to provide free mediation services
to help resolve custody and parenting time conflicts.
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Marion County's Local Court Rule 8.075 has been changed many times over the years.  This
version does not automatically replace existing orders written when earlier versions of the rule
were in effect.  This version of Rule 8.075 is effective for court orders which are put in place
after the adoption date noted below.

2. Definitions:

"Child" includes all minor children referred to in the Judgment or Order.

"Custodial parent" refers to the parent awarded sole custody by the court's judgment or order. 
That parent is the child's primary residential parent if joint custody is awarded.

"Non-custodial parent" refers to the parent who is not the custodial parent as defined above.

"Parenting time" replaces the word "visitation".  Each parent actually parents the child while the
child is with that parent.  Parenting time describes the schedule by which the child spends time
with each parent.

3. Parenting Time Provisions:

3.1 Weekends:  The child shall be with the non-custodial parent every other
weekend, beginning on Friday night at 7:00 p.m. and ending the following Monday
morning.

3.1.1 The non-custodial parent shall feed the child breakfast on Monday
morning and deliver the child no later than 9:00 a.m. to the child’s home or day
care.  The non-custodial parent shall feed a school age child breakfast and deliver
the child to school in time for the child’s first class.

3.1.2 Parents may agree to vary this weekend schedule provided the agreement
is in writing.  For example, parents may agree to end weekends on Sunday night
at 7 p.m. rather than Monday morning or that the child is to be dropped off
Monday morning at the custodial parent's home rather than at the child's school.

3.1.3 The child shall be with the non-custodial parent until Tuesday morning if
that parent's weekend falls on a weekend during the school year on which the next
Monday is a state or federally recognized holiday on which there is no school.

3.1.4 The alternate weekend parenting time schedule shall rotate each year as
follows:

3.1.4.1 The non-custodial parent’s first weekend in even numbered years



Page 26
February 1, 2004
Marion County Circuit  Court

shall begin at 7:00 p.m. on the Friday of Labor Day Weekend and end
Monday night at 7:00 p.m.

3.1.4.2 The non-custodial parent’s first weekend in odd numbered years
shall begin on the first Friday following the Labor Day Weekend.

3.2 Mid-week Time with the Child

3.2.1 The child shall be with the non-custodial parent every other Wednesday. 
The time shall begin at 5:00 p.m. and end at 8:00 p.m. if the child is in school and
begin at 10:00 a.m. and end at 7:30 p.m. if the child is not in school.

3.2.2 The first alternate Wednesday shall follow the non-custodial parent’s first
weekend with the child in September each year.

3.3 Winter Vacation

3.3.1 The child shall be with the non-custodial parent in even numbered years
beginning at 7:00 p.m. on the day that school adjourns until 10:00 a.m. on
December 25.  The child shall be with the custodial parent for the remainder of
the child’s winter vacation.

3.3.2 The child shall be with the custodial parent in odd numbered years
beginning at 7:00 p.m. on the day that school adjourns until 10:00 a.m. on
December 25.  The child shall be with the non-custodial parent for the remainder
of the child’s winter vacation until 7:00 p.m. on the day before school resumes.

3.3.3 The alternate weekend and alternate Wednesday parenting time schedule
shall not operate during the winter vacation period.

3.3.4 The winter vacation schedule in the public school district in which the
child lives shall be followed if the child is not attending school.

3.4. Summer Vacation

3.4.1 The child shall spend alternating two-week blocks of time with each
parent during the school's recess for summer vacation. The summer vacation
schedule in the public school district in which the child lives shall be followed if
the child is not attending school.

3.4.1.1 The child shall spend the first two-week block of time in even
numbered years with the non-custodial parent beginning at 7:00 p.m. on
the first Friday following the recess of school for the summer.  The child
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shall spend the next two weeks with the custodial parent, then two weeks
with the non-custodial parent, and so on throughout the remainder of the
summer.

3.4.1.2 The alternating two week schedule shall begin in odd numbered
years with the non-custodial parent beginning at 7:00 p.m. on the third
Friday following the recess of school for the summer.  The custodial
parent will have the first two weeks.

3.4.2 The summer schedule shall end at 7 p.m. on the Friday of Labor Day
Weekend even if this cuts short a parent's two-week block of time.  The
provisions of paragraph 3.1.4 dictate which parent will have the child over the
Labor Day weekend.

3.4.3 The alternate weekend and alternate Wednesday parenting time schedule
shall not operate during the summer vacation period.  However, children 30
months or younger shall spend four hours on Wednesday of each week with the
other parent during the other parent’s two week block of time.  

4. Other Holidays, Events and Vacation Days:

The residential schedule for the child for the holidays, events and vacation days listed below is as
follows:

Thanksgiving Vacation:
Custodial parent - odd years
Non-custodial parent - even years

The Thanksgiving Holiday begins on Wednesday at 7:00 p.m. and ends on the following
Sunday at 7:00 p.m.

Halloween:
Custodial parent - even years
Non-custodial parent - odd years

Halloween begins on October 31st at 5:30 p.m. and ends at 9:00 p.m.

Spring Vacation:
Custodial parent - even years
Non-custodial parent - odd years

Spring Vacation begins at 10:00 a.m. on the day after school adjourns and ends on the
Monday morning school resumes whether or not the child is in school.
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Mother's Day: always with mother beginning at 10:00 a.m. on Sunday and ending at
7:00 p.m. the same day.

Father's Day: always with father beginning at 10:00 a.m. on Sunday and ending at 7:00
p.m. the same day.

Fourth of July: with the parent whose summer schedule includes July 4th.

Birthdays:

Child's Birthday:
Custodial parent - even years
Non-custodial parent - odd years

Mother's Birthday: Always with mother, at mother's option

Father's Birthday: Always with father, at father's option 

Birthday's which fall on a school day begin at 5:00 p.m. and end at 8:00 p.m. The
Birthday will begin at 10:00 a.m. and end at 7:00 p.m. if it falls on a non-school day.

5. Long Distance and Out-Of-State Parenting Time Suggestions:

5.1 The parenting plan outlined in this rule is practical in terms of time and distance
for parents who live within 75 miles of each other.  The schedule may not work
for parents who live more than 75 miles apart.  It is not possible to write a
standard parenting schedule for parents who live a long distance from each other
because each situation is different.  Parents are encouraged to include a "long
distance" parenting schedule in their parenting plan if a move is anticipated.  The
following are non-binding suggestions for parents and the court to consider in
establishing a "long distance" schedule.    

5.1.1 Which parent is moving, the non-custodial parent or the custodial parent
and child?

5.1.2 Why does the parent want to move?

5.1.3 Why is the non-custodial parent resisting the move?

5.1.4 Will the child's move improve the child's and moving parent's quality of
life?

5.1.5 Is it possible to fashion a new and reasonable parenting schedule which



Page 29
February 1, 2004
Marion County Circuit  Court

makes adjustments for the distance between the parents?

5.1.6 Is the non-custodial parent who opposed the child's move seeking a change
of custody and if so, whether any of the provisions of law concerning
modification of custody are present?

5.1.7 What practical effect will an order denying the request to move the child
have including, but not limited to, the emotional harm to the child of
having reduced contact with the parent effected by the move?  The child's
age, activities, location of extended family, friends and support group all
having a bearing on this question.

5.1.8 Did the moving parent provide enough advance notice to the other parent?

5.1.9 How involved has each parent been in the child's life?

5.1.10 What additional costs will there be for the child to spend time with each
parent, which parent's move is causing that cost and which parent is
prepared to pay the additional costs?

5.1.11 What effort has the moving parent made to suggest a reasonable parenting
schedule which addresses the non-moving parent's legitimate concerns?

5.1.12 What efforts will each parent likely make, based on that parent's record to
that point, to encourage the relationship between the child and parent who
will be impacted by the child's move?

5.2 An existing court ordered visitation or parenting schedule is binding on both
parents unless or until a court decides otherwise.  This effectively places a burden
on a parent who is moving a child's residence to change the existing parenting
schedule if the non-moving parent objects to the move or no agreement can be
reached on the terms of a long distance parenting schedule.  Any agreed change to
an existing parenting schedule should be reduced to a writing, signed by both
parents and submitted to the court with a place for the judge to sign to make the
writing effective as a modification judgment.

6. Rules Relating To The Use Of Parenting Time:

6.1 Personal Plans.  Personal plans of the custodial parent or child, (for example,
school or church activities) do not justify a parent's failure to follow the parenting
time schedule.

6.2 Delivery and Pick-up.  All parenting time shall take place in a prompt manner. 
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The following delivery and pick up rule shall apply to parents who live 75 or less
miles apart (or within a distance that allows for exercising alternating weekend
parenting time). 

6.2.1 The non-custodial parent shall pick up the child to begin the parenting
time.

6.2.2 The non-custodial parent shall be responsible for returning the child to end
the parenting time if that return is taking place on a Monday morning as
contemplated by this rule.  The custodial parent shall pick up the child to
end the parenting time if that time ends in the evening.  This places an
additional transportation burden on a parent who wishes to have the child
stay the additional overnight (usually Sunday).

6.2.3 Unless otherwise agreed or ordered by the court, pick up and delivery shall
occur no more than 15 minutes before or 15 minutes after the time set for
parenting time to begin and end.

6.2.4 This rule's reference to a "parent" as the individual responsible for pickup
and delivery should not be taken literally.  Other individuals known to the
child such as grandparents, step-parents, live in girl\boyfriends, etc. are
authorized to transport the child.

6.3 No Shows and Make-Ups.  Only medical reasons will be considered sufficient
for postponement of parenting time.  A makeup time shall occur on the following
weekend if a child is ill and unable to visit.  There will be no makeup parenting
time if the non-custodial parent misses a scheduled time with the child.  The
illness of one child does not mean that the other children's time is also canceled.

6.3.1 Some non-custodial parents have a history of not using their scheduled
weekends (for example: one "no show" per month for 3 months).  The
custodial parent may advise the non-custodial parent in writing that the
next following regularly-scheduled parenting time will be canceled unless
the non-custodial parent gives at least three days advance notice that he or
she will use the scheduled weekend parenting time if this problem exists.

6.3.2 Canceling the next regularly-scheduled parenting time should not be done
lightly and should not be done by the custodial parent unless there is a
regular history of missed parenting time.

6.4 Non-assigned time.  Unless otherwise agreed in writing, the custodial parent is
responsible for the child during all times that the child is not scheduled to be with
the non-custodial parent.  This does not mean that either parent is restricted from
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attending public events where the child is in attendance such as school programs
and athletic events.

6.5. Meals & Clothes.  The custodial parent shall have the child fed, sufficient
clothing packed, and on time for all exchanges.  The non-custodial parent shall
return all clothing and feed the child before returning the child from the parenting
time period.

6.6 Conflicting Dates.  The holiday schedule takes precedence over the alternating
weekend schedule.  The holiday schedule may create times when the child will be
with the same parent for three weekends in a row.  This happens when a vacation
or holiday defined in this rule replaces the normal schedule for a given weekend
or time period.

6.7 Day Care.  The non-custodial parent shall be responsible for arranging day care
for the child during his or her time with the child.  No child under the age of 11
shall be left unsupervised.

6.8 Support of Parenting time.  The custodial parent shall not discourage the child
from spending time with the non-custodial parent.  Contrary to common belief,
Oregon does not allow a child to determine where he is going to live at any age .

6.9 Flexibility.  Parents are encouraged to be flexible and to consider their child’s
best interests in the use of this rule.  This rule is designed to provide a schedule to
parents who have not been able to agree to a schedule on their own.  It does not
create an absolute maximum or minimum amount of time the non-custodial parent
can be with the child, nor does it restrict a parent from seeing a child at school or
events.  Reasonable adjustments to the schedule should be considered so
important family events and the child’s activities take place with minimal
disruption or hard feelings.  

6.9.1 Each parent shall act reasonably in registering the child for activities
keeping in mind that neither parent is entitled to commit the child to an
activity which will take place during the other parent’s time with the child. 
On the other hand, there are natural activities which occur (such as school,
athletic, music and other programs) that, by their very nature, take place
during the other parent's scheduled time with the child.

6.9.2 Although neither parent is required to take a child to any activity, each
parent is encouraged to use his or her best effort to keep the child involved
in athletic events, school functions, lessons, birthday parties of friends, etc.
even though those activities may fall during a parenting time period.  To
do otherwise would deprive the child of valuable growing opportunities.
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6.9.3 Each parent is encouraged to use a child’s activity as an opportunity for
that parent to participate with the child, meet the child’s friends and other
families and to have a quality experience with the child.

6.9.4 A child is not permitted to determine whether he or she visits the non-
custodial parent.  However, older teenagers are often involved in their own
activities and are unable (or unwilling) to spend time with their parents on
a regular schedule as they did when they were younger.  Both parents must
be considerate of older teenagers and recognize that they wish (and need)
to spend more time with their peers rather than their parents.  Parents will
need to make adjustments to accommodate these life changes.

6.9.5 Parents should make plans directly with each other rather than through the
child.  It is unfair for the child to serve as the message carrier for two
parents who find it difficult to communicate directly with each other. 
Children who find themselves in this position learn to manipulate and play
one parent off against the other. 

6.10 Writing and Telephoning.  Each parent shall have the right to correspond with
the child during reasonable hours without monitoring by the other parent or
anyone else.  This correspondence may take the form of letters, fax transmissions,
E-mail or telephone calls. Unless otherwise agreed, there shall be no more than
three telephone calls per week.  Long distance telephone calls made by the child
shall be paid for by the parent receiving the call.

6.11 Changes to the Parenting time Schedule.  Enforceable changes in the parenting
time schedule can only be made by court order.  Any agreed upon temporary
change shall be in a writing which is signed and dated by both parents to assure
that there is no misunderstanding at a later date on the terms of the change.

7. Rules Relating To The Custodial Relationship And Each Parent's Responsibilities
To The Child:

7.1 Addresses and telephone numbers.  Each parent shall provide their home (not
just mailing) address and home telephone numbers to the other parent unless
otherwise ordered by the court.  The parent with the child shall notify the other
parent of the location and telephone number of where the child will be sleeping if
the parent is taking the child out of the town where that parent resides for more
than three consecutive overnights.  Each parent shall be reasonable with this rule. 
For example, it is possible to give a general location but no telephone number if a
camping trip is contemplated.

7.2 Mutual Respect Towards the Other Parent.  Neither parent shall make bad or
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unflattering comments about the other parent or in any way try to diminish the
love, respect and affection that the child has for the other parent.

7.3 Access to Records and Events.  The non-custodial parent has the right to visit
with the child at school, attend the child’s school activities (such as an open house
or sports activities), and have full access to school teachers and administrators for
complete information about the child in school.  This includes parent-teacher
conferences.  Parents shall be primarily responsible for keeping themselves
advised of the child’s activities and events.

7.4 Daily Care.  The parent with whom the child is staying shall be responsible for
daily care and shall make necessary decisions regarding emergency medical or
dental care.  The non-custodial parent’s rights to make daily care decisions does
not include leaving a child unattended in violation of Oregon law, haircuts,
permanents, or making any substantial change in the child’s appearance (i.e.,
tattoos, ear piercing, etc.) unless authorized to do so by the custodial parent.

7.5 Emergencies.  The parent with the child shall immediately tell the other parent of
any emergency circumstances or substantial changes in the health or safety of the
child.

7.6 Decision Making.  The custodial parent is encouraged to consult with non-
custodial parent about major decisions which will affect the child even though the
custodial parent has the ultimate decision-making authority.  It is important for
parents to communicate with each other prior to making plans for lessons, athletic
activities, camp, extended medical and dental treatment, out-of-town visits to
relatives, etc.  Each parent is encouraged to work cooperatively with the other to
create the most positive and productive atmosphere possible for the child.  

7.7 Smoking or Drinking Alcohol in the Presence of the Child.  An issue
frequently occurs when one parent smokes or drinks alcohol in front of the child
and the other parent objects.  Neither parent should smoke in the presence of the
child (or smoke in any manner so the child is breathing the smoke) if the parents
cannot agree on this issue. Neither parent should drink alcohol to the point where
they are affected by the alcohol.

7.8 Moving. Neither parent shall move to a residence which is more than 60 miles
further distant from the other parent without giving the other parent reasonable
notice of the change of residence and providing a copy of such notice to the court. 
ORS 107.159

7.9. Parenting time is Independent From Support.  A parent's right to spend time
with a child is not dependent on that parent's payment of child support.  One
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parent's failure to comply with the terms of the judgment does not mean that the
other parent can now ignore its terms.  It is not permissible to withhold the child
from the other parent as a way to encourage the payment of support.

7.10 Joint Custody.  True joint custody means that each parent has equal authority to
make major decisions which effect the child.  Joint custody has nothing to do with
the amount of time that a child spends with either parent nor does it affect the
level of child support.  Under present state law, the court cannot order joint
custody unless both parents agree to it.  Questions about joint custody should be
directed to an attorney.

8. Age Suggestions:

This rule recognizes that parenting time guidelines should be based upon the needs of a
growing child.  Parents may wish to ask the court to consider these age-related
suggestions if they seem appropriate.  These suggestions are not automatically binding
unless the court order specifically states they are to apply rather than the other
provisions of this rule.

8.1 The infant, age 0-1.  Frequent two to four hour visits, two or three days per week
from custodial parent's home; also one additional afternoon or evening per week. 
Single overnight per week parenting time, provided the non-custodial parent has
been actively involved in the caretaking role.

8.2 The toddler, age 1 to 3 ½. Four weekend days per month, plus one-half (½) day
per week (4 to 6 hours).  Overnight parenting time, provided the non-custodial
parent has been actively involved in the caretaking role and/or is accompanied by
an older child.  During any parenting time of 7 days or more, the other parent
should have a four hour mid-week visit.

8.3 The pre-schooler, age 3 ½ to 5.  Alternate weekends from 7:00 p.m. Friday to
7:00 p.m. Sunday, plus either one non-overnight weekday per week during the
afternoon or evening.  Summer visits should be as set out in the Rule.  The other
parent should have a four hour mid-week visit during any visits of 7 days or more. 

8.4 The early elementary, age 6 to 9.  Summer time-shares should be as set out in
the Rule.  The parenting time schedule should be flexible enough to insure the
children’s participation in ongoing or special activities.

8.5 The later elementary, age 10 to 12.  The minimum is the same as the early
elementary.  Flexible parenting time is the best principle, with the children having
some input to avoid scheduling conflicts.  At this age, it seems the quality of time
is more important than the quantity but consideration should be given to the



Page 35
February 1, 2004
Marion County Circuit  Court

child’s organized athletics and outside activities.

8.6 The adolescent, age 13 or over.  The minimum is the same as later elementary.
The child and parent may want to change the schedule if it interferes with the
child’s other activities.


